Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars42
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2013
This beautifully written debut novel by Sahar Delijani is set in Iran, covering a period between 1983 and 2011. In the pages of this powerful book, we read of the lives of a number of people caught up and changed forever by the events occurring in Iran between these years.

Following the overthrow of the Shah of Iran in the late 1970s, many thousands of the population became disillusioned with the new regime. Many decided that they needed to make their feelings and thoughts known, but their protests led to mass imprisonment, torture and execution. In "Children of the Jacaranda Tree" we follow the lives of a handful of these early protesters. We read of the impact of their arrests on their parents. We also meet and follow some of the babies and young people whose parents were imprisoned, tortured and killed in the 1980s, seeing the ways that their lives have been shaped by earlier events.

I was completely drawn in by this novel. I was stunned by the brutality of the "Brothers" and "Sisters" who worked in the prisons - not only physical cruelty inflicted upon the prisoners, but mental and emotional torture. I was truly shocked by the execution episode; it was not a detailed horrific description, but its starkness shook me to the core. It was interesting to see how the younger generation dealt with their history and how it impacted on their lives.

This is a book that I would recommend reading in hardback or paperback, as there are plenty of characters to remember and it's not always easy to skip back to check on a name or link when reading an eBook. Having said that, for me, this has been a powerful, shocking, but ultimately hopeful read. I shall never again be able to disregard events in Iran - this insight into the personal lives of Iranians has given much food for thought. This is a book that I will not forget.

I received this from NetGalley, free of charge, in return for my honest review.
0Comment29 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
Inspired by true experiences of friends and family this is Sahar Delijani's debut novel and this was our book club choice for August.

This book is obviously quite politically charged but doesn't concentrate so much on the why but how this revolution and regime was lived through by three generations. The alternating perspectives recount their experiences of a country at war with itself and the effects on not just the prisoners, but their spouses, parents and children.

The first few chapters are quite confusing with how many character's names there were, and sometimes the author would just start writing about someone but didn't specify a name and I'm there trying to figure out who it is. I actually felt like I needed a family tree as the pages flipped back and forth between time and people and it was quite easy to lose track. Although it's quite complex as you do read on you see that the later chapters are all somehow connected back to the first chapter when Azar gives birth in the prison cell.

At times, it is a difficult story to read as you appreciate the hardship, the fear and just the basic lack of human rights these prisoners suffered. And it also makes you realise the lack of rights women had and still have. I'm thinking of the scene where Leila is taking the children to have their photograph taken when she is approached by the soldiers about her appearance and she is discreetly trying to wipe off lipstick using her headscarf without them seeing.

Of all the characters and experiences it was Leila I felt most sorry for. She gave up the love of her life for her family and it seems that she she never got over that, never married or had children, just helped to raise others.

Overall my fellow book clubbers thought this was somewhat disjointed and at times read like a documentary! Read if you enjoyed books like The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
I had high hopes for this book based on some of the reviews I'd seen. It was certainly set in an interesting time and place, so I was looking forward to learning more about that. I did learn a little, and I did enjoy the first chapter of the book where we are introduced to a character giving birth in very difficult circumstances. Unfortunately I simply could not cope with the narrative jumping about between such a large number of characters. It prevented me from really getting to know or care about individuals in the story, despite the fact that it was well written. By the time we came to discuss this at book club I found I was not alone as most of the others reported similar difficulties and had to keep flicking through the book to check names.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 September 2013
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Sahar Delijani's Children of the Jacaranda tree is a moving saga set in post Shah Iran. A country brutalized by revolution and superstition.Spanning three decades,the novel centres around three female prisoners and focuses on their distinct experiences. The heart of darkness which was fermented in the chaotic period which followed the overthrow of the Monarchy by The Ayatolla Khomeini and his Islamic fundamentalist followers was a bitter period for anyone in Iran of a secular, liberal disposition. Overwhelmed by a tide of ignorance,fear and loathing, the Islamic revolutionary guard implemented a reign of terror from which anyone not willing to embrace their vile credo was vulnerable. Many died,many were tortured, others saw their families broken their possessions dispersed. With Iran still stuck in it's medieval time warp and with women and liberals still oppressed by the Islamic state, Children of the Jacaranda Tree is a welcome reminder of the evil which springs from religious fundamentalism and the dead hand it places on ordinary people. Ordinary people who just want to live ordinary lives without malicious interference from the state.An impossible task in such an oppressed backward state like Iran.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 July 2013
I have procrastinated in writing this review because I really wanted to give the book five stars. Unfortunately, I struggled to keep all the characters and their relationships in my head and the time line of the narrative tended to be erratic. In spite of this, the images left in my mind paint a powerful picture of the hardships and sacrifices made by three generations of Iranians from 1983 to the present day. It is a particularly relevant book, given the recent events of the Arab Spring.

The central character is Neda, who represents the life of the author. Both were born in the infamous Evin prison, of mothers who had been imprisoned for their activities during the time of the Iranian Revolution. Within a few months of her birth, Neda is removed from her mother and taken to live with her grandmother.

The novel cleverly illustrates many differing outlooks and positions, from the grandparents who cared for the children of the imprisoned, through those in the prisons, to the children themselves.
No one knew how long they would be detained, if their loved ones were still alive, or whether anyone would ultimately be released. Many prisoners were randomly slaughtered and while some were released, many were never seen again.
This then, raised the question as to what to tell their children, whether to admit the awful truth or protect them with fabrications. As these children became adults they had to reconcile their situations and live their lives.
They are now in their late twenties and living through another revolution, dubbed the Arab Spring.
At each stage, many people decided to leave Iran for other, more peaceful, parts of the world and so, a whole new generation of displaced Iranians has evolved.

This book has a profound message of survival. It reveals the struggle that has been going on in Iran over the last thirty years and which is largely unknown by the majority of The West.
I'd recommend it, but suggest that you take notes while reading, to help keep characters and dates in their correct places.

Also read:
Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi (4 *)
My Prison, My Home by Haleh Esfandiari (3*)
The Septembers of Shiraz by Dalia Sofer (5*)
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 December 2015
I wanted very much to like this novel as it's about a very important and interesting subject - the fate of the men and women involved in the Iranian Revolution who did not like the new regime, their sufferings afterwards, and what happened to their children, many of whom emigrated from Iran. Set partly in the 1980s and partly in 2009, Delijani's novel tells the story of a whole group of male and female revolutionaries, and of several of their children, looking at the immediate and long term effects of revolution and religious repression.

It should work, but the novel has several serious problems. First, there are too many characters, and few of them are explored in any detail. This means that it's very hard to empathize with the bulk of them. People appear and then vanish, minor characters who promise to become major ones later in the novel remain minor, major characters suddenly disappear never to be heard of again. A baby born in prison in the first chapter crops up again as an adult woman in Turin in the final chapter - and we learn little of her life in between. Her mother Azar, the first narrator, fades out of the story for long periods. Another young woman in Turin, Sheida, takes centre stage briefly but then all but vanishes from the story. The 'prison snoop' of Chapter 1 is never given enough space to explain what she did. As so few of the characters are sketched in any detail, it becomes hard to differentiate between them - Sheida, Neda and a couple of the other young girls are practically interchangeable, as are Dante and Reza for long sections. In addition, the setting for much of the novel feels oddly vague. Apart from the prison (which I see another reviewer thinks was not portrayed with great accuracy) there's only a limited sense of what Tehran is like, religion doesn't seem to feature enough, and the jacaranda tree is so heavily symbolized that it starts to become a rather sentimental device. Oddly, Delijani seemed happiest writing about Italy, her adopted country, where the descriptions WERE pretty vivid.

There's also some problems with language - Delijani is attempting to write in a very poetic style, but instead it often seems clumsy and pretentious, with some odd usage of phrases. I'm sure in an early chapter someone's eyebrows 'strutted across their face' or something similar. Later, the force of a woman's hair 'bursts her kerchief' (as hair so often does - or not), someone blushes to the 'root' of their hair ('roots'?) and a woman walks away with the last words of her speech 'lolling' after her. It feels a bit forced, and doesn't invite one into the narrative.

All this is a pity, because there are some truly excellent passages in this book, and some wonderful short scenes. The young man (Amir?) visited in prison by his wife Maryam, later accompanied by their infant daughter; Sheida's bus ride from the airport back into Turin, Neda and Reza's snack by Turin conservatory and excited conversation; the father patiently making a bracelet of date stones in prison for his daughter - these and others I will remember and savour - and I might well buy another volume by this writer as a result. However, the disjointed nature of this book (would it have been better as short stories, as she originally intended) and the rather pretentious clumsy writing would discourage me from reading it again.

three and a half stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
More a collection of essays, this novel introduces the reader to the harsh reality of Iran, post revolution, from 1983 onwards. A large number of characters populate the book, across all ages, and at the beginning there is a list of players detailing who is related to whom.

Evin Prison in Tehran held the political prisoners who had started to make their voices heard in int he country, and follows the lives of various characters up to 2011. From the opening chapter of the book the harsh reality of being confined to prison is scorched on the page. Azar is in the throes of labour, separated from her husband Ismael, and the tortuous birth and conditions are unspeakable. She is supported by one of the political ‘Sisters’ who accompanies her on her journey through labour, and takes every opportunity to humiliate and punish.

The corridors of the prison echo with the slap of sandals and the swish of the chador and those simple noises can instill fear into the assembled prisoners. A tour of the prison takes us to the latrines, to the interrogation rooms and to Ismael, who is making a bracelet out of collected date stones for his newborn daughter. Beyond the prison walls, life goes on, lovers meet, the curfew descends. Some flee to foreign countries for safety and look back on a time of hardship and cruelty. The ripple effect of past atrocities extends into the lives of families right into the 21st Century.

The author states in the book that she wanted to collect the experiences of her own family and make them concrete in written form, but as fiction. It is written from the heart and is an eye opening look at a country in turmoil, where the value of human life had sunk low. In its own way it is a very poignant memoir and a salutary account of human cruelty.

Where it falls down a little is that it feels like separate stories tenuously brought together, and thus it can, at times, lack cohesion. And as the reader opens the book the list of characters, although helpful, feels daunting at the outset and it is all too easy to get caught up in getting the relationships straight. They form the skeleton of the book that supports the flesh of the story.

This is a good and passionate introductory read for anyone who is unfamiliar with this period of Iranian history.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
Children of the Jacaranda Tree by Sahar Delihani is a book that focuses on the Iranian Revolution- more specifically the years between 1983 and 2011, and the fall of the Shah, as well as the chaos that followed.

First Paragraph:

"Azar sat on the corrugated iron floor of a van, huddled against the wall. The undulating street made the car sway from side to side, swinging her this way and that. With her free hand, she clasped on to something that felt like a railing. The other hand lay on her hard, bulging belly, which contracted and strained, making her breathing choppy, irregular. A heat wave of pain spouted from somewhere in her backbone and burst through her body. Azar gasped, seizing the chador wrapped around her, gripping so hard that her knuckles turned white. With every turn, she was thrashed against the walls. With every bump and pothole, her body was sent flying toward the ceiling, the child in her belly rigid, cringing. The blindfold over her eyes was damp with sweat."

PLOT/ REVIEW

Children of the Jacaranda Tree is less of a plot based book and more a collection of intertwining, related stories. They all share the same general plot and are all part of the overall story, but the way the book is set up makes them seem more individual and personal, though this book is not a collection of short stories- as may have been implied.

Each chapter begins or continues a person or group of people's stories. So every time a new chapter begins, a new story or a continued story is told. Within each chapter the POV switches constantly too, but it's done pretty seamlessly (for the most part), so that it never becomes distracting or confusing. Throughout the book we hear the stories of Azar (who is a heavily pregnant woman being held in Evin Prison in Tehran, and is going into labour), Leila and Maman Zinat (a daughter and mother (respectively), looking after their relations' children while they do their time in prison. Throughout the years, the children include Omid, Sara, Forugh, Dante, and many others who need help. All young children waiting for their parents to return- some of whom have never known their mother or father. The focus of the story varies depending on the chapter, but each character gets their own arc. Another chapter focuses on Amir- in Komiteh Moshtarak Detention Centre, Evin Prison in Tehran. He has been imprisoned for 45 days and is constantly blindfolded. His wife, Maryam, was pregnant when he was arrested. The story also follows from Maryam's POV- ranging from the year Amir was taken (1983) to her current life in 2009. Another focuses on Donya- whose mother was imprisoned long ago, finally released and then emigrated with her daughter to America- where Donya's been for the past 15 years. The final chapter (and alternate POV) is Neda's story (or part of it), and is the story most similar to the author's own (at least partly). Both were born in Tehran's Evin Prison in 1983.

However, the author was raised by her mother in California. Her father was imprisoned for at least seven years after she was born. She and her husband now live in Turin, Italy- another important place in this book. In fact, the entire story takes place in either Tehran or Turin.

Azar's story is perhaps the shortest, but also the first- so one of the most impactful. Her story sets the tone for the rest of the book. When we find her she has been prison for a few months, after she and her husband, Ismael, were arrested for being political activists- protesting against the regime in 1983. Iran has been at war with Iraq for three years, and Saddam was Iraq's leader at the time.

Her story tells of her experience with labour, childbirth and having a baby in prison. Her child brings new hope to her and the women who share her cell. Azar has no idea what is going on outside her tiny cell, or what happened to her husband, but for now she has a little piece of both of them in her hands.

In her cell there are many other women- including Parisa (who is also pregnant and has a son waiting for her outside the prison)- Omid.

Time skips are frequent in this book, and each chapter can go either forward or backward between any year from 1983 to 2011, though usually in substantial increments. The story spans three generations of people, who are all interconnected in one way or another, sometimes in multiple ways. The chapters alternate between years and characters- with the same time period retold multiple times from different POVs. Between 1988 there is a sudden time skip to 2008, and the next generation of characters, which mostly fills in some gaps left from the previous generation's characters, and also sets up the generation to follow.

There are a few motifs played through the book. The jacaranda tree is an obvious one, but other motifs include butterflies and pregnancy (obviously symbolic of new life while the old is taken and/or abused). Another strong theme of this book is the power of memories. That decades can pass, but the memories can still feel fresh in the mind- still have the strength to cripple you or lift you.

This book is more a story of relationships, which can make for a slow-paced book as there is little plot. It is more a story about how much a person can impact another's life. How relationships are born through necessity or by chance, and how they last or change- regardless of whether the person is with you any longer.

In its own words, this quote from the book perfectly describes what the story consists of and is about:

"the mysterious ripples of love and pain, of breaking and blossoming, of past and future."

There are always two sides to everything. There cannot be love without hate, or a future without a past. There are many different kinds of relationship and this book explores a lot of them. What must it be like, to be a child who is more comfortable with other women than your own mother- for her to be a stranger to you. Childrens' relationships to one another, and how they change as they age, along with whether they grow up together or not are explored frequently in this book, along with the relationship to the women who raised them compared to those who birthed them.

A LITTLE BACKGROUND

The war and regime are more of a necessary plot point to place the characters in the needed conditions, as well as to immerse the reader in the truth of events. These characters and situations may be fictional, but they most likely happened. There were thousands of people killed or hurt during their protests of the regime- the regime that was meant to free them all from the the fallen Shah. In 1988, 4000-5000 young men and women were executed in the months of July and August. The committee interviewed all political prisoners and ordered executions of those deemed "unrepentant." Twenty years later, and the next generation is still suffering the country's rule, but in different ways, and the opposing side are more open- killing on the streets instead of behind the walls of a prison.

During the chaos surrounding the demonstrations and loss of the country's leader, Iraqi leader Saddam Hussein decided to take advantage of the disruption that followed the wake of the Revolution by invading territories previously taken by Iraq during the Shah's rule. In 1980, Iraq invaded Iran, starting the Iran-Iraq War, which the Iranian Regime used as an excuse to execute many of it's own people. By 1982, the Iranian forces had managed to drive out the Iraqi army. In 1987, Iran tried to close the Persian Gulf- thereby stopping oil flow to Iraq, after almost seven years at war with the country. In 1988, Khomeini accepted a truce created by the UN, and the war ended. Iranian casualties were estimated to be between 500,000 and 1,000,000. Following the war, President Rafsanjani concentrated on keeping to the ideology of the regime, while trying to rebuild the country. He served until 1997, when Khatami took over. Khatami is not generally thought to have been successful in freeing his country. In 2005, presidential elections brought Ahmadinejad to power. He was again voted in 2009, winning over Mousavi- though there were conspiracy theories that provoked the 2009-2010 Iranian election protests in (not just Iran), but many major capitals in the West too.

Out of all the different stories told, I think Amir's is my favourite. It is easily the darkest, and most chilling, but it's also very endearing in terms of Amir himself- which is why it affected me the most. I cared for all the characters, but his story resonated most with me for being short, but effective.

All the stories are dark (as can be expected), but quite how much varies on the story. Some are simply tinted with dark memories or fears, while others are seeped in it- the inescapable fate.

This is a book that ends on a slightly hopeful note, that describes the power of memories, relationships and cleansing- revealing everything to the people that matter, that need to know, rather than keeping it inside and letting it fester- to slowly eat away at you.

A well-rounded story, filled with as much love and comfort, as it is hate, fear and hurt. With as much joy and new life, as pain and loss. It's not necessarily a powerful story- despite it's subject material- but it is a real one. It is based on fact and spreading the word goes a long way to helping end the issues. I wasn't as deeply moved by the story as I thought I would be, but I did enjoy the book. It may be that the switching chapters/POVs makes it hard to not distance yourself when the book already does that. Some of the characters are mentioned in others' stories, but then it feels distanced, rather than if we followed one or a couple people's stories, but were with them for longer. There are so many characters in this book that, it's not so much that it doesn't work (as all their stories are interesting), but that the emotion is filtered too much. With so many people to care about, feeling so many different things at one time (thanks to the time skips), the characters go from extreme loss to falling in love, to the happiness of a well loved child, to rekindled relationships in a short time span. It's a little like an emotional rollercoaster- with so many ups and downs going by so quickly that you don't really have time to immerse yourself completely in any of them.

However, I did like this book. I wouldn't go as far as to say I loved it, but I would read it again, and I would recommend it, so clearly there is enough to be gotten out of it (in my opinion) to take the time to read it.

Disclaimer: I received this book through a giveaway. This is not a sponsored review. All opinions are 100% my own.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 August 2013
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I was hoping that this book would be as exciting as The Kite Runner, or as moving as Mornings in Jenin, but sadly it didn't deliver for me. It's more of a collection of short stories than a novel, and if there is a thread about a tree, I couldn't find it. The jacaranda tree is mentioned a few times, but by so many different characters that it's a bewildering miasma of thoughts and impressions. The tales leap in and out of Tehran, diving in and out of decades, leaving me at least feeling thoroughly confused. Of course, I may be missing something, but...

So what is the book actually about? Well, it covers life in Iran after the revolution in 1980 or thereabouts and follows the fortunes of families torn apart by their dissident members' incarceration by the religious police. This is definitely a thread, but it's not strong enough to really bind the stories all together. Maybe it was the unfamiliar names of the protagonists, but by the end, I had no idea who I was reading about any more - there was just too many of them. So I've been left not really feeling able to recommend this book. Sure, it's BEAUTIFULLY written with lovely flowing prose that really makes you feel like you're there, from the fetid prison cells to the back yards and gardens of the families, but for me, that's just not enough - I needed something more of a backbone and this book doesn't have it.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 23 September 2013
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Children of the Jacaranda Tree by Sahar Delijani for me was a read which I cannot recommend to all readers on all honesty as I did find myself not wanting to read anymore. The characters were strong individuals in their own way but I wonder if they knew what their life was going to be like would they do it once again.
The main characters for me were the children who were being looked after by Aunts and Uncles, Grandparents but the people who should have been there were locked up for standing up against a cruel government. This was the time when rumours were coming out of Iran but the whole truth was to afraid to be spoken aloud and the one thing that controlled the war and controlled those in this land of history and richness was oil and yet so many years later has anything really changed?
The book was written in an emotional tone and it was clear the author had a personal connection to the country and those who lived in which for me did make the book more real.
If you can read a book where women were looked down on and those in power held that power with a firm grip terrorizing all around them this might be the book for you but for me it was a book which everyone should read to really understand what this nation of people went through on a daily business but it might not be one you can sit back and say "I enjoyed myself while reading it!" as for me it was a book I can honestly say I was glad when I reached the last page.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.