Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fantastic
This is a really gripping music industry film , with so much reality and so enjoyable to watch. If you are a budding musician it will enthuse you onwards to aim for greater things. I play drums in a band and we gig, this film just makes you want to practice and do just more off what you inwardly love to do daily. I blatantly shows what it is all about and why you do it...
Published 21 months ago by Rich

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than i expected
I was a little put off when i started to watch the film, what with the long list of cliches that grohl rolls off at the beginning of the film as the introduction to the documentary, but i was glad that i kept on with it. Really interesting bits of musical history.
Published 20 months ago by silentbee


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love it !!!, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great DVD - and as a huge Foos fan, a great opportunity to drool over the gorgeous Mr Grohl !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love real music? Love this film, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A feast of Rock icons share their passion for a little place where legendary music was made. The 'sound' of Sound city has a new lease of life with Dave Grohl investing in the kit on which Neil Young, Johnny Cash and Metalica produced some of the world's greatest music. Grohl's own Nirvana produced Nevermind here in 1991 - I was always going to love this film. Thank you Mr Grohl for your passion for real music made the good old fashioned way. 1969 was a very good year for many reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
As expected, it was a brilliant, moving film. Very Well done Dave. A must watch film for any music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars grohl!!!!!!!!!!!!, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
One of the best music doco's ever! Plus the legend that is grohl. a must see for REAL music fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sound city fantastic, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I really loved this movie doc. it was very good giving u a insight into the studio world,would recomend it never tire of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!!!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I knew little about Sound city other than seeing a trailer for this rockumentary. What can I say? Absolutely awesome! I know Dave Grohl is a fantastic musician but this clearly shows he is more than that. Go on peeps, if you like your music and your history, buy this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must-see documentary, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Simply put, if you care about music, you like Dave Grohl and you like documentaries, this is not to be missed. It provides a really interesting and moving account of some amazing stories surrounding the studio's history, plus awesome extra footage of the musicians recording songs for the accompanying CD in full. Brilliant stuff - has inspired me to make my own documentary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
If you are interested in recording rock music, like me, then this is an absolute must for you. Dave Grohl is an excellent host and has a real passion for music and recording and this he conveys. The guy is living the dream, jamming with Paul Macartney, Stevie Nicks and othere greats and making a film about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sound City Rules, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Well, where do I start.
This first directing gig for Dave Grohl is a marvel.
It's a passionate movie sharing the experiences of some of the greats that recorded there.
The movie is broken down into history of sound city, and the subsequent recording done at Daves studio.
Well done to all involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, arrived in perfect condition, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great film, arrived in perfect condition. Good packaging although arrived a day later than stated. Also, English subtitles weren't an option as described. Overall, good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013]
Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] by Dave Grohl (Blu-ray - 2013)
£12.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews