Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars40
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2014
I finally got round to reading the novel after watching the National Theatre production at our local cinema. It was nothing like I imagined from the popular images and old horror films. This is a very thought provoking novel that makes you think about what it means to be human and how we react to things we don't understand or find frightening.

If you haven't read this novel because you think it's a scary horror story then think again. It can be an uncomfortable read at times but it's also very touching.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
If all you know about Frankenstein is from other people who haven't read the book either, save yourself a load of misinformation and just read it. It's horrifying, yes, but it's also so, so sad. A great book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
not what I expected, nothing like the movies of my childhood. I enjoyed most of the book odd times a bit to much rambling but saying that was a good read & gets you thinking as to how long ago it was written, it was sad but I was prepared as had read reviews that had said that. all in all I enjoyed this book & think others would to.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Victor grew up reading the works of Paracelsus, Agrippa, and Albertus Magnus, the alchemists of the time. Toss in a little natural philosophy (sciences) and you have the making of a monster. Or at least a being that after being spurned for looking ugly becomes ugly. So for revenge the creature decides unless Victor makes another (female this time) creature, that Victor will also suffer the loss of friends and relatives. What is victor to do? Bow to the wishes and needs of his creation? Or challenge it to the death? What would you do?

Although the concept of the monster is good, and the conflicts of the story well thought out, Shelly suffers from the writing style of the time. Many people do not finish the book as the language is stilted and verbose for example when was the last time you said, "Little did I then expect the calamity that was in a few moments to overwhelm me and extinguish in horror and despair all fear of ignominy of death."

Much of the book seems like travel log filler. More time describing the surroundings of Europe than the reason for traveling or just traveling. Many writers use traveling to reflect time passing or the character growing in stature or knowledge. In this story they just travel a lot.

This book is definitely worth plodding through for moviegoers. The record needs to be set strait. First shock is that the creator is named Victor Frankenstein; the creature is just "monster" not Frankenstein. And it is Victor that is backwards which added in him doing the impossible by not knowing any better. The monster is well read in "Sorrows of a Young Werther," "Paradise Lost," and Plutarch's "Lives." The debate (mixed with a few murders) rages on as to whether the monster was doing evil because of his nature or because he was spurned?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 February 2016
This year is the 200th anniversary of the occasion when Mary Shelley, her husband Percy, Byron and John Polydori spent a bleak summer evening on the shores of Lake Geneva, challenging each other to tell horror stories. Mary Shelley's nightmare became the novel that was eventually published two years later in 1818. This edition is that original version; whereas the edition most commonly read these days, and which I have read before, is the revised 1831 version produced when Mary had experienced several family tragedies that led to a more fatalistic outlook. This original version is raw and powerful, stark in its portrayal of misery and despair and depiction of the deaths the monster causes; yet, despite the monster's crimes, one can sympathise with it when it observes the family of Felix and Agatha, and desperately wants to be accepted into the warmth of human society, but instead is spurned in horror and disgust. This is drama and despair at its peak; yet, at the same time, the novel's contrasting descriptions of the beautiful scenery of the Alps are moving and sublime. Brilliant writing throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
I absolutely loved this book. There wasn't a dull moment throughout and it played with your emotions from start to finish.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
What a different world the book from the film or films. The creature is different from Karlof . Read and see the sympathy for actors in the drama. Who is good or evil?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
Reading this was a strange experience. With hardly any recognizable content for the reader who has "learned" the story from old Hammer movies it is odd that the cover image of the monster is taken from such a movie yet doesn't resemble the image created by Shelly in the book.
The language is quaint an at times one is inclined to skip over some of the detailed descriptions of scenes etc. But this is a sad tale with well drawn characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
Extremely depressing and tragic, this is one of my new favourites. Frankenstein's monster is one the the most beautiful, heartbreaking characters I have read with his creator being one of the most sly villains, causing everyone around him to believe his monster is a demon and it is all solely his fault.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
I am enjoying it and am about half way through. It's a bit far fetched but I am reading it because it was written in 1818. I am reading old books on Kindle and am amazed how similar life was in those days. People don't change. Also suggest Robinson Crusoe which is earlier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)