Customer Reviews


262 Reviews
5 star:
 (197)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Bargain
This is a sumptuous feast of classic tracks culled from Fleetwood Mac's second incarnation. All the hits and memorable numbers are here in a beautifully remastered double set, currently selling for under a fiver. How good does life get? The set includes 'Dreams', 'Go Your Own Way', 'Rhiannon', 'Little Lies', 'The Chain', and many more delectable, melodically saturated...
Published on 19 Jun 2011 by Sentinel

versus
38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The 2002 album all over again...
'The Very Best Of Fleetwood Mac' really highlights the magnificent career of Fleetwood Mac, and is a great reminder of all the classic hits they have given us.

However this is the exact same release as the 2002 release by the same name, only the cover picture has been changed. I am very disappointed that they were too lazy to put together a new collection, or...
Published on 26 Oct 2009 by Mr. MusicMan


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Bargain, 19 Jun 2011
By 
Sentinel (Essex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a sumptuous feast of classic tracks culled from Fleetwood Mac's second incarnation. All the hits and memorable numbers are here in a beautifully remastered double set, currently selling for under a fiver. How good does life get? The set includes 'Dreams', 'Go Your Own Way', 'Rhiannon', 'Little Lies', 'The Chain', and many more delectable, melodically saturated slices of pure musical bliss. If you're in any doubt at all, just take a moment to listen to some of the samples, with Stevie Nicks richly seductive drawl underpinned by some glistening instrumental work, and insidious group harmonies. My only (pedantic) bitch would be that, without the glorious 'Albatross', 'Black Magic Woman' or the haunting 'Green Manilishi', this is really only half the Fleetwood Mac story. However, you can easily remedy this by exploring the wonders of Peter Green's bluesier version of this fine band on The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac So, to recap: this is possibly the bargain of the century, so grab it while you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 2 Jan 2004
Having seen Fleetwood Mac in a great live concert in Belfast 2003 I bought this greatest hits CD and it lived up to my expectations. Like almost everyone else on the planet I already had somme Fleetwood Mac in my collection (In my case Rumours and Tusk)but this CD brings the best of those plus some essential tracks which were missing from my collection such as Gypsy and Rhiannon.
If you do not own any Fleetwood Mac this is a great CD to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the single disc version, 18 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This should really be called "The Very Best of Fleetwood Mac 1975-1997". Whereas the single disc version of this compilation shows some of the early british blues material this double CD collection is the classic lineup only: Stevie Nicks, Linsdsey Buckingham, Christine McVie, Mick Fleetwood and John McVie. It contains all of the big hits released by this lineup up including 'Go Your Own Way', 'Tusk', 'Little Lies, 'Gypsy', 'Sara', 'Don't Stop' and of course 'Everywhere. This is worth the extra tenner as it also contains some of the best album tracks like 'Sisters of the Moon' and 'Skies the Limit'. Any new fans should buy this as it contains the ultimate mac songs that would be perfect to pull in some new fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Double CD with EXTRAS!, 1 Dec 2002
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
In the early nineties, every major group put out a BOX SET. Now the trend is to produce a double CD greatest hits package. It's all the rave - Rolling Stones, Elton John, Bee Gees, David Bowie and now Fleetwood Mac. But this is a good thing.
Fleetwood Mac's box set was nearly overly inclusive and really only sold to the most devout fans. A few years later, a single 'Greatest Hits" CD was released. Now with the double CD phenomenon, we have a more affordable and better selection of Fleetwood Mac's best. The Enhanced Sound is truly detectable and most of the hit songs are the singles versions, making for some refreshing song openings.
There is no material before 1975, however, it's a good selection and one that every true fan and every "maybe" fan will enjoy. The liner notes are good and there is a nice songlist with dates and chart notes. There is a fancy CD-ROM attachment with "sales" promotional stuff about the upcoming album, but it's really just another good excuse to keep people from burning a CD copy - yes, with a CD-ROM attachment, most people cannot make copies.
Trivia: It's tough to beleive that a group this popular only had one Number One Hit - "Dreams". They should have had more. This is a great set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How could I not?, 18 Oct 2009
By 
J. Ball "Joshua Ball" (Valencia, ES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well *sigh* yes another best of album but the Mac. Alas I cannot justify giving this album anything other than five stars due to just how amazing they are. This is a great collect of all things Fleetwood Mac. If you are new to the band, wanting a rounded collection of the hits, or just looking to add to your collection, then this is an excellent album. It contains their "very best" songs. Faultless...but we all know that. Worth a purchase if not just to have all these songs collected together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Buckingham and Nicks years, 16 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent collection. This was out in the US in 2002 when we got the single disc version, so I bought it then. The difference is this sticks to the Buckingham Nicks era only, no Peter Green hits are here. It a comprehensive collection giving room to tracks like Go Insane only previously availible on the Dance DVD. Also you get a couple of tracks from the Chain box set, Paper Doll and Love Shines. Intrestingly they hav also decided to put the original 70's single mixes of Say you love me and Rhiannon which is nice as these were the original version bought on 7" and played on the radio, and it makes a change if you have the original Fletwood mac album. This has enough to keep the fan intersted and also a good introduction to the new commers too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The 2002 album all over again..., 26 Oct 2009
'The Very Best Of Fleetwood Mac' really highlights the magnificent career of Fleetwood Mac, and is a great reminder of all the classic hits they have given us.

However this is the exact same release as the 2002 release by the same name, only the cover picture has been changed. I am very disappointed that they were too lazy to put together a new collection, or at the very least they could have added some of the songs from their last studio album, 2003's Say You Will to this release. If you don't own the 2002 release this is well worth a buy. It contains all their biggest hits from 1975-1992, including many iconic numbers, such as 'Dreams', 'Little Lies', 'Don't Stop' and 'Everywhere'.

Unfortunately singles like 'Save Me', 'I Do', 'Peacekeeper' and 'Say You Will' are missing from this compilation, thus only 3 stars.

I would still recommend `The Very Best Of Fleetwood Mac` to any music fan, as it is a clear explanation of why Fleetwood Mav is one of the most successful bands of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth hearing, 15 Feb 2005
By A Customer
but the two disc American version is better, i think, simply because this UK version has only a few of the peter green era tracks. the american one is just the mega-platinum stadium era stuff, while the original Mac can be sampled exclusively and far more extensively on the latest Sony compilation. do it that way, and have the best of both worlds, or just get the cd from the era you like better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fleetwood Mac, 21 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love Fleetwood Mac you will love this, it has all their greatest hits and is great listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not all the greatest or very best!, 24 Sep 2013
By 
Border Terrier "Border Terrier" (Penmaenmawr, North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
I love Fleetwood Mac

I bought Rumours on vinyl and when CD technology was developed, I bought the CD version too.

I have several albums by FM but what really narks me is that the one track that went to number 1 and was played on Top Of The Pops every week for what seemed an eternity is never included in the later compilations.

Those of you who were around in the 60's and 70's will remember the instrumental "Albatross". A very easy to listen to track that reminds one of long lazy days in the hot summer.

This track appears on only one of the albums I have and I had to search many track listings for it. Its just called "Fleetwood Mac - Greatest Hits" on the CBS label (460704-2). It has only 12 tracks on one CD and also features Green Mannalishi, Oh Well (Parts 1 & 2), Black magic Woman and Man Of The World.

I can't understand why "Albatross" does not feature on more of FM's compilation albums. Its not even on the latest 3 CD offering that is being pushed by Sainsbury's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Fleetwood Mac
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews