Customer Reviews


269 Reviews
5 star:
 (212)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming Story
This is a delightful and worthy addition to the series, returning to the characters who continue to maintain integrity, kindness and forgiveness as paramount attributes of human nature even under difficult circumstances. A radically changing world has not yet reached Gaborone, Botswana, and the book captures the daily concerns of the protagonists perfectly. Mma Precious...
Published 12 months ago by ACB(swansea)

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs a minor adjustment
This is another well-written novel within the series and, as always, there are episodes of charm, colour and nostalgic brilliance for all to enjoy. The developments in the lives of Mme Ramotswe and her friends continue to bring a big grin to my face and 2 cases investigated were interesting and fun. However, they felt very rushed towards the end, as if McCall Smith had...
Published 11 months ago by Daniel Park


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming Story, 27 Oct 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Book 14) (Kindle Edition)
This is a delightful and worthy addition to the series, returning to the characters who continue to maintain integrity, kindness and forgiveness as paramount attributes of human nature even under difficult circumstances. A radically changing world has not yet reached Gaborone, Botswana, and the book captures the daily concerns of the protagonists perfectly. Mma Precious Ramotswe is still unassuming and perceptive with the aid of her Clovis Andersen book of detective principles, needed with her experience in the cases she has to deal with in this volume. A lawyer client asks her to look into an inheritance problem. Mma Soleti has just bought and opened the Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon and engages Mma Ramotswe to investigate a major obstacle she has encountered. The other development concerns 'associate detective', Mma Makutsi who eventually takes maternity leave.

These are really activities (apart from the maternal issues) that take second place to the unhurried pace of life and the laid back dry humour and wit reflected in the marvellous dialogue that occurs particularly between the two lady protagonists and the gracious Mr J.L.B. Matekoni; words and body language that need care to avoid misinterpretation but when this does happen the results are often even more amusing.

There is nothing complex in this book and the tales are of ordinary resourceful characters who collectively provide the reader with such pleasure and enjoyment with a feel-good factor, thanks to the author's excellent writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon, 14 Dec 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Book 14) (Kindle Edition)
Mma Makutsi has some happy news which may affect the future of the No 1 Ladies Detective Agency but she seems reluctant to talk about it. Business at the agency seems quite slack but Mma Ramotswe has two puzzling cases to tackle. A new beauty salon has opened but it seems no one wants to visit it and someone is spreading lies about it. A lawyer wonders whether someone connected with a will she is administering is really who they say they are. Precious Ramotswe's husband - Mr J L B Maketoni - wants to be a good husband and decides to go to evening classes on the subject.

Can the characters adjust to new circumstances and can solutions be found for the current cases? This is a thoughtful and heart-warming story which demonstrates the author's marvellous knowledge of human nature. The writing is simple and down to earth but none the worse for that.

I enjoyed reading this fourteenth episode in the No 1 Ladies Detective Agency series and it is interesting to see how the characters are growing and changing - even Charlie the apprentice mechanic - seems to be showing signs of maturity. Even the prickly Mma Makutsi is becoming just a little more mellow. Simple situations, interesting and entertaining characters and human nature at its best and at its worst - the perfect ingredients for a satisfying story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read each book in the No. I Ladies Detective Agency and I feel I have a vested interest in all the characters in the book. This latest book has, as always, been a fun read and I love the bits of wisdom that are said by some of the characters especially our Precious and not forgetting Grace Makutsi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs a minor adjustment, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Daniel Park "danielpark99" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is another well-written novel within the series and, as always, there are episodes of charm, colour and nostalgic brilliance for all to enjoy. The developments in the lives of Mme Ramotswe and her friends continue to bring a big grin to my face and 2 cases investigated were interesting and fun. However, they felt very rushed towards the end, as if McCall Smith had been asked to heavily edit the book in order to reduce its size and so there was a certain hollowness to the close of the book which was rather upsetting. If it needed editing, why not just a minor adjustment?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing the magic sparkle, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I feel a little like a voice in the wilderness, but I was distinctly underwhelmed by the latest outing in this much loved series. Much like Precious Ramotswe herself over the course of the story, I felt like something was missing. It had the air of having been written to fulfil a contractual obligation for another instalment rather than having arisen from a central idea. I have rated it three stars, which to me is not a negative review, but a neutral one. It's not a terrible book at all, but nor does it sparkle with the wit and energy that other books in the series have had.

As the book opens, Mma Ramotswe is about to discover that her long term offsider Mma Makutsi is expecting a child. The baby arrives without much delay, which means that Mma Makutsi is absent for much of the novel. Mma Ramotswe has two cases to investigate: a series of threats against the proprietor of a new beauty salon, and a question over the identity of the heir to a large inheritance. The arrival of a baby also gives Mma Ramotswe and Mr J.L.B. Matekoni reason to think about their own family and the dynamics within it. There is also an appearance by Phuti Radiphuti's meddlesome aunt, which I enjoyed.

This is a sweet book, but as I mentioned above, it didn't really come to life for me. Usually I read the books in this series quite quickly, but I kept losing interest in this one. Both of the mysteries were quite predictable and for whatever reason the charm was largely absent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps your interest, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Book 14) (Kindle Edition)
Many of McCall Smith's recent books have been quite similar but this one sees a change of emphasis and a welcome return to writing that is engaging and interesting. The characters have moved on and it was amusing to see how Charlie was able to change so dramatically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I enjoyed this book it was not one of the best reads in the series. I have also noticed that the quality of print and paper used is not as good in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is Alexander McCall Smith running out of steam?, 2 May 2014
By 
J. E. Taylor (Epsom, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this is quite an amusing and entertaining read it lacks the sparkle of the author's previous books in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is as ever a good read, but I do think the detective storyline is now rather weak. It is the familiar characters only which make you read on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good relaxing read, 1 Jan 2014
By 
May Rose (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Book 14) (Kindle Edition)
An easy book to read. I was a bit disappointed that many of the pages contained information from the other books, new to a new reader of these books but just repetitive for me who has read them all.
Therefore there was not a lot of room left for enough new stories for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews