Customer Reviews


442 Reviews
5 star:
 (228)
4 star:
 (98)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (34)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, fast-paced and great fun...
Jake Fisher never understood why his one true love Natalie had suddenly dumped him and married another man, but he promises to go along with Natalie's request to leave them both alone. Six years later, he comes across an obituary notice for Todd, Natalie's husband, and decides that lets him out of the promise. But sneaking along to the funeral, Jake is stunned to discover...
Published 18 months ago by FictionFan

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring
Myst say I normally love this authors writing, but this I found boring. It really was very slow and quite honestly the ending was easy to work out early on.
Published 16 months ago by linda walton


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Years (Kindle Edition)
Myst say I normally love this authors writing, but this I found boring. It really was very slow and quite honestly the ending was easy to work out early on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Passed the time, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Years (Hardcover)
I've read many Harlan Coben books, and I particularly enjoyed the first few in the Myron Bolitar series, mainly because of their engaging over-the-top characters. However I do feel that his recent books have been disappointing. This book started well but the plot became increasingly convoluted and ludicrous and the main character kept on extricating himself from a series of unbelievably tight situations. This book reminded me of the plot of Tell No One, i.e. Mr nice guy whose wife/girlfriend disappears but he never forgets her and finally finds her and that she's always loved him etc etc. A quick read but felt very let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to his usual standard, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Years (Kindle Edition)
I always enjoy reading Harlan's books - but he doesn't write romance well - seemed stllted and the plot was not as complex as i have come to expect. Very dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So disappointing, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Years (Hardcover)
I have been a loyal reader of Harlan Coben for many years & am the first to praise his many novels but if you haven’t read any yet please don't start with this. The character is unlikeable, whiny, dense and intensely irritating chasing someone he hasn't seen for over 6 years. The plot lacks authenticity & depth and I had to grit my teeth to finish this book. Try any of his earlier novels especially featuring Win & the likeable Myron.
This isn't the standard of this author. I hope his next book is considerably better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, fast-paced and great fun..., 17 Mar 2013
By 
FictionFan (Kirkintilloch, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Six Years (Paperback)
Jake Fisher never understood why his one true love Natalie had suddenly dumped him and married another man, but he promises to go along with Natalie's request to leave them both alone. Six years later, he comes across an obituary notice for Todd, Natalie's husband, and decides that lets him out of the promise. But sneaking along to the funeral, Jake is stunned to discover that, whoever this grieving widow is, she isn't Natalie. And so starts the hunt...

In college professor Jake, Harlan Coben has created a very likeable old-fashioned hero, a decent man caught up in extraordinary events and finding that all the things and people he thought he knew might not be what they seemed after all. With twists and turns right up to the end, interesting characters, a complex plot, exciting action sequences and, not least, loads of great humour, Coben is at the top of his game in this standalone thriller. The book is told in the first person from Jake's perspective and in the best tradition of mystery writing Coben plays fair with the reader - we get all the clues at the same time Jake does, but this reader at least only reached the finish line in a neck-and-neck gallop with Jake.

Yes, OK, there are some things I could criticise if I was being picky - sometimes 34-year-old Jake came over as a much older man (Coben showing through perhaps?), a bit of a continuity issue around the magically disappearing/reappearing iPhone, and the thriller writer's best friend, coincidence, did play a fairly big role. But I refuse to be picky - none of that spoiled the sheer enjoyment of this exciting, fast-paced and great fun page-turner. Highly recommended.

NB This review is of a proof copy provided by the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I expected more...., 14 May 2013
This review is from: Six Years (Kindle Edition)
I confess to feeling a little let down by this tale. The last thing I expected was an over blown love story that doesn't quite ring true...but that's what I got. Very sorry...but this just doesn't do it for me. Back to form please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, 31 Mar 2014
By 
H. Garner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Years (Kindle Edition)
This was like a bad romance novel. The storyline was tedious and the characters just dull. I speed read most of it and couldn't bring myself to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The same story re-hashed, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Years (Kindle Edition)
I still hold Harlen Coben a great author and enjoy the Myron Bolitar stories and his early stand-alone mysteries. In Six Years though, we have the same plot as his earlier stories. It is a total repetition of a modern day event, where someone goes missing, and the survivor investigates the reasons, which stem back to past events and family ties. Six Years also meandered a bit too much and dragged perhaps fifty pages too many to be a tight novel. Whilst I agree that if you have a winning formula, you should stick to it, it should not be to the extent that you re-hash whole plots in their entirety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Years (Kindle Edition)
This story is narrated by a supposed college professor who speaks like a teenager with learning difficulties. One cliche after another and the plot makes no sense whatsoever. How does this guy sell books by the bucket load?*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing!, 22 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Six Years (Kindle Edition)
A very disappointing read. It was a predictable and frankly boring book. I have read all of Harlan Coben's books and this was by far the weakest one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Six Years
Six Years by Harlan Coben
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews