Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankenstein
I absolutely loved this book. There wasn't a dull moment throughout and it played with your emotions from start to finish.
Published 6 months ago by Hannah

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Very slow, too much leading in to start of story...
Published 14 days ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankenstein, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein (The Original 1818 'Uncensored' Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely loved this book. There wasn't a dull moment throughout and it played with your emotions from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a sorry tale., 12 Nov 2013
By 
P. Connell "Phill." (Rochdale, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein (The Original 1818 'Uncensored' Edition) (Kindle Edition)
If all you know about Frankenstein is from other people who haven't read the book either, save yourself a load of misinformation and just read it. It's horrifying, yes, but it's also so, so sad. A great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Despair & disparity, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein (The Original 1818 'Uncensored' Edition) (Kindle Edition)
When you first think about Frankenstein & his creation via the movies, you're shown the hideous & monstrous side of the daemon. Through reading the 'Mary Shelley' actual story, you can emmpathise with the creature; It had no knowledge of right or wrong, was spurned by his creator and by whoever it met as it was too repulsive. Yet, it only tried to befriend them, tried to be kind yet they didn't want to know. The phrase 'beauty's only skin deep' applies. So having nobody to turn to, what would you do? I loved this book as it showed me that the real monsters that live among us can be, if not more frightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein (The Original 1818 'Uncensored' Edition) (Kindle Edition)
not what I expected, nothing like the movies of my childhood. I enjoyed most of the book odd times a bit to much rambling but saying that was a good read & gets you thinking as to how long ago it was written, it was sad but I was prepared as had read reviews that had said that. all in all I enjoyed this book & think others would to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just right!, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein (The Original 1818 'Uncensored' Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Just as I'd hoped. Takes me back to my school days! So good to read the real story as it would have been written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein (The Original 1818 'Uncensored' Edition) (Kindle Edition)
A creepy chilling classic of the monstrous variety - and it's completely uncensored and in its original form!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein (The Original 1818 'Uncensored' Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Very slow, too much leading in to start of story...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein (The Original 1818 'Uncensored' Edition) (Kindle Edition)
cant wait to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein (The Original 1818 'Uncensored' Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I have thought about reading this classic for many years, often curious as to how accurately the various dramatisations that have been made over the years compare to the original book.
I now realise that most of the movies bore little or no resemblance to the book. I can understand why as they needed at least some elements of interest to make them entertaining!
I found the book flat and insipid with absolutely no attempt to describe in any detail how the monster was created. The theory that the monster became able to speak in a most erudite manner merely by listening to the conversations of a family for about a year is ridiculous as is the monster's ability to follow his creator everywhere, even overseas. Whole details and explanations are missed out whilst pages and pages are devoted to describing either people's feelings or the geography of the surroundings. I guess that these 2 subjects were the only one's of which the author had any knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews