Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Cronenberg's most difficult but deliriously clever and emotionally insinuating films.
Cronenberg is the right man for a very, very odd job. If you've yet to purchase this incredible mind-trip involving bug powder, Brazilian centipedes, typewriters turning into giant insects, and bumping into Mugwumps in bars then the Dvd/Blu-ray release is well worth your hard earned money.
Published 13 months ago by danhasthespeed

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not sure
i have been looking forward to reading the book but i thought i would save some time and watch the film too. However it was an awfully confusing concept to deal with and i really didn't understand half of the thing. Shame because i'd looked forward to the story for so long and it sort of diappointed me.
Published on 8 April 2008 by Ms. F. I. Macdonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Cronenberg's most difficult but deliriously clever and emotionally insinuating films., 8 Oct 2013
This review is from: Naked Lunch [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Cronenberg is the right man for a very, very odd job. If you've yet to purchase this incredible mind-trip involving bug powder, Brazilian centipedes, typewriters turning into giant insects, and bumping into Mugwumps in bars then the Dvd/Blu-ray release is well worth your hard earned money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live the New Flesh !, 16 Aug 2014
By 
RazorGrrl (Greater Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naked Lunch [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Stunning film ! The book they said could never be filmed...The marriage of Cronenberg & Burroughs is a partnership made in creative heaven ! A wild ride through the mind of Bill Burroughs via the thematic preoccupations of David Cronenberg - begun in "Rabid" explored further in "Videodrome" & revisited once again in "eXistenZ" ... Don't bother asking "But what does it all mean?" The meaning is the story, the narrative is - or should be - all you need here. Just go along with it, surrender all rational thought (& the need for deep analysis) & enjoy !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mind puzzler, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naked Lunch [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
It is very hard to give a film like this a rating as it is so weird and intense. I will try to do my best for a subjective review.

The acting:

Good solid acting through and Peter Weller plays an excellent part despite the madness of the script (not a bad thing) and seems to keep a grip on whets going on even if the viewer is totally lost. The rest of the cast do very well including the talking cockroaches and type writers)

The Plot:

This is where it is a hard movie to review, if you like these types of films then it would be considered 5 stars if you like a more traditional film with an easy to understand plot you will not.

I think part of the plot is about not understanding what is going on as Peter Weller descends into madness and enters a bizarre sense of reality. I would also have to point out that it differs totally from the book.

My own personal opinion is that this is an excellent and very well made film. I say it's a solid 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always liked this film - pleased to have the DVD now., 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naked Lunch [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Cronenberg at his best - as usual full of interesting ideas and excellent actors. He sure knows how to make a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sep 2014
This review is from: Naked Lunch [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
A really good film and very interesting.if you like William Burroughs books your love this film.well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bleak pseudobiographic fantasia, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Ken Raus "Ken Raus" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Naked Lunch [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This is a good but not a great version of the book simply because few producers could've got away with a film of such a faggy,druggy,repulsive book as the Naked Lunch but it's also true that the director is creatively enough on the cult writers wavelength to've hybridized the literary with the kinematographic,having imaginatively metabolized Burroughs own fiction as a fan himself to produce this mulatto creation,the film of THE NAKED LUNCH.

As such,there's no need to think the film a strict translation of a book and not least because of the directors own input of talking insect typewriters and Julian sands character but because it is more brazenly biographical than Burroughs own book/s-the mood of the film is slightly Genet,very Giger,a tad Hammer,a wee bit Thompson,a mite Bladerunner and Ortonish and very Weimar-oddly enough it has some quite witty moments not least because of Wellers fab deadpan performance...he is the star,as the writers substitute but all the actors are great and Sands once again,the underrated man.

The film is a good and gross insight into a pot/post-war Yippy-Beat outsider mindset that fuellled the sleazy rise of the sixties bourgeois revolutionaries generation,say,Clinton,into power within the ZOG mafia who have now destroyed western civilisation from within and become the rabbinical persecutors and Grand Inquisitors of everyone not brazenly gay,(Ginsburg)Yiddish(Kafka,'Jackdaw',another Jewish writer,of the Metamorphosis,is namechecked in the screenplay)or druggy or acceptable in a long list of alleged minorities et cetera-the film ist zweifellos entartete kunst und Kultur Bolschewistisch and not one tovarish Stalin would enjoy,either,as a product of western decadence but certes,it is not as ehrful as his The Fly,perhaps the grossest film ever.

On the commentary,Cronenburg admits the ravishment of the gigolo scene could've been somewhat better and I remove one star for this alone as the Henson studio or stopframe might've given a better effect and personally,I'm not a purist when directors lack the budget or technology to make the film they would've wanted to so this scene would be better computer generated as it looks a tad mediaeval mummer show...I approve of the enhancement of the Devil Rides Out special effects on Blu-ray and I haven't seen them and think all monochrome films should be colourised at least as a choice
.
The dvd itself as chronic entertainment comes in at just under 5 hours with a documentary,intervue,trailer,photo gallery and commentary and some irrelevant opportunist trailers-read the book for a comparison but the book is the same modernist nihilism of the kind the film more or less tones down and which righteous Liberals love to wallow in,masochistically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naked lunch Revieuw, 29 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naked Lunch [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This movie is sick , i watched it the first time when I was younger and liked it alot so , when it went missing from my collection ( never lend out this dvd ) I bought it right back. If you're into freaky dialogue and weird set's with talking writting machines, get this one. : )ps : sorry for the writing error's English is not my mother language:p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a rainy day, 5 Sep 2014
This review is from: Naked Lunch [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Perfect for a rainy day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naked Lunch [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-Mess, 23 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naked Lunch [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
What can be said about this movie? Well it is definitely not for the weak of mind or heart! This movie is so messed up and exists on so many parallel planes of a twisted existence, that you have to have a passing familiarity with substance abuse or psychological problems to even make sense of it. If there is any sense to it.

So strap yourself in and prepare for a mind ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Criterion Collection: Naked Lunch [Blu-ray] [1991] [US Import]
£28.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews