Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb country album
Asley Monroe is a member of the Pistol Annies. She is a talented songwriter. She has a voice which reminds me a little of Loretta Lynn and Dolly parton. She can sing with gusto and sensitivity. She has a great voice. This album has been a long time coming and is well worth the wait. It is beautifully produced by Vince Gill. It respects the traditions of country music with...
Published 23 months ago by Musicfan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good tunes and arrangements
This has grown on me with repeat playings. Some good tunes and arrangements, a few less memorable, but overall a good addition to my country and western library.
Published 3 months ago by Mr. N. D. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb country album, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
Musicfan (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Like A Rose (Audio CD)
Asley Monroe is a member of the Pistol Annies. She is a talented songwriter. She has a voice which reminds me a little of Loretta Lynn and Dolly parton. She can sing with gusto and sensitivity. She has a great voice. This album has been a long time coming and is well worth the wait. It is beautifully produced by Vince Gill. It respects the traditions of country music with its fiddles whilst being reamining modern as opposed to retro. There is a great duet with Blake Shhelton "You Ain't Dolly". There is the sad, the honky tonk and the amusing. The qulaity of the songs throughout is high so I am not going to pick out any. It is simply a superb modern country album which is country. If you like Sunny Sweeney or the PIstol Annies and or appreciate the music of Loretta Lynn or Dolly Parton, you will enjoy this. This is great country music. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Country Singer, 11 April 2013
By 
Mr. S. Conlon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like A Rose (MP3 Download)
I never heard of Ashley Monroe until I saw a video clip on TV featuring "Like a Rose", a really great country song, then got the album, she is one of the best country singers I have heard in a long time, looking forward to more from this lady
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 23 April 2013
By 
ROBIN Bull "Robbo" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like A Rose (Audio CD)
Having heard Ashley Monroe a couple of times on the radio, I decided to buy this album on the strength of that. It was worth it. Based in the traditional mould, the album is a refreshing change from much of the music released today to a formula. She clearly has talent as a song writer as well as a singer, and I find myself playing this album repeatedly. Strongly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Of Country's Newest Stars, 7 Mar. 2013
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Like A Rose (Audio CD)
Related to country luminaries, The Carter Family and Carl Smith, Ashley Monroe's sophomore album is a honky tonkin' affair full of melodic and literate songs. Produced by Vince Gill, the album features a crack band of Nashville sessionmen contributing Hammond B3, piano, fiddle, dobro, accordion, stand up bass and acoustic, electric and steel guitar. This is the modern sound of traditional country with Ashley's crystal voice sounding at times like a younger Dolly Parton.

She shares songwriting credits with such talents as Guy Clark, Jon Randall and Vince Gill to produce bittersweet, sentimental, amusing and angst ridden songs of heartache. It sounds as though she has packed more into her life than her twenty seven years could possibly contain.

On "Two Weeks Late" she is worried about the possibility of an unwanted pregnancy and the song is drenched with dobro and honky tonk piano:

"And my mother says looks like I've gained some weight.
Landlord's at the door, he says the rent can't wait,
But I'm a dollar short and two weeks late".

"The Morning After" is a song of lost innocence and she admits

"I don't recall what I was drinking
But after the third I was gone.
Seventeen and not really thinking".

But with "Weed Instead Of Roses" Monroe takes a more aggressive stance and wants to forsake candy, a card from Hallmark and sweet romance for weed and leather, whips, sexy underwear and whipped cream! But she returns to a state of wistful yearning with the beautiful ballad "She's Driving Me Out Of Your Mind" as she faces the reality of losing her man to another woman. The album ends with a spirited duet with Blake Shelton "You Ain't Dolly (And You Ain't Porter)" to lighten things up a little.

If you like your country music to be bland, safe and saccharine sweet then avoid this album at all costs. "Like A Rose" has superb musicianship, beautifully crafted songs of love, life, sorrow and regret and the gorgeous voice of one of country music's newest stars. She will be around for along time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album, 8 Feb. 2014
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like A Rose (MP3 Download)
Singer songwriter Ashley Monroe, form Knoxville, Tennessee gives us here her second studio album, and a brilliant one it is. I think when her debut album was first released it started off as a whimper more than a bang, and then gradually grew. With this album though the public and critics were ready to take notice, and if you have got or have heard the first album you will know why. Receiving a lot of acclaim this is great to listen to.

Listening to Ms Monroe is slightly reminiscent to listening to a young Dolly Parton, as she has that same twang in her voice, indeed if I remember rightly Dolly’s music has been a big influence on her. It is hard to believe that this little Country bombshell is still only in her late twenties, as some of the songs here and vocalisation sounds like it comes from someone who has lived a bit longer.

I will admit that I absolutely love Ashley’s debut album, but this album has a more refined polished feel to it, and everything gels together that little bit better. If you are into Country music and haven’t heard Ashley Monroe before then it is about time you did, because this girl is bound to be around for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding country album, 15 Jun. 2014
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like A Rose (Audio CD)
This album, produced by Vince Gill, sounds as near to country as you can expect to be recorded on a major label these days. It is officially Ashley's debut solo album, although an earlier album for another label was recorded and remains unreleased, while Ashley has also recorded two extremely successful albums as past of the Pistol Annies. Both of those albums are brilliant, but it appears that a lot of people bought them mainly because Miranda Lambert is also a member of the Pistol Annies. Can Ashley attract enough fans to buy her own music and keep her record label interested? I hope so, but while I love this album, I fear that it may be too country for contemporary American radio,

There are only nine tracks, but they are full of quality country music. I particalarly like the final track (You ain't Dolly / you ain't Porter). which is a great duet with Blake Shelton, but there are plenty of other excellent songs including the title track, Two weeks late and She's driving me out of your mind.

This is an outstanding album that needs the support of co country music fans everywhere to ensure that Adhley has an opportunity to record anonther album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific album!, 15 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like A Rose (MP3 Download)
Best female country album I've heard in a long time. Great songs and what a beautiful voice Ashley has. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old School Country to a T, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like A Rose (MP3 Download)
This is the sophomore album by country musician and Pistol Annie, Ashley Monroe. While I am yet to listen to her debut album I have to tell you that Ashley Monroe is a "saviour" for traditional country music, especially since she is part of the mainstream. Not that I dislike modern country and country pop (Taylor Swift and Miranda Lambert are huge favourites of mine) I really enjoy and appreciate how Ashley has brought it back to the old school almost 70s form of country music. As well as being an increddible lyricist (including writting songs for many others including Carrie Underwood and Miranda Lambert), you can hear she has a large impact on the production of this album and the clear direction it's driven in.

My favourite songs are Like A Rose, You Got Me and She's Driving Me Out of Your Mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good album, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like A Rose (Audio CD)
A great voice and songs that are easy to listen to, with the stand out tracks 'Like A Rose' and 'Used'. A great album for country fans and also like me those who only listen to country music every so often. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A new country star, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like A Rose (Audio CD)
I first picked up on her singing with the Pistol Annies on a new Chieftains album/dvd and it inspired me to buy this one.
The title track is a stand out, but it's a good album all round. Ashley Monroe is the best new country singer since Emmylou Harris and she is going to get better if she sticks to her country roots and doesn't do a Shania Twain type crossover. (Apologies to Alison Krauss, but Ashle Monroe is really that good!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Like A Rose
Like A Rose by Ashley Monroe (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews