Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - bargain
What a bargain especially as comes with two controllers. Colour lovely - a very quiet machine. Delighted with my purchase and can now play and save bigger games.
Published 20 months ago by Kindle Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good system, bad design
If I had to buy a PS3 again I'd buy a different model as this one looks a bit cheap,and tacky the way they have designed it, sort of like they made a budget version
Published 14 months ago by S'only Me


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - bargain, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Limited Edition Azurite Blue 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
What a bargain especially as comes with two controllers. Colour lovely - a very quiet machine. Delighted with my purchase and can now play and save bigger games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot quieter than the 60gb launch model it replaced and a lot quieter than reports suggested, 24 Feb. 2013
By 
R. Osborne (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Limited Edition Azurite Blue 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
my 5+ year old ps3 finally got hit with the ylod (almost reached its 6th year without failure) so while I do intend to get it repaired I wanted to buy another ps3 so I could retire the old model. so I started hunting around for the previous gen slims preferably the 160gb as I heard the latest slims are louder and look cheaper. couldn't find the 160gb in a new condition and rather than having to chance a pre owned console I decided to bite the bullet and get this new blue 500gb slim.

I'd like to start by saying yes it definitely looks and feels cheaper than the 60gb. the disk loader was great on the previous ps3's I'm not a fan of the new top slider disk drive at all. the lack of a 3rd and 4th usb slot is missed too. other than those negatives it does have a lot going for it.

the colour does actually look pretty damn good which I was quite surprised with as the the promo shots didn't really paint a good picture but it looks quite classy.

the noise level is a massive improvement over my old model. I sometimes use to get waken up when my previous model would turn on to begin background downloads with my ps+ where as my new one is whisper silent the only noise it does produce is the initial disk load when playing a game or film but after a few seconds goes back to silence. would I recommend this over the black 500gb? yes as the added value of the second controller is pretty good so for a extra £10 you get a extra dual shock 3.

plus points:
massive storage
great design and colour
noise levels
great value

Negatives
feels cheaper than the very premium launch model
2 usb's
disk slot is greatly missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Azurite Blue Super Slim PS3: Fantastic console just don't pay over the odds for the blue edition., 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Limited Edition Azurite Blue 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
At launch, the PS3 was an awesome bit of kit - housing the first blu-ray system for console gamers (and still one of the best on the general market), and packing in enough tech to make the PS2 and original XBox look like Casio watches. It was also bloody enormous, weighing an arm-aching amount, and though the design was sleek and a lot less eye-catching (in the right way) than the XBox 360, it was a little unwieldy and took up a fair amount of space on the entertainment unit.

So when the PS3 Slim was released back in 2009 it went some way to sorting out those issues, offering a much more reasonably sized console, and now, for fans of extra space, Sony have also released the Super Slim model - some 25% smaller, and 20% lighter than the Slim model. The basic design is similar to the preceding models - simple and black without an awful lot of frills, and though there was some compromise in the aesthetic quality when the PS3 was replaced with the Slim, and some might think that this Super Slim looks just a little cheaper than the last model, I actually prefer the new design, especially the Azurite Blue variant with its more feminine curves and contrasting textures. It looks very lovely with a vertical stand too.

The biggest draw for some people will be the change in size - it is noticeably smaller than the Slim, but when stood side by side with an original, the achievement of stripping the design down becomes even more obvious and more impressive. Sony have basically got rid of half their console, in both bulk and weight. Also the Azurite blue edition comes with 2x 'Dual Shock 3' controllers, which is a big saving considering the price of official PS3 pads hasn't changed from the standard £35-£40 for years. I got mine brand new for £200, this includes the 500gb blue console, and the 2x blue controllers which is an absolute steal. But shop around, as the Azurite blue edition has now been discontinued, and some seller's are over charging more than what it originally retailed for in 2013.

Set-up is a simple affair, though it is a little irksome to discover that the Super Slim doesn't come with a HDMI cable, though perhaps Sony are expecting their users to already be equipped given this is meant to be a replacement console and not a supplementary one - so it's a forgivable oversight in that respect.

The most taxing aspect of the set-up comes with copying your data over - but this is an awful lot less complex than the Xbox 360 process (which was convoluted further by the introduction of a new transfer cable with the new model console), though again this is relatively simple as long as you chose the transfer option when setting up your old system. All previous downloads can be accessed using your PSN ID, and navigating to the Downloads section of the Store, from where they can all be downloaded onto your system. It all makes for a simple transition, which is half the battle with a console update.

The performance differences aren't a major change from the Slim model, but the one overriding thing to notice from the performance is the quietness of the system. Where once the fans would kick out an almighty racket, especially when the system over-heated, the Super Slim is impressively silent by comparison, even after extended periods of activity.

In place of the load-out disc tray, the Super Slim features a sliding tray, opened by pressing the side-mounted eject button. It is a less elegant solution to the loading need, and it's accompanied by an unfortunate clunky noise, and the compromise is continued in the disc reading noises, which are noticeably louder than with the Slim. It's hardly a fatal design flaw by any means, but it's certainly something of a shame when the rest of the design works so well.

The Super Slim is a great bit of kit and excellent value for money - there are of course a few design compromises, but they are far from fatal, and the improvements on the original PS3 model in particular make it an essential purchase for those gamers who didn't update to the Slim in 2009 or since. The differences between Original and Super Slim put the consoles worlds apart, in all honesty, and the drop in price represents a further advantage, particularly for those looking to take advantage of the extra storage space, and download some new digital copies to boost their non-boxed collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product with many features, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Limited Edition Azurite Blue 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
I purchased this for my daughter and she is thoroughly enjoying using it. She plays games on it as well as doing things like using the Internet from it and watch music videos and YouTube. Really good product .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Limited Edition Azurite Blue 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
This is a fantastic console that looks good and is perfect for anyone looking for different coloured ps3 then the normal black
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Limited Edition Azurite Blue 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
I liked the PS3 and would surely recommend to my friends. It was very kind of the company to replace the product which was defective. I only hope this one does not break down. I will also continue to shop with Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Price, 20 Mar. 2014
By 
M. Pickett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Limited Edition Azurite Blue 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
Ordered for a christmas present, arrived quickly the fact it has two controllers included was great and my son was very impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PS3, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Limited Edition Azurite Blue 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
I bought this as a Santa present for my son, Excellent gift for my son. Delivered quickly and everything as expected. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic must read, 11 Jan. 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Limited Edition Azurite Blue 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
i love this its amazing nice controller i am so sad that i didnt get it a year earlier cos the ps4 has just come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super! Delivered and packaged well, 26 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 3 Limited Edition Azurite Blue 500GB Super Slim Console (Console)
Super! Delivered and packaged well. Although, the product and packaging smelt of heavy cigarette smoke. Obviously, coming from a smoking household nothing a quick wipe down with antibacterial wipe wouldn't fix. Works, entertains and passes the time. Light scratches - almost like new! Good job! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony PlayStation 3 Limited Edition Azurite Blue 500GB Super Slim Console
Used & New from: £197.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews