Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite up to the level of excellence of the first season, but it comes close.
For the first 5 episodes, season 2 grows convincingly and compellingly ever darker, while staying in the bounds of
reality it had established, But them it pulls back from the precipice of true tragedy (which admittedly would have
left it nowhere to go if there had been a season 3), and becomes a little more melodramatic, a little more improbable,
Still...
Published 16 months ago by K. Gordon

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Region code disaster!
Warning! US-imported Boss season 2 does not run on a region 2 blu-ray player. My purchase was in vain, bitterness prevails! Other US-imported dvds work without any problems, though. I'm afraid Amazon is not going to take back unwrapped blu-rays!
Published 14 months ago by Hendrix


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite up to the level of excellence of the first season, but it comes close., 5 Aug 2013
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
For the first 5 episodes, season 2 grows convincingly and compellingly ever darker, while staying in the bounds of
reality it had established, But them it pulls back from the precipice of true tragedy (which admittedly would have
left it nowhere to go if there had been a season 3), and becomes a little more melodramatic, a little more improbable,
Still compelling and entertaining, but a bit more pulpy, a bit less Shakespearian, But, none-the-less this was one of
the better series in recent TV that no one seemed to ever watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Boss" Season 2 on BLU RAY - *** Compatibility Problems With UK Players ***, 1 May 2013
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
"Boss" has picked up a legion of rabid/dedicated fans - with most of them stumbling on this brilliantly written and acted American politics TV show on Channel 4 earlier in 2013. And with its heavy reliance on close-up shots of people's faces - the city of Chicago as a back drop - and it being shot in HI DEF - "Boss" is ideal BLU RAY fodder. But for "UK" buyers therein lies a problem...

As of now (December 2013) neither Season 1 nor Season 2 on BLU RAY is available in the UK - only in Region 1 America. Unfortunately - both US sets are REGION-A-LOCKED - and therefore will not play on UK BLU RAY players unless they're multi-region or chipped to play all (which very few are). Season 1 made it onto DVD in the UK but not BLU RAY.

It's one of Amazon's less than admirable quirks that you can get 500+ reviews about a film - and not one of them actually reviews the product you want to buy. This BLU RAY is a case in point. The reviews are mostly for the show and not if the BLU RAY actually works on our machines.

Bottom Line: neither Season 1 nor Season 2 of "Boss" on American BLU RAY will play on UK BLU RAY players (unless they're multi-region).

Of course the real bummer is that the networks cancelled this riveting 5-star drama (to howls of derision) after only 2 Seasons - even when Kelsey Grammar won awards. Now that really is a shame...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Region code disaster!, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Warning! US-imported Boss season 2 does not run on a region 2 blu-ray player. My purchase was in vain, bitterness prevails! Other US-imported dvds work without any problems, though. I'm afraid Amazon is not going to take back unwrapped blu-rays!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, 16 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boss: Season 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This of course was no use to me at all as it wasnt for the uk market. I think this should be clearly stated when advertised. I had to send it back and was quickly refunded. I was very disappointed as I was really looking forward to seeing series 2 as series 1 was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grammer, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is probably the best tv i,ve ever seen.It is surprising;powerful and absolutely truthful.only two series have been made and I can see why there will not be any more.can it be bettered,or even matched.simply.NO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best TV show ever made, 17 Dec 2013
This review is from: Boss: Season 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is the best TV programme ever made. Kelsey Grammer puts in an awesome performance as the verging on gangster Mayor of Chicago.
Utterly brilliant.
Goodness knows why this was cancelled after 2 series but they do say the best things come in small packages.
Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUALITY PART TWO, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watched the first season before it came to the UK.
Just finished watching season 2.---- Brilliant.
Quality all through - it's a must see,must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boss: Season 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£17.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews