Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great glimpse into a fascinating life, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Margaret's Story (GI Brides Shorts, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
After thoroughly enjoying The Sugar Girls, I was excited to see that the authors had a new book coming out and preordered it at once. History books are not usually my chosen genre, but I have a soft spot for social history and this is social history at it's finest. I could not put this down! The author's have a great way of truly bringing Margaret's tale to life. The insights they give into the lives of the often forgotten women during war times are fascinating. I did not know anything about GI brides before reading this book, so it was certainly eye-opening to see the hardships Margaret (and I'm sure many other GI brides) faced. It's pretty harrowing and at times, a tragic story, but the epilogue provides a really lovely touch.

This is a truly enjoyable read. It's quite short, so I even read it again later in the day, as not to miss any details! I look forward to reading the rest of the stories when they are released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An evocative and moving life story, 15 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Margaret's Story (GI Brides Shorts, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Since reading the memoirs of a couple of close relatives who had recently deceased, I have been keen to read personal tales of "ordinary people" and their often unordinary lives. Margaret's story is often tragic and heart breaking, but is also filled with love. The story evokes life during the war and in Britain and the States. As a piece of social history it sheds light on how families coped with marriage, divorce, childbirth, domestic violence and addiction without any form of state support. A fascinating and moving read, I can't wait for the other stories to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G I Brides, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Margaret's Story (GI Brides Shorts, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another easy lovely read perfect for holiday or bedtime.

Tales of times gone by , a real insight to those war time years.

A must read for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GI Brides Margaret's story, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Margaret's Story (GI Brides Shorts, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another great read telling you all about how the GI Brides met their husbands and what life was like back in America
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars realistic, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Margaret's Story (GI Brides Shorts, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
good read as I can remember the Americans in Oxford mainly after the war,it was believable as some brides were soon home again,but also many have had a good life and have remained in USA with their families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Margaret's Story, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Margaret's Story (GI Brides Shorts, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Lovely stories of what life was about in the 1940's, and the outcome of women who fell for the Americans with their flash attitude to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Margaret's Story (GI Brides Shorts, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting but short
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars s works I find it a very easy and relaxing read a well put together work, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Margaret's Story (GI Brides Shorts, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Having read one other of Duncan,s works I find it a very easy and relaxing read a well put together work ,,Thankyou Duncan,,,,,,,,,,,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews