Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
This cd is awesome. I was there at those raves and clubs of 1989 and this mixed cd captures the tunes and vibes of the day. They're not all acid house but they were played at those acid house clubs and raves..
Published 14 months ago by Ren

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable collection but not 'Acid House'!
This is a reasonably good collection with some great tunes and a couple of random additions which really feel like fillers. However my main gripe with this product is that it's really not an 'Acid House' collection. Many of the titles, good as they are, are what back then was called simply 'house' or 'garage' music. If you're looking for Acid House there are better...
Published 19 months ago by balancedview


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable collection but not 'Acid House'!, 6 Feb 2013
This review is from: Acid House Anthems (Audio CD)
This is a reasonably good collection with some great tunes and a couple of random additions which really feel like fillers. However my main gripe with this product is that it's really not an 'Acid House' collection. Many of the titles, good as they are, are what back then was called simply 'house' or 'garage' music. If you're looking for Acid House there are better collections out there, and similarly if it's early 90s house anthems you're after, there are better compilations available. My advice would be really to invest in a couple of those for a better coverage of the music scene from that period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MOS Doing for music what they did for clubbing..., 9 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Acid House Anthems (Audio CD)
There's less 'acid house' on this compelation then there is in my grandmothers record collection and she's been dead 40 years, but then what do you expect from MOS! Still some good tracks on there all the same and they get a star for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You've been had if you buy this, 10 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Acid House Anthems (Audio CD)
What a desperate attempt to flog a compilation of old house hits and some student indie disco favourites from 20 years ago. There is not much acid house here, believe me. If you want acid house there are way better buys out there...records that actually contain acid house records. Avoid this sham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Er-NOT acid house, 1 Mar 2013
By 
M. Stringer "rockabilly rebel" (London,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acid House Anthems (Audio CD)
Mmm, strange one this. Some decent tracks and maybe qualifying for the label 'acid' in that they were played at some of the raves in the 80's bu the collection as a whole isn't an acid collection. IMHO, The Jackmaster series of the 80's had a better Acid/House/Jack collection on them, especially JackMaster 3. We all love music, we may all love this music but we don't love being played by cynical Record Companies. Yes, make money, have the tunes out there for people to buy to support the artists-just don't cash-in so obviously and cheaply. I don't mind being taken for a ride as long as I can pretend I haven't been (baby)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Acid house?...really?, 8 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Acid House Anthems (Audio CD)
No way is this an acid house album. Okay, there are a few tracks that are acid house but the majority aren't. It's a misleading album that should've been called "House Anthems with a lot of 80s Pop and a few Acid House tracks". Check out Boyz Noize's Super Acid for some great modern acid tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Acid? Very little, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Mark Colgan "Roc" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acid House Anthems (Audio CD)
Whilst this contains some banging tunes, very little of it is Acid House, there is regular house, detroit techno, early rave, but little Acid, most that is, is contained on CD2. I bought it, it's interesting, but is not a definitive collection of Acid House in the slightest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Defo not Acid House !!!, 16 Feb 2013
This review is from: Acid House Anthems (Audio CD)
Would class as 90's club classics - but Chris Rea on CD3 ? Acid house anthem ?? You're having a laugh mate!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ACID House? Er...get right off one matey! Hardly so!, 11 Feb 2013
This review is from: Acid House Anthems (Audio CD)
The title is a joke! However, not a bad selection of tracks I hasten to add! Half of them are what I would describe as "Chicago House" and a few i.e. Alison Limerick are "Classic House". So I give it 3 stars for the tracklisting, minus 2 for the incorrect, misleading title! Try the Hacienda 30 CD for a better collection! Here are a couple of links which might be of more use?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hacienda-30-Various-Artists/dp/B008XHIHU2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1360606910&sr=8-1

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hacienda-House-Classics-Various-Artists/dp/B002LCOQW8/ref=pd_sim_m_h__3

http://www.amazon.co.uk/We-Call-Acieeed-Various-Artists/dp/B0000669O9/ref=sr_1_1?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1360607060&sr=1-1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mystified by the track selection especially on Disc 3, 9 Feb 2013
By 
Young Goblin (Bradford, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Acid House Anthems (Audio CD)
Quickly downloaded this for a journey only to be steadily more and more bemused by the track selection and by (what in the physical format is)Disc 3 felt a bit cheated. There's some classics from 1988/89 on here Maurice, Royal House, Phuture, Nightwriters etc and some other classics which pre-date that era (jack Your Body which are jack tracks and not Acid House) and some fun tracks which the purists will hate but which were undoubtedly played bigtime (or also PA'd bigtime in Guru Josh's case!) and which bring it all back for me (D-Mob, Guru Josh) and also good to see the Balearic stuff Chris Rea and Blow Monkeys.

But a lot of the stuff on Disc 3 is far more 80s/90s student disco than underground dance event and when you think of all the thousands of real Acid House (ie underground party music from 1988/89) classics which they had to pick from it really leaves the listener a bit bewildered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No surprises except Chris Rea (and they can keep that one!), 4 Mar 2014
This review is from: Acid House Anthems (Audio CD)
As many people have pointed out it's not really Acid House - most of what is there is on disc 2. Generally it's a bit of a broad-brush retrospective of late 80's clubbing and does contain a lot of classics but they've all been on umpteen other compilations so if you have any interest in the era than you've probably got most of these tracks already. It's a decent listen but nothing surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Acid House Anthems
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews