Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Mean Streets, 21 Oct. 2014
By 
Warren Stalley (Bradford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Year for the Roses (Nick Sharman) (Kindle Edition)
Private detective Nick Sharman trawls the mean streets of London in search of missing girl Patsy Bright in the first book in the classic series of Sharman novels by British crime author Mark Timlin. Timlin writes in a cool sardonic style giving Nick Sharman an air of Philip Marlowe about him combined with a gritty British slant. Sharman is an ex-cop, ex-drug addict, drives a classic E-type Jaguar and likes booze for lunch. This is tough crime noir given a talented and stylish polish by the author. Mark Timlin makes an impressive start to the series, building slowly at first then halfway through the novel stepping on the gas, racing to the explosive denouement. To conclude A Good Year for the Roses is brutal, shocking and heartbreaking in equal measure and leaves me searching for the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good year for the roses, 27 Dec. 2010
I found it very good for a first time detective novel and will look for other ones in the series. but i don't remember the TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Year for the Roses (Nick Sharman) (Kindle Edition)
Didn't enjoy this book as much as his other book I read.
Took me a while to get into it but when I did I ENJOYED it.
Wasn't a page turner for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A slice of violent sarf London life in the late eighties, 3 April 2013
By 
Jl Adcock "John Adcock" (Ashtead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Year for the Roses (Nick Sharman) (Kindle Edition)
A Good Year For The Roses is the opening title in Mark Timlin's Nick Sharman series. The books are violent, pulp-inspired crime thrillers, spiced with gratuituous action, shoot-outs, car-chases and other blokey entertainment. Timlin knows exactly what he's doing in terms of the writing; these books are page-turners, and it takes a certain skill to produce them.

The opener sets the scene for the series. Sharman's dubious background with the Met Police is outlined, as is the reason why he left, and how he now finds himself as a down at heel private eye in the badder parts of South London. This is indeed homage to the hard-boiled American pulp thrillers, transferred to late eighties London. Reading it again now, it's interesting to be reminded of a time before mobile phones were everywhere, and you could charge around London in a souped-up set of wheels without worrying about the congestion charge.

The plot involves Sharman being asked to track down a missing girl, but of course things are much more complicated than that, and soon we're involved in the murky world of drug-trafficking and violence, played out on the London streets. It loses its way a bit towards the end, with an uneasy mix of mindless shoot ups and rambling explanations to tie up the plot strands, but overall it's an entertaining enough mix to keep the pages turning.

Kindle Edition: No Exit Press needs to get its act together with any future releases (and let's hope the rest of the Sharman series become available rather than just the first two titles) - as this e-book is riddled with typos that occasionally do intrude into the reading pleasure. So annoying to see this still a feature of too many e-books, especially when paying almost a fiver for the pleasure. So, buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, can't put down book!!, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
Janiceg "J Giles" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Year for the Roses (Nick Sharman) (Kindle Edition)
Once I started this book it took very little time to get totally immersed in the characters and story. It was a great read and I totally recommend it. ok so slightly violent in places and if blood and gore is not your thing then don't read it!! but it was very very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 4 Sept. 2014
This review is from: A Good Year for the Roses (Nick Sharman) (Kindle Edition)
brilliant book well written am looking forward to reading all the Nick Sharman books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Year for the Roses (Nick Sharman) (Kindle Edition)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Year for the Roses (Nick Sharman) (Kindle Edition)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews