Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars58
4.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£12.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2013
Milos is still only thirty, but he has some history in recording success; in 2011 he topped the charts with his debut release The Guitar and won the Gramophone Young Artist of the Year award on the back of it.

Acclaim for Milos has been world-wide, but unlike many artists who have a foot in both the pop and classical camps, he continues to receive overwhelmingly positive reviews in the classical music press.

All this is of course made all the more remarkable given his background growing up in a Balkans ravaged by conflict: overcoming all the odds, he managed somehow to win a place at the Royal Academy in London and from there his career flourished.

Latino Gold is essentially a re-issue of the bestselling Latino with an added half-hour or so of new material with a Latin slant. But what a half-hour: Milos again demonstrates that he's equally comfortable in dinner jacket or jeans, with smokily evocative repertoire ranging from Ravel to the soundtrack for Motorcycle Diaries. Milos notes in the booklet that South American music is 'even more uninhibited than Spanish', and this album is permeated by the rhythm of the dance; it beats as surely as the Mexican sun.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
The album is beautifully crafted. It is clear that Milos cares about each bar of the music he plays. I loved the album. This music is like silk. There is no other way to describe it. Good Luck with it.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
Have met this genius and seen him play in a school prize giving of all places!! All his work is consummately played..... he will definitely be the latter day Segovia.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
Bought this CD 'cos I'd seen him on The One Show playing Girl from Ipanema- The beautiful tones and wonderful playing skill I saw and heard on the box are exactly as promised. This is a such a gifted guitarist I'm surprised he's not more well-known. Perhaps this record will do it. I recommend this buy to anyone interested in guitar music and the pleasure of this beautiful, skilful sound wafting thro' their rooms.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
Beautifully performed and wonderfully evocative. A maestro on the guitar. This is a very sumptuous and well performed guitar rendition,
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
Love the feel he gives to some classics. Enjoyable and passionate. A difficult "market" to be in given the quality of other classical guitarists but Milos manages it well
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
Nice, relaxing and varied pieces of guitar music, expertly played by Milos. If he hasn't already done so, a tour of Spain would go down well!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Pleasant listening but not as wonderful as I'd hoped. However, if you enjoy listening to guitar music, it's worth adding to your collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Enjoyed this CD. Better value than original Latino as more tracks. I like guitar music , especially, Spanish and Latin American.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
Latino Gold is unusual in that items I am used to hearing in an orchestral setting are left to the soloist (guitarist) to interpret and yet with orchestral accompaniment on some occasions. I was pleasantly surprised to hear that the Cantilena of Villa Lobos worked so well with voice and guitar. Anna Prohaska has a beautiful sound and the two artists could be said to bring out the best in each other. An inspired choice of items beautifully recorded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99
£12.74
£11.48

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)