Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fantastic
This is a really gripping music industry film , with so much reality and so enjoyable to watch. If you are a budding musician it will enthuse you onwards to aim for greater things. I play drums in a band and we gig, this film just makes you want to practice and do just more off what you inwardly love to do daily. I blatantly shows what it is all about and why you do it...
Published 21 months ago by Rich

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than i expected
I was a little put off when i started to watch the film, what with the long list of cliches that grohl rolls off at the beginning of the film as the introduction to the documentary, but i was glad that i kept on with it. Really interesting bits of musical history.
Published 20 months ago by silentbee


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fantastic, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a really gripping music industry film , with so much reality and so enjoyable to watch. If you are a budding musician it will enthuse you onwards to aim for greater things. I play drums in a band and we gig, this film just makes you want to practice and do just more off what you inwardly love to do daily. I blatantly shows what it is all about and why you do it . Thank you Dave Grohl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sound city, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Totally excellent film from Dave Grohl of foo fighters about the place where Nirvanas nevermind was recorded in 16 days. Part historical documentary as so much great music was made at sound city ,Fleetwood Mac acquired Stevie Nicks and Lindsay Buckingham whilst recording their 1975 Album and the interviews are fascinating . There are also contributions from Neil Young,Tom Petty,Lee Ving,Trent Reznor, Corey Taylor and Frank Black as well as what remains of Nirvana recording cut me some slack with Paul McCartney. John Fogerty and Rick Neilson also feature, along with members of Queen of The Stone age . In terms of rock documentarys it doesnt get any better and the new music is very special , really enjoyed McCartney, Stevie Nicks and Coray Taylor though its all good.
Dave bought the soundboard and the film maps the creative process in making the music and not being afraid to take risks and explore new territory . In reality this film is a vehicle for musical creativity and excellence of vision, though overall the plaudits belong to Dave Grohl for placing his enthusiasim on the screen in a very honest truthful manner . In addition the various producers, owners and employees of Sound City tell the story in a forthright and interesting manner which delights the viewer and is a first rate watch. Its warm , creative and a wonderful film with an incredible soundtrack bringing the music right up to date. I thoroughly enjoyed this and if rock music is one of your passions you will too, in addition its humerous too not taking itself too seriously,well done Dave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and Uplifting, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
This directorial debut from Dave Grohl is both an homage to a centre of musical excellence and a tribute to some of the amazing artists who recorded some landmark works there, some of whom return to record new tracks for this documentary and accompanying CD soundtrack.

Rather than merely a series of fascinating talking heads, Grohl shows real flair as a film-maker, both in his framing and editing, and it is this panache which lifts 'Sound City' above the standards of your average rockumentary and gives it immediate 'classic' status.

It's a very moving piece of work, a real labour of love for Grohl, and reveals some fascinating facts about this oasis of genius in the San Fernando Valley as well as some memorable anecdotes from the coterie of stars interviewed.

Stand out moments have to be the recollections from Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks - their one and only infamous 'Buckingham Nicks' LP, before joining and transforming Fleetwood Mac, was the first ever to be recorded at the studio - and it's quite a tear-jerker to see the ever-wonderful Nicks record a breathtaking new track for this film which expresses her deep sadness at the loss of her godson to a heroin overdose last year.

All in all, this is not to be missed, and the high quality widescreen, 5.1 blu-ray contains an exclusive 45 minutes of extra footage which is just as unmissable as the 107 minute movie itself.

Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for rock and documentary fans, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Dave Grohl has brought a great story to DVD. Sound City has had a lot of great albums recorded there and this delves into the history from the very start of the recording studios life to it's sad demise.

Lots of interviews with artists and staff give an intriguing look behind the studios.

Really enjoyed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sound City DVD, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great DVD about the history of sound recording in the 70's. A great watch, with different bands and clips I have not seen before. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great documentary which shows the time, effort and real talent that goes into making real music.Technology is no substitute for real talent and real music. Would recommend to anyone who is interested in music and rock history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big thank you to Dave Grohl, 24 July 2013
By 
Tomas Richter (Prague, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
When the Judgment Day comes, this documentary film might actually weigh more on Dave Grohl's scales than what he had done as a musician.

This is in no way meant to belittle his musical contribution, but rather to stress the incredible amount of research and work that obviously went into this chronicle of American rock history 1969 - 2013, written and shot on the backdrop of a life story of a Neve recording console. (Granted, Grohl took what some might find an oversize part in the second half of that chronicle, but then he kind of deserves it, doesn't he?).

We should all send a cheque and a big thank you note to Dave Grohl for capturing this history, which is what I am doing right now.

TR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than i expected, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I was a little put off when i started to watch the film, what with the long list of cliches that grohl rolls off at the beginning of the film as the introduction to the documentary, but i was glad that i kept on with it. Really interesting bits of musical history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all music fans!, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Taryll Baker (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Wow. I just finished watching this. I read some reviews before hand and saw that everyone was raving about it, so I decided I'd buy it finally on Blu-ray. I was blown away with this amazing documentary directed by the one and only Dave Grohl! It spends the first hour explaining the history of the Sound City recording studio, and which artists were involved in the rise of this legendary studio. Then for the final 45 minutes it shows Dave Grohl, and many other artists like Trent Reznor, Paul McCartney and many more actually in Grohl's studio recording the soundtrack for this documentary on the mixing board that was used in the Sound City recording studios. Overall, a definite buy for any up-comers in the music industry, or just music fans in general. I give it 5 stars! Absolutely amazing, one of the most incredible and inspirational documentaries I've ever watched. Go and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent documentary. Really interesting, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Excellent documentary. Really interesting. And full of cool people and cool,surprising stuff.
Is there anything Dave Grohl makes that isn't amazing? No, the answers no!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013]
Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] by Dave Grohl (Blu-ray - 2013)
£13.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews