Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE COVER BLURB DOESNT LIE
Being described as deranged makes me interested in a movie, though often I am let down. This movie is the real thing, perhaps the most outrageous movie ever made. Beginning with unnatural sex and continuing with a catalogue of unparalled perversity, Visitor Q will have you watching or turning away in disbelief. A documentary maker and his dysfunctional family interact...
Published on 29 April 2006 by KAYSEN

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Honestly, it's just not that good
I find it pretty annoying that everyone who's given this film a poor review has received negative feedback in abundance. Why?, isn't the whole point of this feature of Amazon for people to give their opinion? If you don't agree, fine, but sometimes a negative review can be as useful as a positive. For the record, I too found this film to be really poor. It's visually...
Published on 10 Aug 2010 by Now Zoltan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE COVER BLURB DOESNT LIE, 29 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Visitor Q [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Being described as deranged makes me interested in a movie, though often I am let down. This movie is the real thing, perhaps the most outrageous movie ever made. Beginning with unnatural sex and continuing with a catalogue of unparalled perversity, Visitor Q will have you watching or turning away in disbelief. A documentary maker and his dysfunctional family interact in increasingly bizarre ways. The films follows the family members through violence to full psychotic breakdown. The narrative is perhaps not the main thing, it is an accumulation of shocking moments, that is filmed in realistic intensity on digital video. Be warned, this may be too much for some viewers, though recommended for the broadminded and fans of extreme asian cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lactating unites families, 14 Sep 2010
By 
Mark G. (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Visitor Q [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
A disgraced reporter (disgraced because during some field work a gang took his microphone and put it somewhwere...uncomfortable, and the whole thing was caught on film) is looking for a new story in the hopes of getting accepted as a credible reporter.
His first attempt sees him at a brothel where he meets a teenage prostitute that just happens to be his daughter and I'm not going to go into detail about what happens but the first subtitle to appear on screen is 'have you ever done it with your dad?' so you can probably guess the outcome.
He then decides to do a report on his son who is being bullied and rather than help his son out, he just films him getting beaten up and humiliated.
He also has other problems at home as the son beats his mother for things like, buying the wrong toothbrush and the mum is prostituting herself to feed her heroin addiction.
Into this unusual family arrives a mysterious visitor who introduces himself via a rock to the head.

The thing you probably won't get from what I've written so far is how funny this film is. Obviously, you will need a slightly twisted sense of humour but I found this to be a really entertaining and often hilarious movie.
There is so much crazy stuff going on from the mysterious visitor teaching the reporters wife how to lactate breast milk to such an extreme that he has to sit under an umbrella to a necrophilia scene in which someone gets a little...stuck...thanks to rigor mortis.

If you want something that's weird yet funny this is one to look out for as Takashi Miike delivers the goods once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A whole lotta deadness, 24 Jan 2006
By 
Andrew Butler (The true home of Robin Hood) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Visitor Q [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
The wierd and wonderful (if a little disturbed) world of Miike comes to the forfront in this most entertaining of tragic comedies. When i switched this on i did not really know what to expect. All i can say to the uninitiated is to expect the worst times that by ten and the be prepared to laugh and consider why you laughed just a little later.
I must recomend this film as one to watch for the avid viewer of eastern shock. If this film had been made by an american it would not have even made it to DVD. Thank you Takashi Miike for push all of those boundary buttons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actors or Prostitutes?, 23 Mar 2006
By 
nmollo (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visitor Q [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
"Visitor Q" is an extraordinary motion picture. At first I was worried by the use of video as it normally seems cheap and crappy but then I noticed the angles that the director was employing and his abundant technique. A framed picture is a protagonist in one scene.

I had to avert my eyes at points. I have never liked needles. MIIKE seems to love them. The use of the hypodermic syringe was used brilliantly in his Motion Picture "Audition". A classic of modern Cinema in my opinion. The creativity in Visitor Q is boundless, slightly sick, I grant you, yet assured and beautifully acted. This is a strong film. The ideas are warped and execution is masterful.

TAKASHI MIIKE is a very talented filmmaker. He bears his soul with a project like "Visitor Q" and that is rare and brave. I mentioned acting earlier and find myself asking, "How far did these actors go?"

History has shown that the first actors were prostitutes. I sometimes wonder at the actors that walk the red carpet and ask, "What has changed?" Actors will do anything a director asks. This cast must have had great faith in their Director and great trust. The acting is faultless. At one point I did make the comparison with another great film "Man Bites Dog" because I found myself laughing at situations that are so real and horrifying. That feeling is strange and I'm not sure I like it.

I cannot criticize this film in anyway. I still feel that the over use of video in Motion Pictures can be cheap and nasty lookin' but "Visitor Q" proves me wrong. Imagination overcomes any limitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sensational satire on the Japanese nuclear family, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visitor Q [DVD] (DVD)
Takashi Miike is a hugely talented independent Japanese film director who shot to fame in Japan with Shinjuku Triad Society in 1995 and then to international recognition with Audition (1999). Since then he has been making films at a phenomenal rate. Between 1999 and 2001 he pumped out three a year. After that he has slowed down to just the two(!). Visitor Q is one of the three made in 2000 and remains possibly his most organized, most sustained effort to date. It's actually Part 6 of the Love Cinema series in which young independent Japanese directors made straight to video films which had only a brief run in the tiny Shimokitazawa cinema in Tokyo. The films are shot on Digital Video (DV) and are made on a peanut budget. This means the camera is ultra-mobile and there is an excess of low-lit scenes. Also (because of more relaxed censorship regulations on straight to video releases) there is an emphasis on extreme sex and violence. Miike certainly makes the most of this as he gleefully breaks all the taboos in the book with his depiction of the ultimate dysfunctional nuclear family. Split into sections entitled, 'Have you ever done it with your Dad?', 'Have you ever been hit on the head?' and 'Have you ever hit your Mum?', the narrative features incest, domestic violence, drug addiction, murder, rape, the discovery of lactation as a new sexual fetish, necrophilia, and well, everything else that you and I might consider nasty.

Actually what Miike (with writer Haru Eda) has done is look at the small headlines of Japanese newpapers and write large the nagging issues that have been bugging Japanese society for many years. Living in Japan as I do I can tell you that the exaggeration in this movie is only slight when comparing it to the headlines of the day. Although the story highlights things that most Japanese people wouldn't recognise (or would prefer to ignore if they did), the film isn't a complete gross-out for no reason at all (which many later Miike films tend to be). Closely related to Pier Paolo Pasolini's 1968 Theorum, the film charts the effects a mysterious stranger, Visitor Q (Kazushi Watanabe, himself a talented indie director) has on the Yamazaki family. Dad (Kenichi Endo) is a deluded film documentarist who finally sees the light via rape, murder, mutilation and necrophilia after being knocked on the head with a rock. Mum (Shungiku Uchida, a famous real life writer) is a tormented junky housewife who regains her sense of motherhood by having milk squeezed from her teats by our eponymous stranger. The son (Jun Muto) is a bullied victim at school who takes out his frustration by beating up his mum and who rediscovers his willingness to study via the visitor's peculiar lessons, especially after taking a swim in his mum's breast milk (don't ask!). Then there is the daughter (Fujiko) who has become a prostitute and who again is brought back into the family fold by her final client - a visit from Visitor Q. The tone of the film is alternately wild, messy, extremely funny, nauseating and ultimately anarchic. The film finishes with the family united but the themes of teenage prostitution, domestic violence, drug abuse and so on remain resolutely alive and kicking in a society which Miike appears to be saying is fundamentally screwed up because traditional family values are now a thing of the past. For a director so hung up on flamboyant excess, Takashi Miike remains fundamentally conservative in his outlook.

This Tartan DVD is good quality. Any limitations come from the DV source itself. The low-flying cloud around exposed genitalia remains an annoyance in a film granted an 18 certificate, but it's good such indie-Japanese cinema is available to people worldwide. I'd recommend this to the adventurous. Those who don't like domestic taboos trounced and who don't possess an extremely broad sense of humour should stay away. In the same general ball park as Park Chan-Wook and Quentin Tarantino, Miike's cinema is ultimately an acquired taste, but those interested in Asian cinema should try him. This film is probably the best place to start...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well, it's different..., 26 Oct 2011
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visitor Q [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I decided to write this review to redress the balance - I feel that if you can look beyond the shocking content & sheer bizarreness, then this is a film with an interesting message. Thing is, the content really is shocking - I saw the uncut versions of Ichi The Killer & Audition before watching this, so like to think I have a fairly strong stomach & while this is nowhere near as bloody as those films, it does portray plenty of, uh, questionable activities in a graphic way.

Visitor Q refers to an enigmatic stranger who moves in with a 'conventional' Japanese family which is falling apart due to the clashes between their societies' traditional, patriarchal family values & those of the post-war, Westernised world. The stranger seems to want to drive them apart & generally spread chaos but instead the family ties are re-knotted stronger than ever before despite (or in some instances 'because of') prostitution, violence, necrophilia and, well... 'lactation' seems the easiest way to describe it, to form a stronger, matriarchal family unit.

To give you a rough idea of what to expect, the opening scene consists of the journalist father trying to hold onto his job by creating controversial documentary footage. With that in mind, he goes to a brothel at which his runaway teenage daughter is working & films himself having sex with her. However, he is wholly inadequate to that - or any - task & she openly mocks him, memorably calling him "speedy man" in broken English. Then there's 'that' scene - the one you may have heard of in which the drug-addicted mother finds contentment by covering her room with bin liners & lactating everywhere. Incidentally, this isn't a special effect - Miike deliberately cast a comedian who had recently had a child for this role.

It does have an interesting message & an ending which is actually quite cute in rather a warped way but sadly, inevitably, it's so very far out there that it's difficult to see past its incredibly shocking content. It's certainly an experience for the books - many will find it uncomfortable viewing but it also has a redeeming sense of wicked, pitch-black humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A metaphorical look at the psychoanalysis of sexuality, 26 Feb 2011
This review is from: Visitor Q [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Despite the controversial issues of the film which some may be offended by this film is simply amazing. It takes a look at family healing through dysfunctional means. The film deals with issues such as the Oediupus complex, the role of the mother and dependency (on other people, on routine, on drugs). Without spoiling too much, the film is one big metaphor for how women can feel as if their only job in life is to be a mother, and when the mother fails at this, she feels unneeded and useless. The final scene in the film (i won't spoil) shows the mother reconciled with her role as the mother. Also, it is a very funny film. Some of the whackier parts of the film deviate from the important aspects but that makes it enjoyable to all kinds of people! Not just people who enjoy the metaphor. I truly recommend this film; have a strong stomach while watching. I don't recommend eating whilst watching :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miike at his warped best....., 22 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Visitor Q [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Takashi Miike is one of Japans and the worlds most prolific and originaldirectors. In VISITOR Q he confirms this with a shocking and subversivetale of a family brought back together by the arrival of the said Visitor.The family consists of a father a journalist who is using his son, who isbeing bullied at school, as the subject of a his new documentary and inturn the son is taking his frustration out by beating up the mother of thefamily, who is also a heroin addict, while the daughter is also working asa prostitute. The visitor brings this very dysfunctional family backthrough rape, necrophilia, lactation, and murder! Shot on Digital videoand at times certainly shocking and disturbing, the film is none the lessa brilliant and subversive tale of a family coming back together throughsubversive ways. If you like Miike, or if you like disturbing butbrilliant filmmaking and havent seen this yet then dont miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Honestly, it's just not that good, 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: Visitor Q [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I find it pretty annoying that everyone who's given this film a poor review has received negative feedback in abundance. Why?, isn't the whole point of this feature of Amazon for people to give their opinion? If you don't agree, fine, but sometimes a negative review can be as useful as a positive. For the record, I too found this film to be really poor. It's visually flat, the pacing drags, there's no interesting characters - it's just a succession of wearisome 'taboo' scenes (lactation probably being the most original, fetish fans, and don't worry the moment is, ahem, milked dry). Devotees of extreme cinema should take note, however, that this film is actually rather prudish, with any hint of genital nudity being genteely fogged and a lack of any notable gore scenes. To be fair there is one scene of prolonged, if optically censored, necrophilia that is still pretty unpleasant but that's it. For the record I've enjoyed Miike movies in the past, I've also sat through genuinely disturbing movies, ones that pull no punches (try Cerda's Aftermath if you think this is shocking), so this verdict is not based on prudery or ignorance - for me Visitor Q is a minor, sensationalist, slapdash effort from a great director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
R. Ardis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Visitor Q [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Visitor Q [DVD]
Visitor Q [DVD] by Kazushi Watanabe (DVD - 2013)
7.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews