Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early Sean Connery
On The Fiddle is an easy-going, enjoyable comedy, quite amusing but not especially funny, about the misadventures of two RAF recruits during the latter part of The Second World War. One is a spivy, jack-the-lad opportunist and the other an amiable innocent.

The cast includes many character actors who appeared frequently in British films throughout the 50s and...
Published 18 months ago by Robin

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On an old fiddle!
Oh dear, if you like oldies and want to see Sean Connery at his worst and you are old enough to be nostalgic you may enjoy this. Truthfully, after a bit, I found it wearysome.
Published 16 months ago by Marquis de Piro


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early Sean Connery, 27 May 2013
By 
Robin (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Fiddle [DVD] (DVD)
On The Fiddle is an easy-going, enjoyable comedy, quite amusing but not especially funny, about the misadventures of two RAF recruits during the latter part of The Second World War. One is a spivy, jack-the-lad opportunist and the other an amiable innocent.

The cast includes many character actors who appeared frequently in British films throughout the 50s and early 60s: John Le Mesurier, Eric Barker, Stanley Holloway, Cecil Parker and, in any unusual role for him, Wilfred Hyde White. There are also, in very small parts, two actresses who later became famous; Miriam Karlin and a very young Barbara Windsor. Barbara Windsor plays a barmaid who wears tight clothing which emphasises her youthful curves.

What really makes the film work, however, is the playing of the two leads. Alfred Lynch is excellent as the irresponsible, self-serving spiv, giving his character an irrepressible cheekiness which makes him strangely likable. Sean Connery is particularly good as the naïve, good natured volunteer inveigled into participating in various shoddy schemes.

This new DVD from Network has quite good sound and picture quality. Those who are running out of storage space for their DVDs will be pleased that Network has provided a slim DVD case, about half as thick as the normal DVD case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfection and enjoyment, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Fiddle [DVD] (DVD)
A very enjoyable Film that was made when films were made by real character actors that really knew their busines, and made ones visits to the cinema then a real outing to enjoy, unlike the celebrity mad "D" listers of today. My collection is well enhanced with films of this calibre. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On the fiddle., 10 Oct 2013
By 
D. W. Horney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Fiddle [DVD] (DVD)
Love this film, very,very funny. The film is dated but it is very good. I have put with my other films in my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Many a tune etc., 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Fiddle [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this years ago and loved it then and still do.I was glad this came out on DVD and now I can watch it as often as I like.
films like this from the fifties and sixties,comedy or other,have a great atmosphere about them full of naustalgia.
Regards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first rate comedy, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Fiddle [DVD] (DVD)
first seen many years ago., it is a very good comedy.also family entertainment.whilst at present it has not been released ( due in april) i am looking forward to seeing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the fiddle, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Fiddle [DVD] (DVD)
A very funny film, with some quite moving moments. Good to see Sean Connery in a comedy part and Alfred Lynch as ever is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An underated film., 15 Jan 2014
By 
P. D. Willetts (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Fiddle [DVD] (DVD)
It was good to see this film after all these years. Great fun and lovely to see Sean Connery in of his early roles, and in a comedy.
Good clean fun for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. J. Wye (North Petherton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Fiddle [DVD] (DVD)
Film is great, very funny, good value for money, excellent packaging, arrived very quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film worth watching must off been guys in service ..., 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Fiddle [DVD] (DVD)
good film worth watching must off been guys in service who where like that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct 2014
This review is from: On the Fiddle [DVD] (DVD)
One of those ones I always wanted but never thought I would find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Fiddle [DVD]
On the Fiddle [DVD] by Cyril Frankel (DVD - 2013)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews