Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fantastic
This is a really gripping music industry film , with so much reality and so enjoyable to watch. If you are a budding musician it will enthuse you onwards to aim for greater things. I play drums in a band and we gig, this film just makes you want to practice and do just more off what you inwardly love to do daily. I blatantly shows what it is all about and why you do it...
Published on 17 Mar. 2013 by Rich

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than i expected
I was a little put off when i started to watch the film, what with the long list of cliches that grohl rolls off at the beginning of the film as the introduction to the documentary, but i was glad that i kept on with it. Really interesting bits of musical history.
Published on 12 April 2013 by silentbee


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
By 
Vincent Houle "El Vincenzo" (Montreal, Qc, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
What a documentary! God is Dave!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sound City YEh man, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I saw tis film on the TV and wanted a permanent copy, I have watched this several times now and still can't believe how many bands recorded on this desk....the music of my youth from Fleetwood mac to nirvana and the foos. And now Dave Grolh has this desk in his own studio........................................................................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film!, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Highly recommended to those who are into the music of the time and also those who are interested in the process of making and producing music. I gave it to my son who is a sound engineer and he loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds good to me, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I thought this would be all about Big Dave but it isn't. It's a very balanced, interesting documentary and If you're a music lover then you should watch this. The first thing I did after watching this was pick up my guitar and start rattling some strings. Inspirational and informative. The extras are pretty sweet also. You get to see the various artists recording their tracks with Dave and you see them in a different light. They're very down to earth and I would buy this just to see the extra bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best music documentary ever made - period., 26 April 2014
By 
KevH (Southern UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Without doubt the most entertaining and interesting music documentary ever made. Superbly shot and brilliantly narrated, a true testament to Grohl's many talents and passion for music. I'm convinced he was the real brains behind Nirvana.
The last part of the film, in the studio recording for the album is just sublime, seeing so many great names involved makes it more so, and the extras are just as good. A must own for any musician or fan of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleasant, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
This documentary weaves several different themes into one another seamlessly in a beautiful story of a record label that has definitely touched your life unless you've been living in a cave somewhere in Afghanistan since 1970. The documentary uses a specific piece of technology - the Neve mixer as a corner stone around which the story of music and people are anchored. Essential watching for anyone interested in the modern history of music. It is remarkably informative and makes connections between people groups and styles of music that are both surprising and captivating. It's examination of music technology is fascinating regardless of whether you are watching as someone who enjoys the featured music or not. The soundtrack itself is a catalogue of favourites that have by now been mostly forgotten by the mainstream media. Unfortunately the documentary does become a little self-indulgent and sentimental by going beyond the history and filming the making of a new tribute album which is heavy in feeling, completely empty in lyrical content and stinking to high heaven with ego.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sound City perfection, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I'm a big fan of the foo-fighters and of Dave Grohl. His no nonsense approach is brilliant and his love of music knows no bounds. It shines through on this film and I loved it, his passion to make this project work and to get musicians on board really makes this film and the soundtrack that comes with it a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Bought this as a gift for my son ( 39) he really loves it.. Just a really good watch well put together and shows a different side to many of the artists appearing in this documentary.. Would recommend this DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sound city dvd, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Having watched it on channel 4 a month ago I just had to order it on dvd it was a very documentary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the rise and fall of sound city studio, 22 Feb. 2014
By 
swampdodger (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
a very interesting and well done rockumentary on the infamous "SOUND CITY"recording studio, written by Dave Grohl it covers the studio from its humble beginnings in the late 60`s thru to Dave buying the original desk and inviting former sound city recording artists to JAM once more ,includes Stevie Nicks ,Matt Goss, Paul Mcartney,and josh homme to name but a few, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013]
Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] by Dave Grohl (Blu-ray - 2013)
£16.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews