Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Era Gone Forever
Lots of stories and novels from the earlier days of Science Fiction, Horror and Fantasy writing for sale in eBook form on Amazon are freely available at Project Gutenberg and other public domain book websites. Many wily sellers simply get them from there first and take advantage of other people's work to make some easy money off unwary buyers. It would be nice if the...
Published on 20 Mar. 2013 by M. Angus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap interesting collection.
If you love sensational stories give this a go its a great selection of pulp reading material.
Published 8 months ago by Spacecadet


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Era Gone Forever, 20 Mar. 2013
By 
M. Angus (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pulp Fiction Megapack: 25 Classic Pulp Stories (Kindle Edition)
Lots of stories and novels from the earlier days of Science Fiction, Horror and Fantasy writing for sale in eBook form on Amazon are freely available at Project Gutenberg and other public domain book websites. Many wily sellers simply get them from there first and take advantage of other people's work to make some easy money off unwary buyers. It would be nice if the publishers of books like this one would join the create-and-share-for-free volunteers, but I will sometimes make an exception and buy an eBook of public domain stories so long as it is low-priced and contains a few that I can't find elsewhere. I can understand some present-day readers not getting the magic of such old stuff, but for me and many others it is golden. Early authors of these genres - from the Gothic writers of the 1700's to the Victorians and beyond - paved the way for many authors who would follow in their footsteps. Those eras are gone forever, but important as they were in the history of all fantasy literature, the gems and lesser gems that were born of them can live on so long as somebody in each subsequent generation sees their value and promotes them. Hopefully the free literature sites and cheaper eBooks like this one will engender more and more new fans as time goes by, so that such imaginative, influential and entertaining work is never forgotten. eBook makers who claim to love what they're selling should, however, show it by giving away what they have usually gotten at no cost to themselves thanks to the effort and time of others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Pulp Reads, 17 April 2014
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pulp Fiction Megapack: 25 Classic Pulp Stories (Kindle Edition)
Welcome to the world of the pulps with this selection of pulp tales. Pulp fiction, apart from selling cheaper than other fiction due to the original cheapness of the paper and inks used also managed to circumvent some things, thus you have endless pneumatically built women whose clothing seems to fall off. Although their golden days are long past we still hanker over these tales, and there are always newer stories that are still being written.

Pulp fiction, whatever its specific genre otherwise is always fun. These authors were paid by the word and had to churn out masses of stories to keep making money, and thus similarities do occur. And although there are really bad as well as great stories, most of them followed certain themes. This collection here by a number of different authors is relatively good, although I am sure I am not the only person who can think of other stories by these authors that would have been much worthier of inclusion. There is a fantasy adventure tale here, and a few sci-fi and mad scientist type stories, but on the whole this is mainly full of crime tales. Even when it may seem like a horror tale you may find that it is a crime story instead. Indeed a couple of these could be seen as more adult versions of Scooby-Doo mysteries.

With tales that take in nude women, S&M which leads to torture and heinous crimes this is quite a fun read. There is an active table of contents so that you can find any particular tales. At the front of this book it does detail what publication each of these tales first appeared in. I should point out that there are some typos here and there, but not really anything to spoil your reading pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars total pulp, 22 May 2013
By 
This review is from: The Pulp Fiction Megapack: 25 Classic Pulp Stories (Kindle Edition)
This book is exactly what it says it is. Stories at the beginning and for most of the way through are fun pulp but the book runs out of steam for me towards the end and the tales become less interesting. Overall a good read and well worth the cover price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap interesting collection., 30 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pulp Fiction Megapack: 25 Classic Pulp Stories (Kindle Edition)
If you love sensational stories give this a go its a great selection of pulp reading material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pulp Fiction Megapack: 25 Classic Pulp Stories (Kindle Edition)
It's a bit crap, but I didn't hate it. It's pulp fiction for a reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoy this series., 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pulp Fiction Megapack: 25 Classic Pulp Stories (Kindle Edition)
As a long time reader of all sorts of Science Fiction - I rate this series as some of the best. A good assortment most enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bit boring., 30 April 2013
By 
Mrs. SES Briggs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pulp Fiction Megapack: 25 Classic Pulp Stories (Kindle Edition)
I know it said that the stories would be un - p.c - this I could deal with. If fact that was the most entertaining bit about the stories. I NEVER put a book down until I have finished it - but this I had to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews