Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 August 2006
Since it's fairly quick deletion after original release in 1992 this item has turned up second hand for anything up to £100 - due to limited pressing and apparent unlikely reissue. Thankfully the MacKenzie family, Jude and 'believers' at Virgin/EMI/Circa now give every Billy/Associates/Yello fan the chance to get this album at a truly reasonable price. It's been remastered, though generally the original recordings were pretty good, and the inner artwork improved, so you read the lyrics easier! The bonuses are quite nice if you don't have the CD singles of the time, "Look What You've Done" is a quality track (note this is the standard CDs/12" version, not called "Marital Mix" at the time). "Because You Love" appears on The Glamour Chase remaster in the same form, but as it was recorded with Boris Blank of Yello with several other tracks at the time, does fit. One small gripe, there is no inclusion of the mega-rare "Outernational 2", which only appeared on the promo Pastime Paradise CD single (why?). But other than that this is a long overdue reissue of Billy versus smooth electronica - his voice cuts through beautifully, and although a far cry from Fourth Drawer and Sulk mayhem is infinitely better than the interim "Wild And Lonely". Buy it before they delete it again!
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2007
It's great to see this wonderful album magically re-appear again even after my getting soaked on eBay for the original '92 release. Now however, the album has been very nicely digitally remastered at Abbey Road, and three extra tracks have been included as a bonus. "Look What You've Done (Marital Mix)" and "Because You Love" are appearing here for what I believe is the first time, as well as the "US 60659 Mix" of "Colours Will Come" that first appeared on the Cd single for "Baby" in 1992. The only thing missing is the heart-wrenchingly beautiful instrumental mix of "Sacrifice and be Sacrificed" that appeared on the "Baby" single as well. I guess that makes the single all the more special. Yello fans should absolutely pick this one up. It has Boris Blank's fingerprints all over it (not literally), as well as those of several other great musicians and producers.
I want to cry when I think of how it went for Billy, but thankfully he is still hauntingly alive in beautiful records such as this. Buy it NOW.
"Driving a white car to the beach
Ran down a ghost who looked like he knew me
Closing the door a hand would reach
Staring right through me into tomorrow..."
from "OUTERNATIONAL" by Billy Mackenzie/Fiction Songs Ltd.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2006
The best singer to emerge from the 1980's, this album was an attempt at a comeback.

The songs Outernational, Baby, Sacrifice & be sacrificed, What made me turn on the lights and In Windows All are brilliant.

The rest of the album has typical early 90's production values, however the vocal on each song is excellent.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2006
What a surprise to finally see this re-released with additional tracks!

However if Amazon's tracklist is correct it omits the "In windows all" song which really ought to be there.

The song does appear on "The Glamour Chase/Perhaps" release but what is the point in re-releasing cds with additional tracks and omitting songs that were included originally?

I give it 4 only because it's not complete....vocally it's another chillingly beautiful effort from the sadly missed Greatest Singer of All TIme!
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2008
"Outernational" contains some of the strongest songs of Mackenzie's all too brief career. With the hysterical yelps of his Associates heyday long since past him, he tackles more serious, downbeat and reflective material. Despite a few missteps, including an awkward cover of Stevie Wonder's "Pastime Paradise" and some ill-advised techno pop songs that are very of its time, Mackenzie really comes into his own on the Boris Blank produced ballads and mid-tempo tracks in the second half, using his otherworldly voice to bone-chilling effect. He never sounded more assured.

Blank's production is out of this world, in my opinion better than anything he did before or since, including his work with Yello, outsparkling Stephen Lipson's not too dissimilar collaboration with Annie Lennox in the process. The songs are superior too. I just wish Blank had produced the whole record.

With regards to the sound quality of this remastered edition, it's one of the best I've heard - faithful to the original, with Mackenzie's voice leaping out of the speakers with added clarity, embedded within an already lush-sounding and now even more dynamic and subtly textured backing. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
This is a weird mix of tracks and styles, and overall it doesn't do Mackenzie's unique voice justice. I bought this on the recommendation of a friend but have to say that, had I head some tracks first, then I probably wouldn't have done so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
Super sounds from tragic star. later era Associates fans will still like this, I am certain. The title track alone is worth the money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
This album is one that I never knew existed........... Thank you and recommended to all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Simply purchase it for his beautiful vocals . The rest is a bonus
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
Love the slick production on this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)