Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible work
Max Blumenthal has done an incredible work. I have to say that I am really pleased with the rigour, with which the facts are reported (the book contains a detailed note section with references), and with the writing style. The book is highly readable, and I feel grateful to the author for dedicating so much time and work to writing such a fine piece. Such quality work is...
Published 3 months ago by Poussin

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly negative portrayal of Israel
The book has a mono-vision of Israel devoted to displaying as much of the negative about the country as is possible. No room for balance or relief from its constant 'they is bad people' sort of refrain. Life is never just one-sided and maybe a more mature writer would have been able to write a more balanced account.
Published 3 months ago by Naftali 007


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible work, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Max Blumenthal has done an incredible work. I have to say that I am really pleased with the rigour, with which the facts are reported (the book contains a detailed note section with references), and with the writing style. The book is highly readable, and I feel grateful to the author for dedicating so much time and work to writing such a fine piece. Such quality work is not something I come across so often.

For someone like me who is not so familiar with the situation in Israel/Palestine, this book is a must read. It offers a description of a situation that does not get as much media coverage as it probably should, especially given the dependence of Israel on foreign money. Blumenthal immersed himself inside the Israeli society, and thus allows us to see things from the perspective of the locals. This makes the book unique and pretty much unmissable. I also appreciated Blumenthal's historical approach in describing the roots of a conflict that unfortunately does not seem to have much chance to be resolved any time soon.

Overall, this book is the work of a great journalist, that deserves to be read. I would definitely recommend buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Things were pretty bad when I lived there and, 26 July 2014
I'm Jewish and have lived in Israel. Things were pretty bad when I lived there and, predictably for a state whose very basis is the racist assumption that Zionist Jews have a right (whether God-given or not) to dispossess Palestinians of their land and human rights, Israel has moved closer to fascism in the intervening years. This book tears away the Zionist propaganda and gives a clear description and analysis of what a monster it has become. I don't just detest Zionism for what it has done to Palestinians, but also for the moral and spiritual destruction it has wrought on Jewish communities. With Gaza currently suffering such horrific, inhuman bombardment, this book helps explain the cause.
On a recent visit to Palestine, the first since I left Israel many years ago, I was shocked and moved by the conditions of Palestinians. I saw how settlers ride horses at and throw stones at Palestinian children, how they throw bottles of urine down onto the narrow streets of Hebron from the houses they have stolen from their Arab owners, so that streets have to be protected with "roofs" of netting. I also met some of the tiny minority of brave Israeli Jews who are prepared to take enormous risks to try to get justice for Palestinians. But, most of all, I was struck by the fact that, as a Jewish visitor, I was welcomed into Palestinian homes, whether in towns, villages or refugee camps. I felt perfectly safe on my own walking around West Bank towns and even if I went into a shop in Jericho, Hebron or Bethlehem and had to resort to using Hebrew because they didn't understand English (making it clear, if they couldn't see from my appearance, that I am Jewish), the total strangers in the shop were helpful and glad that I had come to see and share their conditions. I was completely open with Palestinians and Israeli Jewish activists about being Jewish and about having lived in Israel. During that visit, the only hostility and agression I encountered was from Israeli Jews and I preferred not to tell them that I was also Jewish as I had no wish to identify with them in any way.
So, I know from my personal experience that the picture given by Max Blumenthal is devastatingly accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside Israel, 27 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In Israel's latest assault on Gaza more than 2000 Gazans were killed, over 500 of which were children. While Palestinian families were mourning their dead, a flag-waving Israeli mob was chanting in the streets of Tel Aviv: "There is no school tomorrow in Gaza, because there are no children left. Ole, ole, ole."

The fanatical hatred emanating from that crowd was chilling and left the viewer wondering what is going on in Israel these days?

Max Blumenthal's book answers that question. It is divided into many short chapters and each chapter is like a piece of a jigsaw that looks at one specific aspect of Israeli and Palestinian life and society. From the arrival at Ben Gurion Airport, an experience in itself, Blumenthal takes us on a journey through Israel and the Occupied Territories. Along the way we meet a broad range of people from all walks of life.

In Haifa, for example, we encounter a young Palestinian woman, who had opened a café which had an easy-going bohemian atmosphere and became a favourite hangout with both, young Palestinians and Israelis. The café had one rule: "No uniforms allowed." However, the café's fate was sealed when one day an Israeli soldier in uniform with a gun slung over his shoulder walked in and demanded a drink.

Then there was the eighty-nine-year-old Holocaust survivor who rented rooms in his house to three Palestinian students. When in December 2010 a group of around 50 state-sanctioned Israeli rabbis issued a religious edict, urging Israelis not to rent to Arabs and other non-Jews, this old man became the target of hate messages, which were regularly pinned to his door, denouncing him as a traitor.

In a chapter on the West Bank, Blumenthal describes the protests and demonstrations against the separation wall. In order to get information on the protest leaders the Israeli army raids Palestinian homes in the middle of the night. They then arrest children from as young as nine years old at gunpoint, who are taken to a military prison and interrogated by the army or the Shin Bet, the internal security service, until they are ready to supply the required information. This can involve beatings, blindfolds and having a loaded gun pointed at them. According to a soldier who served in Hebron "they always cry, s*** in their pants."

At the end of the book a picture has emerged of an all powerful Israeli state which brutalises a virtually defenceless Palestinian population. The state and the media combined have whipped up a hysterically racist atmosphere in Israeli society. Internal dissenters are bullied, intimidated and threatened, and this even applies to Holocaust survivors. The international media are only reporting the tip of an iceberg. The EU and even more so the US government are looking the other way, pretending not to see or hear anything while supplying the Israeli military with the next batch of fighter jets, tanks and missiles.

Goliath is an important book and a must-read for anybody who wants to understand what's happening in Israel/Palestine today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Book - just essential reading for anybody wishing to ..., 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Outstanding Book - just essential reading for anybody wishing to understand the current trajectory in Israeli society and politics.
Very well researched, but also readable, this is a cold-eyed, fearless and ruthless analysis of a society in denial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating; a wonderful read., 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goliath: Life and Loathing in Greater Israel (Kindle Edition)
Blumenthal paints a picture of contemporary Israel which exposes the inevitable moral depravity into which the Zionist settler state has become after seven decades of ethnic cleansing, war, occupation, oppression and apartheid. Taking advantage of the relative freedom to move around which his status as an American jew affords him, the book reads like a travelogue of despair, as he reports on his encounters with activists and politicians, oppressors and oppressed, whilst providing enlightening insights into the events and people which have shaped and defined the rogue state in recent years. Brilliantly written, I can guarantee that you will learn so much from this book - the mainstream media simply won't report much of what is covered here. A superb book by a very gifted and principled investigative journalist which I cannot recommend enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful addition to debate, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goliath: Life and Loathing in Greater Israel (Kindle Edition)
An excellent and informative book, in the main fairly balanced and calibrated. Should please every liberal Zionist and every Palestinian sympathiser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly readable and factually reliable., 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, this book is factually correct. Even its honest critics have conceded this. The only people claiming otherwise are propagandists.

Very good book if the Israel / Palestine conflict interests you and if it doesn't, you should read it and get interested.

The great thing about this book is that the short chapters deal with one subject at a time. Much of the reason the I/P conflict is ignored is due to the apparent complexities of the subject. I believe this is purposely made so by those parties who want to turn people off of the subject so that the Israeli occupation and disappearing of the Palestinians from their homeland continues. Blumenthal handles this extremely well by the use of short chapters dealing with single issues without allowing himself to become sidetracked.

The other great thing about this book is that the structure makes it instantly 'dippable'. For anyone who's read on this subject, one came become acutely bored by some commentators and historians. This is not the fault of the authors, more the subject. Again Blumenthal's style means you can pick it up and absorb small doses. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
YES anything related to Palestine is worth a read and fills in gaps we have about the present situation and suffering of these people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An accurate summary of Israel and where she stands in the world today, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goliath: Life and Loathing in Greater Israel (Kindle Edition)
To see so many negative reviews on this book, by people dare I say that have not even read it speaks volumes. I would say this is required reading for anyone interested in the Isreal Palestine conflict. It certainly opened my eyes to how right of right wing that Isreal as a nation is. I would highly recommend this book and commend Mr Blumenthal for a brave work and one that is essential reading for those willing to accept the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking and Inspiring at the same time..., 19 Jun. 2014
By 
Guy Ottaway (Kingston upon Hull, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goliath: Life and Loathing in Greater Israel (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book. The veil is not just opened, it is torn down. A must read for all Americans and Europeans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews