Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars25
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2014
Once again I am moved to recommend these history in an hour books. The books are what they say on the tin. An overview, an overview that can wet the appetite if you want to go deeper or just be left as a general knowledge of the subject. I think this is my 10th or 11th history in an hour book and I've enjoyed every one of them. Also, and of great importance on my kindle they cost £0.99. Some were even cheaper. In these days where a pound coin won't even buy you a cup of costa coffee to sit and read your book with, that's a bargain.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
I'm a little disappointed with this series- it's more like "History in 20 minutes" . Emphasis is on dates and facts- the reasons behind the actions are not explained nor are many assertions backed with evidence . Only about 60% of the book is actual narrative and the remainder consists of appendices. These books are ok as a quick introduction I guess. I paid a discounted price and still thought it poor value- I'd have been livid if I had paid the RRP. Guess it's the wrong concept for me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
The start of the book was very interesting and well told giving a good over view. The book did not keep this up and in parts i felt the narrative was muddled and assumed more of an understanding of Theology than most people would have. Still worth reading if you want a quick overview of what the Reformation was all about.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 January 2015
I thought this was just adequate as a very short history of the Reformation, but no more than that. Perhaps it demonstrates that such a complex religious and political development stretching over more than a century isn't really suitable for the "history in an hour" treatment. It covers the European Reformation in reasonable detail with a fair amount on the theological differences between Luther, Zwingli and Calvin, but very little on the English Reformation (the Lollards/Wycliffe get no mention, as this book firmly dates the Reformation from Luther's nailing of his theses on the cathedral door), Henry VIII's split from Rome and the Elizabethan settlement being there in the barest of outlines. Useful potted biographies and a timeline at the back, though, so this is still handy as a simple reference tool.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 February 2016
This works as a 'potted history' of the Reformation (or Reformations, plural, as scholars now tend to use) but it is, inevitably, limited. It's good at the start and on the theological differences that emerge but then seems to drift off as it skims through the various Protestant movements and their own in-fighting.

I was surprised that there's less on English Protestantism than I expected, and it doesn't really comment on vernacular bibles or the King James Version since one of the tenets of reformed religion was that the 'word of God' should be available directly and individually rather than being mediated via the Catholic church and church officers.

This works as a very brief introductory overview to a protracted and complex period of European history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
Love the history in an hour books, informative and quick to read. If you like to read history this is a simple and effective way to get started and highlights which parts interest you most
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
I found it quite useful as a 'potted history' but towards the end realizied you need further reading to have a full understanding
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
The reformation sounds like a complicated historical turning point. It is. However, this book makes it digestible and separates it into many easily readable chapters. Having read this I intend to go on and read more in-depth about the events briefly covered in this book. A good starting point for anyone who wants to develop an interest in historical events
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
This is a particularly complex period of our history and this short book did well to convey the general atmosphere during the reformation. A good early example in years gone by of the 'pick n mix' approach to religion that will eventually result in there being 7 billion (and counting) different religions in due course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
Having studied the Reformation at University, I was keen to read this book, however it is a little garbled and is not particularly user friendly. It additionally jumps around a little.

Unfortunately I will not be recommending this book to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)