Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Very Afraid
Reading this on your laptop? Or your smart phone? Of course you are. Got a Facebook account? On Twitter? Ever tried internet dating? Maybe you're even waiting for an e mail from someone special who you've yet to meet . So was Voss and Edwards' latest heroine, until it all went horribly wrong. If you like turning pages then this book is for you. A tight plot and a credible...
Published 9 months ago by Pete Aves

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing.
I was thrilled when this was released, as I had LOVED The Magpies and other books by this duo. The premise sounded fantastic and I was all set to love this book but I just couldn't get into it. I was quite pleased when I had finished it. I will admit that I didn't see the ending coming but only because I found it highly unbelievable. The story seemed to drag a little bit...
Published 8 months ago by Cathy Hudson


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Very Afraid, 24 Jun 2013
This review is from: Forward Slash (Kindle Edition)
Reading this on your laptop? Or your smart phone? Of course you are. Got a Facebook account? On Twitter? Ever tried internet dating? Maybe you're even waiting for an e mail from someone special who you've yet to meet . So was Voss and Edwards' latest heroine, until it all went horribly wrong. If you like turning pages then this book is for you. A tight plot and a credible cast (some of whom have a taste for murder) ensure that Forward Slash will have you checking you locked the back door for weeks to come. So buy it on Amazon now and then sit back and wait for the confirmation e mail to turn up your inbox. And maybe a little something extra. You've got mail, dear reader....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait, 24 Jun 2013
This review is from: Forward Slash (Kindle Edition)
I've read all books by Louise and Mark and when I heard I new one was due out, I couldn't wait. Was it worth the long, long wait? Absolutely!

Written from the perspective of four different characters, we find Amy who's sister Becky has mysteriously decided to go travelling, sending only an email to her sister. Amy doubts the authenticity of the email and decides to find out what's happened to her. Amy thinks she knows her sister but is in for a few surprises along her journey. With the mysterious guy known as "him" telling his tale along the way, things are not looking too good for Becky!

I was totally gripped throughout and if silly things such as work hadn't got in the way, I would have finished this book in one go rather than grabbing any spare moment I had. An excellent read and fully recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to be disturbed!, 21 Jun 2013
This review is from: Forward Slash (Kindle Edition)
Written at a time when the online dating market is worth a staggering 2bn, Voss and Edwards take you on a disturbing ride through the darker, murkier waters of this booming industry.

The premise is simple. Amy receives an email from her sister who tells her she is going travelling and not to try finding her. Naturally Amy expresses concern and what follows is the unravelling of a story which touches on many themes including sex, drugs and abusive relationships.

I liked the way the story flipped between different characters points of view in every chapter. You were introduced to several shady people throughout and the `whodunnit' elements kept me guessing right until the very end. The intro to the book is bloody and gory and there is a rather disturbing insight into the upbringing of the killer which for me was uncomfortable reading.

All in all, Forward Slash kept me intrigued from beginning to end, it's a real page turner and once again Voss and Edwards deliver the [gory] goods!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not disappointed, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forward Slash (Kindle Edition)
Well, this was a real edge of the seat thriller from start to finish, first impressions can be so misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very gripping, 20 Jun 2013
This review is from: Forward Slash (Kindle Edition)
Kept me interested all the way to the end and didn't have that predictable ending either. A good read, but be warned, it's not for the faint hearted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from Voss and Edwards, 20 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: Forward Slash (Kindle Edition)
Forward Slash is the fourth novel by crime writing duo Mark Edwards and Louise Voss and in short, I loved it! The story switches between the first person viewpoints of Amy and her sister Becky as Amy tries to work out why Becky would leave a bizarre note about going travelling, and vanish without a trace. Amy believes this to be out of character, but as Becky is a grown woman, the police are not interested. Plus, to back up her story, a photo pops up on Facebook of a beach, followed by a single tweet telling Amy to stop looking for her. Amy thinks she knows her sister well, but as we hear from Becky about what she got up to in the weeks leading up to her disappearance, it becomes obvious that things are not what they seem. Drawn by feisty, but bored teacher colleague Catherine, Becky has been led into a world of seedy internet liaisons that Amy had no idea about, and as Amy uncovers more and more about her sister's life, her fear for her safety escalates. I don't want to say anymore as I don't want to spoil it, but I really didn't want this book to end. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another thrilling book from Louise and Mark., 20 Jun 2013
By 
O. Reynolds - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forward Slash (Kindle Edition)
Everyone has heard of the potential dangers of internet dating. But never before have I seen it explored in such a brutal fashion. It tells the story of Amy, who has received a suspicious email from her sister, Becky, explaining that she has left the country. Not one to brush off such strange behaviour, Amy begins to suspect that Becky has been kidnapped. This spawns a thrilling exploration into both the dangers of the internet and the mind of a psychotic murderer. Just as Amy seems to be getting closer to the truth, more obstacles block her progress, and she begins to question her own judgment. Was Becky really kidnapped? Or did she simply go off to explore foreign countries?

Once again, Mark Edwards and Louise Voss have crafted a wonderful story, one that is both thrilling and disturbing in equal measure. One thing's for certain- you'll want to think twice before meeting an internet date after reading Forward Slash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finished within 24 hours!, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forward Slash (Kindle Edition)
People often describe a book as a 'page turner' however this book REALLY defines the term. I would love to be able to offer some clever critisism but I can't . . . 'Foward Slash' is a truly brilliant read. The story had so many twists and turns that I was kept guessing right until the very end. In particular, I loved that there were tiny hints of how the plot might develop which left you questioning all your previous perceptions.

As a fan of this genre of novel, I do get easily irritated if there is a love interest that is overly pronounced (if I wanted that sort of book, I'd read 50 Shades). However, in this instance it enhanced rather than overwhelmed the plot.

I apologise if my review is vague but I am so very mindful of giving anything away to other readers that would in any way diminish their enjoyment. Just trust me - you absolutely need to read this book.

This is now my joint favourite Voss/Edwards novel, along with 'Killing Cupid.
(What you haven't read that one? I can only ask 'Why not?').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not-so social networking!, 20 Jun 2013
This review is from: Forward Slash (Kindle Edition)
If you've ever considered internet dating, there's a good chance you'll change your mind after reading `Forward Slash'. This is a dark and twisted tale of sex, stalking and obsession, with the underlying message that perhaps no-one online - or even in real life - is quite who they seem.

Voss and Edwards' latest story follows Amy, who is confused by a seemingly innocuous email received from her sister Becky who tells her she is going off travelling and not to try to find her. Amy is concerned that this is totally out of character for Becky and she sets about trying to get to the bottom of it, without the help of the police, who aren't remotely interested, but with the assistance of Becky's concerned and, Amy realises, rather hunky neighbour Gary.
Running parallel to Amy's personal investigation is the story of Detective Inspector Declan Adams who is investigating a possible murder, after the discovery of a body in a cesspit on a remote, abandoned farm. Naturally, the two tales converge as the pace of both investigations quickens and Amy finds herself in very grave danger at the hands of a twisted serial killer.

This fourth novel from Voss and Edwards felt a little sluggish to begin with, however the pace begins to speed up and the reader is soon caught up in Amy's frustrating hunt for her missing sister. The narrative from the killer's perspective is suitably dark and often gruesome and gives the impression that he really is cold-blooded and ruthless in his twisted quest. There are a few shady characters suggested as potential suspects and, although I missed guessing the culprit, I did guess the inevitable twist at the end - not that this ruined my enjoyment of the story!

All in all, a great, gruesome and often creepy read from the duo. It certainly will make me think twice about my own online activities from now on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forward Slash, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forward Slash (Kindle Edition)
Could not put this book down. Twists and turns kept you guessing to the end. A really good read it was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab56f594)

This product

Forward Slash
Forward Slash by Louise Voss
2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews