Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read, Consider and Enjoy!
I had read "Spoon River Anthology" in high school many years ago and decided to revisit it to refresh the fading memory. I was not disappointed. This work by Edgar Lee Masters consists of reflections, accusations, confessions and general commentaries from the graves of late citizens of Spoon River. The actual river, and mythical setting of the town, is in Central...
Published on 26 Oct. 2011 by James Gallen

versus
5 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stirring epitaphs? No; dead boring.
If you get an edition that includes The Spooniad and the Epilogue, then you will have three bad works of poetry to plough through, the last two blessedly short.
The idea is a good one; a series of monologues from dead former townspeople, touching the major incidents of their lives, many of them connected, sometimes in surprising ways. But Masters is just not a good...
Published on 11 Nov. 2005 by Peter Reeve


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read, Consider and Enjoy!, 26 Oct. 2011
By 
James Gallen (St. Louis, Missouri, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I had read "Spoon River Anthology" in high school many years ago and decided to revisit it to refresh the fading memory. I was not disappointed. This work by Edgar Lee Masters consists of reflections, accusations, confessions and general commentaries from the graves of late citizens of Spoon River. The actual river, and mythical setting of the town, is in Central Illinois' Lincoln Country. These snippets provide humor, wisdom, insight and a sense that human nature has not changed much over the years. Read, consider and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful work, 23 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book / collection of poems. It has a strong anthropological slant to it, where you get to know everyone in the town through what their own ghost is telling you It's certainly very interesting and will challenge some of your outlooks on life, however, it requires dedication and you'll find yourself flipping back-and-forth trying to put together other pieces of the story of people lives and what really happened.

Classic literature :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spoon River Anthology, 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came across this book by accident after reading one of the poems from it in another book and was surprised at how striking and fresh this collection was. The conceit of the book is that the inhabitants of Spoon River cemetery recall, in very plain and honest language, their lives and loves. Many of the characters must surely have been based on real people, including the relatives who were still living. Apparently, although Spoon River is a fictional place, it was an amalgam of three towns Edgar Lee Masters knew well and, as a small town lawyer, that must have included the intimate lives of many inhabitants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a delight!, 15 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. John Ryan (LONDON UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a delightful 113 pages of voices from the past. Two hundred and fourteen voices, no less. Each one a delight, do go and get this little volume
which will introduce Edgar Lee Masters. This is a volume for sheer verbal pleasure . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting collection giving and insight to times past., 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spoon River Anthology (Start Publishing) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting collection giving and insight to times past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American masterwork, 10 Sept. 2010
By 
M. Brown (Cardiff United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Robert Frost was easily one of the most overrated poets ever (his work is quite embarrassing). Spoon River Anthology, on the other hand, is a great American work, and a priceless portrait of American living at the time. The other review is completely misleading. Anyone who cares about seminal writing on American life should own this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good,, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stirring epitaphs? No; dead boring., 11 Nov. 2005
By 
Peter Reeve (Thousand Oaks, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
If you get an edition that includes The Spooniad and the Epilogue, then you will have three bad works of poetry to plough through, the last two blessedly short.
The idea is a good one; a series of monologues from dead former townspeople, touching the major incidents of their lives, many of them connected, sometimes in surprising ways. But Masters is just not a good enough poet. He attempts blank verse monologues in the style of Robert Frost (as in North of Boston) but succeeds only in demonstrating how difficult a form it is and how it takes the brilliance of someone like Frost to pull it off. I can see that a few of them are worthwhile and would themselves make good anthology pieces, but mostly they are simply second rate prose poems of no consequence.
In my review of Winesburg, Ohio I compared Sherwood Anderson unfavorably with Masters, saying that he lacked Masters' humanity. But, like most people, I suspect, I had only read selections from Spoon River. Now that I have paddled the length of it, I can tell you it is meandering, flows very slowly, and contains very little life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spoon River Anthology (Start Publishing)
£0.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews