Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple - Nobody's Perfect
Nobody's Perfect is a live album from Deep Purple, released in 1988 and featuring the much celebrated MKII line up, in the middle of their successful 1980s reunion.

The album contains a selection of material from their then two most recent albums, The House Of Blue Light and Perfect Strangers in addition to all the old favourites from the 70s like 'Space...
Published on 13 July 2011 by Kingcrimsonprog

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect issue
I was disappointed receiving this album from Amazon... :-(.
It was like I came back to Russia in 1990s when the most popular way to buy CDs was to go to the black market, so called 'Gorbushka'...
There is no a booklet inside but just simple cover. When you open it you can see only... black "inlay". No information about the album, songs and the authors...
Published 14 months ago by Andrey Guskov


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect issue, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody's Perfect (2CD digitally remastered) (Audio CD)
I was disappointed receiving this album from Amazon... :-(.
It was like I came back to Russia in 1990s when the most popular way to buy CDs was to go to the black market, so called 'Gorbushka'...
There is no a booklet inside but just simple cover. When you open it you can see only... black "inlay". No information about the album, songs and the authors... Yes, the track list is placed on the back cover but that is all!
I can't understand why should I go tho the Internet to find the information I awaited to see inside:

Disc one

"Highway Star" - 6:10
Irvine Meadows, California on 23 May 1987
"Strange Kind of Woman" - 7:34
Irvine Meadows, California on 23 May 1987
"Dead or Alive" (Blackmore, Gillan, Glover) - 7:05 *
Milan, Italy on 4 September 1987
"Perfect Strangers" (Blackmore, Gillan, Glover) - 6:24
Irvine Meadows, California on 23 May 1987
"Hard Lovin' Woman" (Blackmore, Gillan, Glover) - 5:03
Oslo, Norway on 22 August 1987
"Bad Attitude" (Blackmore, Gillan, Glover, Lord) - 5:30 *
Phoenix, Arizona on 30 May 1987
"Knocking at Your Back Door" (Blackmore, Gillan, Glover) - 11:24
Phoenix, Arizona on 30 May 1987

Disc two

"Child in Time" - 10:36
Phoenix, Arizona on 30 May 1987 and Oslo, Norway on 22 August 1987
"Lazy" - 5:10
Phoenix, Arizona on 30 May 1987
"Space Truckin'" - 6:02 *
Oslo, Norway on 22 August 1987
"Black Night" - 6:06
Verona, Italy on 6 September 1987 and Oslo, Norway on 22 August 1987
"Woman from Tokyo" - 3:59
Irvine Meadows, California on 23 May 1987
"Smoke on the Water" - 7:43
Oslo, Norway on 22 August 1987
"Hush" (Joe South) - 3:32
Live Jam at Hook End Manor on 26 February 1988

* - Tracks indicated with asterisk only originally appear on the 1988 2LP release, except "Dead Or Alive" which appeared on the cassette version of the album. All these indicated tracks were included on the 1999 2CD remaster.

It could also be useful to compare it with the original 1988 CD version:

"Highway Star" - 6:10
"Strange Kind of Woman" - 7:34
"Perfect Strangers" - 6:25
"Hard Lovin' Woman" - 5:03
"Knocking at Your Back Door" - 11:26
"Child in Time" - 10:35
"Lazy" - 5:10
"Black Night" - 6:06
"Woman from Tokyo" - 4:00
"Smoke on the Water" - 7:46
"Hush" - 3:30

I guess that it would be useful to put the information about the tracks and where they were performed at the Amazon site.
I like Deep Purple,
I like the songs on this album,
but I do not like this issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple - Nobody's Perfect, 13 July 2011
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nobody`s Perfect (Audio CD)
Nobody's Perfect is a live album from Deep Purple, released in 1988 and featuring the much celebrated MKII line up, in the middle of their successful 1980s reunion.

The album contains a selection of material from their then two most recent albums, The House Of Blue Light and Perfect Strangers in addition to all the old favourites from the 70s like 'Space Truckin,' 'Smoke On The Water,' and 'Black Night.'

In terms of performance, the band were really on to something here, Blackmore and Lord add furious extra solos and alternative sections in, Glover and Paice hammer the rhythm home, and give the whole proceedings a different mood than on the 70s live stuff, different but still good and therefor worth an investigative listen at the very least. In addition to the band playing superbly, Ian Gillian's vocals are on top form indeed, in addition to his sense of humour(between and sometimes during songs, like during 'Woman From Tokyo,' for example)

The sound is really clear, fairly punchy and its mixed fairly well. The combination of a good track listing, good sound and good performance is what makes a good live album in my book so I'd definitely recommend this.

There are a hell of a lot of Deep Purple live albums available, but if you liked the band's work in the 80s, then this live album is a definite must buy... and still very worth a listen even if you don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Burn to order CDR, 11 April 2014
By 
C. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody's Perfect (2CD digitally remastered) (Audio CD)
It is not a comment on the music itself - but a word of warning this not a commercially pressed Compact Disc but a burn to order CDR by Amazon, disappointing that this is not mentioned on the product description, and it would explain the comments made about the lack of a proper booklet by other reviewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why the long faces?, 7 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Nobody's Perfect (Audio CD)
This album has been slagged off by Purple fans, Purple members, and even Polydor employees. Even given the ironic title, it's hard to see why this is the case. All I can surmise is that Made in Japan is iconic, and near-perfect, and people just won't allow it to be bettered. And, while that's understandable, it also obscures what is another near-perfect live lp!

That's not to say it's better than MiJ, of course. Even Strangers in the Night and Live & Dangerous are not actually superior to the Purple album, which was probably the first of its kind - hard rock live, and knocking spots off its studio counterparts. But there are tracks on Nobody's Perfect that arguably do exceed their brothers on Made in Japan.

Lazy, for instance, is sharper and fresher in this case. It's fast and breezy, and a complete gas. It also lacks the old intro, so Jon Lord himself may have decided that 'less was more' in 1987. Smoke on the Water also benefits from the more streamlined approach ('though I do miss the great organ solo). Child in Time I would class as on a par with the Made in Japan take; it has as much atmosphere, the rhythm section is inspired, Blackmore is having a blast, and the vocals are breathtaking.

Where MiJ wins hands down is on Highway Star, whose the sense of exhilaration is NOT recaptured on NP, on Strange Kind of Woman (MiJ's version is literally perfect), and on Space Truckin' - the newer version adds nothing to the Machine Head template.

But Nobody's Perfect still has a life of its own. The newer songs sound inspired, and played with the verve of a band hitting its second peak. Gillan had grown as a frontman, and his humour is infectious. Chris Welch at Metal Hammer certainly appreciated this album, awarding it 5 stars. I'm doing the same! The only fault I can find is that Woman from Tokyo, which ironically didn't make the setlist in the '70s, is truncated and a bit directionless here; such a great song deserves better. But that's almost a token criticism. This album is the business.

Oh, and the '88 take of Hush? It's brilliant, as is the chicken!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's on the second CD ?, 9 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Nobody's Perfect (2CD digitally remastered) (Audio CD)
Come on Amazon, some information would be good, what is on the second CD, what's different from the original album ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent live album, 16 May 2012
By 
The Splodge. (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody`s Perfect (Audio CD)
All good, I just didn't like the fades between songs. Could have done a better job of editing but this does not make it a disaster. Purple feels like they are having fun here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 out 5, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody's Perfect (2CD digitally remastered) (Audio CD)
I love deep purple and this cd is a very good it would have got 5 stars but all the crowd fade in fade out realy spoils the show great to hear hush with ian gillan .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody`s Perfect (Audio CD)
great product at a great price - recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blackmore & Co crank it up., 13 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Nobody`s Perfect (Audio CD)
Why people write this album off i will never know ! . This is purple with lots off inner friction...brilliant !!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all, 17 Mar. 2014
By 
David West "David West" (Hebron, KY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nobody's Perfect (2CD digitally remastered) (Audio CD)
Nobody's perfect... That's true of anyone but that it was chosen as the title of this horrid barrel scraping is nothing short of a plot spoiler. It's just painful to listen to and, barring contractual obligations, there can have been no earthly reason for this to be put out.
The Blue Light material holds up fairly well but that's about it. All in all, it's a snapshot of a band already in decline. A miserable experience.
For the other reviewer, though I expect he's found out by now, there's nothing here that wasn't there before.
Only for the diehards. Like me.

Postscript: I rarely put something out that I don't check first but that I could have blundered with regard to the content is only a testimony to how bad I think the album is. I haven't taken this off the shelf in so long, I can't even remember what edition I have. I assume it's this since a 2 CD version is how I remember it. It makes no difference. I'm not double-dipping with this. It IS bad.
A complete track listing can be found on Wikipedia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nobody's Perfect (2CD digitally remastered)
Nobody's Perfect (2CD digitally remastered) by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews