Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars37
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2013
I had read the paperback 'War Brides', and this was available to me as an 'bonus'. I found it a completely different story from the 4 in 'War Brides' - unlike the reviewer who considered it just more of the same. Each story is unique, except for the inevitable culture shock. If my 'war bride' Aunt's story were to be told, it too would be unique
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
Loved this book very enjoyable. the books about the gi brides are all wrapped up in this one i made the mistake of buying them all.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
love reading about the war time romances and gave you a r=great insight to how it was for GI brides
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
It was a great read and made you realise what happened to the GI Brides after the war and in the war
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Definitely worth a read. Very interesting to read about the culture differences and felt this one was the best written of the GI Brides stories. A couple of the others felt long and this one kept my interest all the way through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
Well written, a story well told. Held my interest from start to finish. Gave me a brief insight to what was happening in Germany at the end of the war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
Interesting read that gives you insight on the lives of GI brides. Which ended up very different from what they imagined.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
This book illustrated the ups and downs of life and how problems can be overcome. Every page was an excellent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
It was well written and researched. Haven't really much more to say. I enjoy social history and the authors style
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
enjoyed reading this book,the story of joans life as a GI bride was really interesting,,the end was good as well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)