Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous Series
There are some creature comforts in life that enable relaxation and homeliness with engaging television. George Gently is the epitome of this. He has charisma and an attraction with straightforward honesty despite the many difficult situations faced. In Series Five we are in 1968. George, (Martin Shaw) and side-kick Bacchus (Lee Singleby) have to cope with racial tension,...
Published 14 months ago by ACB(swansea)

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shaw is terrific; Ingleby is not
It's a pity that Lee Ingleby is still Martin Shaw's sidekick. His character is so abrasive, uncouth and mean and one wonders if this is the writer's doing or Ingleby's. In any case, I was tempted to watch this new series but decided I couldn't take Ingleby so I watched something else instead. Such a pity Shaw's fantastic performances are compromised because of Ingleby.
Published 12 months ago by MadMax


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality drama, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Once again the high quality of this long running TV.series has been maintained, along with the fast and efficient service of Amazon's delivery service. would strongly recommend all previous series with excellent character portrayal by vintage actor Martin Shaw and side kick, Lee Ingleby," looking forward to series six."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jeans choice., 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is set in my era, and is a constant reminder of those times. As always, the writing is excellent, and the actors superb. I only buy DVDs that I know I will watch again and again, and these definitely qualify.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
the series like the previous ones captured the aura of the 60,s with the settings and the acting is first rate from the main and other characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasure, As Always, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Meg Braithwaite "meg" (Wynnewood, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Series Five does not disappoint. Well acted, well-written, well directed. I always look forward to the next series. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George Gently stories keep getting better., 28 Oct 2013
By 
Robert K. Green Jr. (Dallas, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
My wife and I were happy to see another Series released. The acting and production are always good and the writing seems to this viewer to be maturing with more depth and complexity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspector George Gently Series 5, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved it. I have watched all the other series, and I hope there is a sixth and seventh series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars martin shaw does it again, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
am a great fan of this excellent series of programmes. any show with martin shaw is always going to be good, with lee ingleby as his sidekick they make a fantastic team..well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspector George Gently, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Geoffrey D. Dean (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I have thoroughly enjoyed this series as well as the four earlier series.
The interaction between Gently and Bacchus is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quicker than anticpated delivery; lovely surprise, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Just recently started to watch Martin Shaw in Inspector George Gently and what a revelation; thought he could not top Judge John Deed but I was wrong; excellent on screen presence and great pairing with Lee Ingleby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspector George Gently DVD, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George Gently Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
There is nothing gentle about these two incredible actors, as they unravel the 60's crime wave up north!
The storylines are so timely accurate and compelling, they take you on a journey backwards in time (if you were alive back then) and let you relive the heady days again.
Totally compelling viewing! WE WANT MORE!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George Gently Series 5 [DVD]
George Gently Series 5 [DVD] by Martin Shaw and Lee Ingleby (DVD - 2013)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews