Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and very readable
I really enjoyed this. I am studying 19th Century history at the moment but I think lots of people would enjoy reading this. The author works through a typical day: rising, washing, dressing, breakfast, getting to work, etc. All sorts of little fascinating details are included and there are surprising details. Did you know that most Victorians were drug addicts? Did you...
Published 9 months ago by Owl woman

versus
13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good information but inaccurate in places
I bought this book to find out about a Victorian person's average day but it's wider than that and Ruth talks about the family and social conditions etc as well. A reasonable book to read but sadly much of it states the obvious and what the average person already knows about Victorian life - but in parts there are some interesting pieces of information.

However...
Published 11 months ago by redhotchilli


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and very readable, 9 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Be a Victorian (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this. I am studying 19th Century history at the moment but I think lots of people would enjoy reading this. The author works through a typical day: rising, washing, dressing, breakfast, getting to work, etc. All sorts of little fascinating details are included and there are surprising details. Did you know that most Victorians were drug addicts? Did you know that most Victorians were malnourished? Ruth Goodman has good practical experience, she has worn the clothing, made and eaten the food, and so forth. The book is engagingly written, very easy to read and wonderfully informative. I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to be a Victorian, 14 Oct 2013
This review is from: How To Be a Victorian (Hardcover)
How to be a Victorian is Ruth Goodman's very own fantastic voyage into the past. Based on her experiences of living on a [televised] Victorian farm as well as her academic study of the period, with How to be a Victorian Goodman has set out to teach the reader everything they might need to know in order to live as an average 19th century bod. Presumably in order to help time travellers avoid every potential faux pas that they might commit, Goodman's book is structured chronologically and takes the reader through everything they would experience as a Victorian from the time they wake up to when they retire to bed of an evening. Fortunately, the day to day life of an average Victorian turns out to be surprisingly peculiar. Whether it be cleaning your teeth with cuttlefish, fulfilling your employment as a knocker up, or feeding opium to your baby, with How to be a Victorian Ruth Goodman will steer you in the right direction. This is a great book; entertaining and informative, it's packed with factoids and discussion of the average and absurd elements of Victorian life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read: if you enjoyed the TV series you'll love this, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Be a Victorian (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I'm not usually a reader of this genre, but Ruth's lively prose kept me gripped. Books about monarchy and war are all well and good; but sometimes it's the little details of everyday life of ordinary folk that are the most fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Be a Victorian (Hardcover)
I think this book is a must for anyone who likes the Victorian era. Ruth Goodman brings it alive. fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please make more!, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Ms. TJ Norwood (Colchester, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How To Be a Victorian (Hardcover)
I am a huge fan of Ruth Goodman from her appearances on several farm series on BBC so I was so excited when I saw this book that I bought it straight away. The book is just as charming, knowledgable, friendly and detailed as you would expect from Ruth Goodman. The book takes you through every single detail in the day of a Victorian (giving details even between practices at the beginning, middle and end of the period) and lays them out in chronological order. I have walked away from reading it feeling like I have a bird's eye view on real, living history. My only complaint is that I want another. Maybe next we can find out about wartime life? Hint...hint....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to be a victorian, 5 Dec 2013
This review is from: How To Be a Victorian (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoy watching Ruth Goodman on tv and her book is just as good brilliant read was sorry when it was finished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to be a Victorian., 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Be a Victorian (Kindle Edition)
Very detailed and very readably written. I learned lots of things I didn't know and enjoyed the ride. I would recommend it to anyone interested in this period of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Be a Victorian (Kindle Edition)
One to read again and again, fascinating facts on Victorian life not always mentioned in books on the subject from food right through to sexual stuff and the intricacies of underwear! Well written and in great detail, sometimes a tad waffly but you can forgive her due to her enthusiasm for the subject she is obviously passionate about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Be a Victorian (Kindle Edition)
Great fan of Ruth Goodman's work; she is an engaging and informative writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Be a Victorian (Paperback)
Really intersting and enjoyable. Easy to read. Good one Ruth!. Always enjoy your books and look foreward to some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How To Be a Victorian
How To Be a Victorian by Ruth Goodman
4.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews