Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The story continues !
Book two and if u haven't read the first then u shud. Step by step everything is slowly coming together, characters are more fleshed out and more action. Only criticism I have is its a little short and not as dark as I'd hoped. An enjoyable read tho. Bring on book three.
Published 19 months ago by jamie woodward

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dont waste your time
having read book one and not been keen i thought id give book two a chance (am a bit series obsessed) however there were no improvments to the writing style or overall plot. this would be an ok book for someone wanting to read something truly badly written.
Published 17 months ago by liz


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The story continues !, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A March of Kings (Book #2 in the Sorcerer's Ring) (Kindle Edition)
Book two and if u haven't read the first then u shud. Step by step everything is slowly coming together, characters are more fleshed out and more action. Only criticism I have is its a little short and not as dark as I'd hoped. An enjoyable read tho. Bring on book three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dont waste your time, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A March of Kings (Book #2 in the Sorcerer's Ring) (Kindle Edition)
having read book one and not been keen i thought id give book two a chance (am a bit series obsessed) however there were no improvments to the writing style or overall plot. this would be an ok book for someone wanting to read something truly badly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As bad as the first, 5 May 2013
By 
S. Risley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A March of Kings (Book #2 in the Sorcerer's Ring) (Kindle Edition)
Two dimensional characters that are difficult to care about. A thinly sketched out storyline. These are the better points of this book.
A copy editor and a proof reader would have vastly improved this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A March of Kings (Book #2 in the Sorcerer's Ring) (Kindle Edition)
I really liked this series but there were a few too many typos and incosistancies so thats why I only gave it 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Erec laughed. Erec laughed. Erec laughed., 31 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A March of Kings (Book #2 in the Sorcerer's Ring) (Kindle Edition)
What the hell did I just read? This was atrocious.

I wasn't impressed with the first book in the series at all, but I was determined to enjoy something that a young author has believed in enough to write fourteen books about ... but I'm going to stop here and cry.

I rolled my eyes every time somebody 'just stood/sat there' and everybody seems to 'scream' everything when there's drama going on. And 'Erec laughed.' cropped up six times in four pages.

Cheesy as hell. Awful execution. Lazy.

THIS HAS NOT BEEN COPY EDITED. REPEAT. THIS HAS NOT BEEN COPY EDITED. Despite the claims in the description that it has, there are elementary mistakes cropping up everywhere. If this is the edited version, I hate to think what the original was like.

Rice's idea of 'sophisticated' world building and imagination is just changing the colours of things that already exist. It's a copy-paste job of any medieval Europe setting with a generous helping of Americanisms and some savage red-skinned demons thrown in. Oh, and a sentient leopard cub. And a hawk that only appears when the narrative calls for it.

The dialogue awkward. It is wooden. It is does not flow well. It is simplistic. The author tries too hard to be meaningful. It does not work. It is laughable. It is annoying like this.

Author does not know when you use 'that' over 'which', nor seems to be able to keep writing consistent when using the word 'king/King'.

The bad-man is a homosexual who everyone else hates. The princess is a blue-eyed beauty. Reece is the firm bestie after all of three days. Yes, we get it, Thor loved the king like a father for no reason. Erec is gallant and handsome and achingly single. How is any of this epic?
Just one big ugly cliche, really.

The only thing I can say about improvement from first shockingly awful installment is Rice's descriptions are less of a train wreck. They even start to work as half-decent descriptions by the end. But that's it.

Money making waste of reading time with FAKE reviews. I've read this so you don't have to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst series of Fantasy books ever - 1 star is 2 stars too many, 31 May 2013
This review is from: A March of Kings (Book #2 in the Sorcerer's Ring) (Kindle Edition)
As I have said for all of this series its a waste of money - I was intrigued by 5 star reviews so I continued, what a mistake, The 5 star reviews MUST be fraudulent. Series & stories are aweful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 14 May 2013
This review is from: A March of Kings (Book #2 in the Sorcerer's Ring) (Kindle Edition)
Written almost like a stream of consciousness, each event is introduced breathlessly in the style of a three year old describing their day at nursery school. The characters are like a computer was used to generate fantasy fiction protagonists, the plot plods from cliche to cliche and at times there are continuity errors. Like penny dreadfuls of the past, it does have its compelling side but it's like pizza when you want a 3 course meal: it can be fun for a mouthful, but doesn't deliver long term satisfaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars march of kings, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A March of Kings (Book #2 in the Sorcerer's Ring) (Kindle Edition)
Disappointing book. Pace is very slow, more suitable for teenagers than adults.I won't be buying the rest in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A March of Kings (Book #2 in the Sorcerer's Ring) (Kindle Edition)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A March of Kings (Book #2 in the Sorcerer's Ring) (Kindle Edition)
Have just read the 1st book and enjoyed it so have moved on to the 2nd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews