Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dario Argento does Hammer!
I admire Dario Argento's work, although I wouldn't class myself as a fan, so I was keen to see what he would do with Dracula, of which I'm a huge fan; I was extremely impressed!

The story is loosely based on Hammer's Horror of Dracula, where Jonathan Harker arrives at Castle Dracula to take up the role of librarian. From this premise, the story takes its own...
Published 6 months ago by Geordie M

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE END OF DARIO!
Very sad to see a once hugely impressive director of the horror genre descend to this appallingly acted slop,
without question his worst effort (beating even the dreadful THE CARD PLAYER),and probably the worst filmic
version of the famous tale I have ever seen..woeful script,appalling CGI backdrops and effects,Rutger Hauer turning up for
the last 20...
Published 10 months ago by MICHAEL WESLEY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Andres C. Salama (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dracula Di Dario Argento (DVD)
Italian horror master Dario Argento sexy, gory version of Dracula doesn't follow the book very much (in this version, Jonathan Harker is a librarian, hired to put order to the old books of the count), but it is a watchable effort, reminiscent of the low budget British made Hammer horror films of the 1960s and 1970s. The most intriguing thing in the movie is how the 3d combines with the patently artificial, cardboard settings. The effect is eerie. Argento's direction is fine, though a psychologist would surely tell us why he would want to film his daughter Asia in the nude (she plays Lucy Harker in the movie). On the down side, the acting is mostly stilted. German actor Thomas Kretschmann is Dracula; he has been fine in other movies, but he lacks charisma here as the Count (he has one great scene, though, taking on five or six people at the same time). Only the veteran Dutch actor Rutger Hauer is fine playing Van Helsing, though he appears only on the final 20 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drac's Back, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Damien Shalley (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula Di Dario Argento (Blu-ray)
Reviews for Dario Argento's Dracula 3D have been mixed, but if you're an Argento fan (or just like horror movies in general) you'll find something to enjoy here.
An attempt has been made to incorporate some of the atmosphere of Bram Stoker's classic novel into a screen adaptation that takes liberties with the original story, and that's probably reasonable considering the complexity of the book.
Thomas Kretschmann's performance as the Count is suitably menacing, Asia Argento adds some over-ripe melodrama, and Dario provides some of his signature fluid camera moves and occasional bursts of startling violence. The gothic architecture is visually interesting and sharply detailed.
The film has some downsides; the dialogue is occasionally clunky, Claudio Simonetti's score is somewhat clichéd (humorously so in places), parts of the movie are too brightly lit to evoke creepiness and the digital effects are very obvious and somewhat distracting (stay tuned for the giant praying mantis attack!).
Overall, I have the same response to this film as I had to Argento's previous movie "Giallo". Great films like "Suspiria" and "Tenebre" may be behind him, but at least he's still in the game - and with a few more resources, he could once again dominate play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I kept watching, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula Di Dario Argento (DVD)
This is certainly not Dario Argento's greatest work but it's also not as disastrous as some people would have you believe. I kept watching and when it was over I couldn't really make my mind up whether it was forgettable or not so I guess that means it isn't. I wouldn't mind seeing it again some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..ANOTHER CLASSIC FROM THE MASTER OF HORROR..", 17 Aug 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dracula Di Dario Argento (Blu-ray)
It was hard to judge if this movie was to be any good from the lack of advertising and half and half reviews but as an Argento fan I had to get this bluray version and it turns out my gut instinct was right as it is brilliant, once again Argento makes another classic movie to add to his large range of horrors and thrillers over the years, this movie has been made to look as if it could have been done many years ago, the cast is great and the story follows in much the same as most Dracula movies, there is as usual some strong bloody gore and violence and plenty nudity, as usual as like most Argento movies some of the acting can be a tad cheesy but it adds to the charm most of the time, same with the effects, some are very cool, the gore is great, a couple are questionable like the giant preying mantis, but it does not spoil the film, its great fun from start to finish and a must for fans, this import version is region free ABC and is in English language, it has a few small features not in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dario has a nice cup of cocoa by the fire..., 14 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula Di Dario Argento (DVD)
Bless his cotton socks! Dario Argento has created some of my all-time favourite films. This one is, well it's hard to say.

The cinematography is excellent, with a true homage being paid to Hammer Horror as other reviewers have said. I wish I had had the opportunity to see it in 3D. There are some lovely references to Bram Stoker's novel - names, places and some scenes. In all, it is an entertaining enough hour and a half, there aren't many flashes of Argento's trademarks but it is a nicely put-together film. You can almost imagine him sitting by a roaring fire, in his slippers, and drinking a nice mug of cocoa while planning this film.

There is some truly gratuitous sex at the start and, once again, he is directing his daughter Asia in her obligatory nude scene (never quite got over my unease at this situation). A nice bath by a roaring fire, no less. There are one or two scenes of classic Argento bloodshed, but they are short and certainly not the showstoppers from his earlier films.

But really, when compared to the films from his heyday, my response to this one is, sadly, somewhat muted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not as bad you might think, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula Di Dario Argento (Blu-ray)
I just watched this in 2 d blu ray and quite enjoyed it. It had loads of beautiful women including asia, argentos constant muse. Also a couple of more gorgeous ladies. Of course the infamous preying mantis is horrible as imagined, and frankly totally inconsistent and ridiculous. The copy i got buggered up around half way through , when the audio and video went out of sync, so on second viewing it will be better. I liked mother of tears too. Argento apologist for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Put this one to dust., 26 Sep 2013
This review is from: Dracula Di Dario Argento (DVD)
If you enjoyed Argento's Trauma,Do You Like Hitchcock & The Phantom of the Opera then you'll enjoy this.
Other than the above titles I find Argento's work brilliant,including The Card Player and Giallo.His interpretation of Dracula is the most insipid that I have viewed,the source novel is a favourite of mine and has been filmed many times better.
I couldn't find any of Argento's usual techniques in this film,it was flat,boring,badly acted (did I mention boring?) and finally WTF is with Dracula transforming into a giant praying mantis?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dario Argento's Dracula, not his best, 22 July 2013
By 
Stephen Stone (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula Di Dario Argento (Blu-ray)
The Blu Ray itself is Excellent quality, the film is not Dario Argento's best. But then again Dario's worse is better than most peoples best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dracula Di Dario Argento
Dracula Di Dario Argento by Dario Argento (DVD)
17.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews