Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fantastic
This is a really gripping music industry film , with so much reality and so enjoyable to watch. If you are a budding musician it will enthuse you onwards to aim for greater things. I play drums in a band and we gig, this film just makes you want to practice and do just more off what you inwardly love to do daily. I blatantly shows what it is all about and why you do it...
Published on 17 Mar. 2013 by Rich

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than i expected
I was a little put off when i started to watch the film, what with the long list of cliches that grohl rolls off at the beginning of the film as the introduction to the documentary, but i was glad that i kept on with it. Really interesting bits of musical history.
Published on 12 April 2013 by silentbee


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fantastic, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a really gripping music industry film , with so much reality and so enjoyable to watch. If you are a budding musician it will enthuse you onwards to aim for greater things. I play drums in a band and we gig, this film just makes you want to practice and do just more off what you inwardly love to do daily. I blatantly shows what it is all about and why you do it . Thank you Dave Grohl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sound city, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Totally excellent film from Dave Grohl of foo fighters about the place where Nirvanas nevermind was recorded in 16 days. Part historical documentary as so much great music was made at sound city ,Fleetwood Mac acquired Stevie Nicks and Lindsay Buckingham whilst recording their 1975 Album and the interviews are fascinating . There are also contributions from Neil Young,Tom Petty,Lee Ving,Trent Reznor, Corey Taylor and Frank Black as well as what remains of Nirvana recording cut me some slack with Paul McCartney. John Fogerty and Rick Neilson also feature, along with members of Queen of The Stone age . In terms of rock documentarys it doesnt get any better and the new music is very special , really enjoyed McCartney, Stevie Nicks and Coray Taylor though its all good.
Dave bought the soundboard and the film maps the creative process in making the music and not being afraid to take risks and explore new territory . In reality this film is a vehicle for musical creativity and excellence of vision, though overall the plaudits belong to Dave Grohl for placing his enthusiasim on the screen in a very honest truthful manner . In addition the various producers, owners and employees of Sound City tell the story in a forthright and interesting manner which delights the viewer and is a first rate watch. Its warm , creative and a wonderful film with an incredible soundtrack bringing the music right up to date. I thoroughly enjoyed this and if rock music is one of your passions you will too, in addition its humerous too not taking itself too seriously,well done Dave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and Uplifting, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
This directorial debut from Dave Grohl is both an homage to a centre of musical excellence and a tribute to some of the amazing artists who recorded some landmark works there, some of whom return to record new tracks for this documentary and accompanying CD soundtrack.

Rather than merely a series of fascinating talking heads, Grohl shows real flair as a film-maker, both in his framing and editing, and it is this panache which lifts 'Sound City' above the standards of your average rockumentary and gives it immediate 'classic' status.

It's a very moving piece of work, a real labour of love for Grohl, and reveals some fascinating facts about this oasis of genius in the San Fernando Valley as well as some memorable anecdotes from the coterie of stars interviewed.

Stand out moments have to be the recollections from Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks - their one and only infamous 'Buckingham Nicks' LP, before joining and transforming Fleetwood Mac, was the first ever to be recorded at the studio - and it's quite a tear-jerker to see the ever-wonderful Nicks record a breathtaking new track for this film which expresses her deep sadness at the loss of her godson to a heroin overdose last year.

All in all, this is not to be missed, and the high quality widescreen, 5.1 blu-ray contains an exclusive 45 minutes of extra footage which is just as unmissable as the 107 minute movie itself.

Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for rock and documentary fans, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Dave Grohl has brought a great story to DVD. Sound City has had a lot of great albums recorded there and this delves into the history from the very start of the recording studios life to it's sad demise.

Lots of interviews with artists and staff give an intriguing look behind the studios.

Really enjoyed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big thank you to Dave Grohl, 24 July 2013
By 
Tomas Richter (Prague, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
When the Judgment Day comes, this documentary film might actually weigh more on Dave Grohl's scales than what he had done as a musician.

This is in no way meant to belittle his musical contribution, but rather to stress the incredible amount of research and work that obviously went into this chronicle of American rock history 1969 - 2013, written and shot on the backdrop of a life story of a Neve recording console. (Granted, Grohl took what some might find an oversize part in the second half of that chronicle, but then he kind of deserves it, doesn't he?).

We should all send a cheque and a big thank you note to Dave Grohl for capturing this history, which is what I am doing right now.

TR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sound City DVD, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great DVD about the history of sound recording in the 70's. A great watch, with different bands and clips I have not seen before. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleasant, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
This documentary weaves several different themes into one another seamlessly in a beautiful story of a record label that has definitely touched your life unless you've been living in a cave somewhere in Afghanistan since 1970. The documentary uses a specific piece of technology - the Neve mixer as a corner stone around which the story of music and people are anchored. Essential watching for anyone interested in the modern history of music. It is remarkably informative and makes connections between people groups and styles of music that are both surprising and captivating. It's examination of music technology is fascinating regardless of whether you are watching as someone who enjoys the featured music or not. The soundtrack itself is a catalogue of favourites that have by now been mostly forgotten by the mainstream media. Unfortunately the documentary does become a little self-indulgent and sentimental by going beyond the history and filming the making of a new tribute album which is heavy in feeling, completely empty in lyrical content and stinking to high heaven with ego.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!!, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
As an avid fan of the Foo Fighters and everything that Dave Grohl touches, I simply had to see this film when it came out. Not sure what to expect, I was treated to the story of Sound City from it's inception in the 1960s, through Fleetwood Mac, Rick Springfield, Nirvana and Slipknot, to it's closure in 2011. A real in-depth documentary, Grohl interviews musicians who have recorded there, as well as engineers and producers who helped shape the music that came out the door. Brilliant insights make for compelling viewing, which culminates in all the stars of the show going round to Grohl's house to record an album. Even this is brilliantly interesting, seeing all these famous faces coming together to record and mull over their musical greatness.

For any curious music fan, Sound City is a great watch, showing how music has evolved through the decades and how a music studio in California was right in the heart of it. Very, very good!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a contrast, 22 Jun. 2013
By 
C. Quin (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Compared to the recent rockumentary by Eagles frontmen Frey and Henley this effort from Mr Grohl is a real treat.

This is actually a bizarre statement from me as I do like the Eagles music and seriously dislike Nirvana (really showing my age here child of the sixties/seventies)

At the end of the Eagles film I ended up really not liking the film or its self serving protagonists, while feeling sympathy for some of their ex-band mates. At the end of this film I have a great deal of respect for Mr Grohl, who has resisted the temptation to make a film about himself and make the Studio and the people that ran it the stars. He also plays a blinder by rescuing the Neve console and giving it a new lease of life.

The film makes it clear that there is a massive amount of interesting and moving history associated with the world of rock - it is a shame that most telling of that story fall way short of this worthy effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than i expected, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound City [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I was a little put off when i started to watch the film, what with the long list of cliches that grohl rolls off at the beginning of the film as the introduction to the documentary, but i was glad that i kept on with it. Really interesting bits of musical history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013]
Sound City [Blu-ray] [2013] by Dave Grohl (Blu-ray - 2013)
£16.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews