Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rebellion
The third and for me the weakest of the books in this series so far. While the plot is excellent (and I do like the way the story is evolving), the narrative falls down slightly as there's not quite enough detail compared to the two earlier novels. There is some inevitable repetition of events covered in previous books (not everyone might have read those and some...
Published on 19 Feb. 2013 by Mr Rob Knight

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some space and ground warfare and more clichés
A little rebellion is volume 3 of the Crimson Worlds series, where Earth is dominated by a handful of “Superpowers” which have been waging war against each other in space to secure systems, planets and the resources they need for their devastated home economies. Essentially, just about all of them are oppressive regimes, although the author gives the...
Published 1 month ago by JPS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rebellion, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Rebellion (Crimson Worlds Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The third and for me the weakest of the books in this series so far. While the plot is excellent (and I do like the way the story is evolving), the narrative falls down slightly as there's not quite enough detail compared to the two earlier novels. There is some inevitable repetition of events covered in previous books (not everyone might have read those and some back-story is necessary), but I felt the 'fresh-meat' of the book to be a bit lean. The ending especially felt very rushed. Handy hint: the 'big battle' where the good guys win against all odds is the bit we want to read about. The big finale switches abruptly from the hero landing his troops to save the settlers to the end of the battle a week later with a bare sentence to describe the interim period. Not terribly satisfying after wading through all the political machinations of the 'baddies' in the earlier sections of the book... Sometimes months have passed with little more than a few words to tell us what happened: "some months later, Jax and his team were still carrying out hit-and-run operations..." just doesn't cut it IMO...

Also, having become used to armoured infantry tactics it was a bit of a let-down to be cast back to 'conventional' ground warfare. As I have 'some experience' of this type of thing, the resulting skirmishes didn't ring true: even now (in 2013) we have things like attack helicopters with thermal and IR imaging systems and computer-controlled targeting. An interstellar land force with tank divisions but almost no air-assets at all? C'mon... A single Apache helicopter can now take on the role of an entire company of modern tanks - so much so that the very future of armoured units in NATO armies beyond a couple more decades is doubtful. I think the obvious leap-forward could have been made here.

Fifteen years ago I could sit in a Czech-Republic BMP-2 armoured personnel carrier and program into the fire-control system up to 20 targets which the auto-cannon would take out one after another once I hit the red 'fire' button. That vehicle also had reactive armour and IR detectors which could detect an IR laser 'painting' the vehicle from an anti-tank missile, the fire-control computer would then automatically override the system and fire a burst of 30mm cannon shells down the projected path of the incoming missile. Not 100% fool-proof, but better than nothing and better than anything the West was using at the same time. That was Soviet War-Pac kit from the late 1990's.

For ground forces engaged several hundred years into the future, I expect a little more of a nod to some realistic weapons advances.

I would also take issue with the concentration camp sequences - past history (not just from WW2, but my own personal observations from Bosnia and Kosovo in the 1990's) shows us that people kept on starvation rations for months on end in squalid conditions do not have either the will or the physical capability to overthrow armed guards.

Despite my reservations though, this was still an enjoyable read and I'm waiting eagerly for the next instalment (which should be released next month!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some space and ground warfare and more clichés, 20 Jan. 2015
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Rebellion (Crimson Worlds Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
A little rebellion is volume 3 of the Crimson Worlds series, where Earth is dominated by a handful of “Superpowers” which have been waging war against each other in space to secure systems, planets and the resources they need for their devastated home economies. Essentially, just about all of them are oppressive regimes, although the author gives the impression that some may be worse than others.

The Western Alliance made up of Canada, the US and, more oddly perhaps, by the UK, and supported by the Pacific Rim Confederation (organised around Japan) have heavily defeated their enemies. It has forced these to sign a peace whereby the Alliance has annexed numerous systems and has become dominant in space.

The Navy and the Marines Corps, having won the war, are demobilised and put on a peace time footing. The corrupt Alliance Government, secretly controlled by Alliance Intelligence (the “super-nasties” of the whole series), seeks to control the armed forces deployed in space and the colonies, or to otherwise break them. Tensions rise as the forces in space are infiltrated by Alliance Intelligence which also tightens its grip on the colonies. Alliance Government’s behaviours become so oppressive that the colonies rebel.

Of course, our usual bunch of heroes will finally triumph, and, as usual, at great cost, with the one of the hero’s “best friends” among the casualties, like what used to happen in a good old western! At times, the rebellions and the rebels who are portrayed as “freedom fighters” and the wicked, oppressive and evil forces of government seemed loosely inspired by the War of Independence.

The battle scenes, which have been up to now one of the main strongpoints of the previous volumes, are not quite as powerful. There is only one space battle and it is a bit of a damp squid. The ground battles opposing the rebels largely made up of ex-Marine veterans opposed to the Alliance’s police forces, Territorial Army and Special Forces made up of powered armoured infantry, are not entirely convincing either. The under-equipped and poorly armed rebels are heroically led while the government forces are, with one exception, commanded by incompetents and/or sadistic and cowardly bullies.

There are however some interesting tweaks and some rather good features. One is the involvement of Mars which sides with the rebels. Another is the raid conducted against the headquarters of Alliance Intelligence. A third interesting feature is the relationship between the increasingly paranoid Gavin Stark, the tyrannical, ruthless and cruel “Number One” of Alliance Intelligence, and his only friend, his old and dying mentor Jack Dutton. The latter is perhaps one of the better drawn characters in this volume.

It is largely because of these features that I will rate this mildly disappointing episode three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Rebellion (Crimson Worlds Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I find all Jay Allan books to be real page turners and they leave me really wanting the next installment. There are a few threads running through the series so you are always what is going to happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another smash hit!, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Rebellion (Crimson Worlds Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Just another great read from Jay Allan where the reader continues to empathise with the heroes. Recommend this book to anyone who enjoys military science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic series, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Rebellion (Crimson Worlds Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I loved every single story, a great series that had you gripped in the plot until the very last book, fantastic read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better and better, 18 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Rebellion (Crimson Worlds Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I am reading these in quick succession - and the story is engaging and enjoyable. Very good stuff and I look forward to the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It just keeps coming, 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Rebellion (Crimson Worlds Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Again the story unfolds with more action and devious spying that would have anyone paranoid of everyone. On to the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 11 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Rebellion (Crimson Worlds Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Another cleverly woven story, complete with fully developed characters. Thank you Jay, please keep writing, and I will keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Rebellion (Crimson Worlds Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The book carries on the series in the same, gripping manner as the earlier books. The fast pace keeps you turning the pages and the action is engaging. Although it does seem to leave you wishing their was a little more substance, the characters are engaging and the plots tie up nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars for series, 9 Sept. 2013
This review is from: A Little Rebellion (Crimson Worlds Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
as above :) well this is good for the series of Books, so a I will be copy and pasting this in each review for this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews