Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value
This is a value tripod no doubt and does the job well. there is a lot of plastic which is fine, only with the neck extended right out is there any perceivable wobble. Tripod on a budget ? cant go wrong with this.
Published 14 months ago by Tony L

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A purchase to replace an old tri-pod
Velbon DF -61 was purchased to replace a Miranda model, the Velbon resembled my existing tri-pod, however, it proved to be a little heavier, but works in a similar manner.
I have no complaints on the erection process, although I have noticed it "whistles" when used in the wind. The operation handle is hollow and attracts this sound, it can be avoided by...
Published 12 months ago by stan the man


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
This is a value tripod no doubt and does the job well. there is a lot of plastic which is fine, only with the neck extended right out is there any perceivable wobble. Tripod on a budget ? cant go wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as my old Slik 88, 2 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
My 30+ year old Slik 88 tripod, although still giving outstanding service, is sometimes a bit heavy for lugging about. I started looking for a lighter option that would allow me to use both an Olympus DSLR with a long lens fitted and a lightweight Panasonic video camera.
A friend had purchased a Hama tripod and, to be honest, I wasn't too impressed with it so I went for another well known name in tripods, Velbon.
After a day of testing and evaluating (playing about) I find that it's nearly as good as my old Slik, just lighter and much cheaper. The build quality is excellent and the tripod is very stable, even at full extension. The video pin is spring loaded and retracts when mounting a still camera while preventing any sideways movement when panning with a video camera.
My heaviest lens is a Zuiko 300mm f2.8 which mounted perfectly via its own tripod fitting with the DSLR attached and was well balanced on the tripod with no signs of the tripod or mounting plate being stressed at all.
Dug out my old Mamiya 645 medium format and it fitted a treat, just as though the tripod was made for it, think I'll dust it off, get some 120 roll film and start enjoying some old fashioned non-automated photography again.
Some of the head movements were a little sticky to start off with but, after less than a day's use, are smoothing out nicely.
I would have liked a hook or other attachment at the bottom of the column for hanging a camera bag to increase stability but, at this price, you can't have everything.
Overall a five star performance from a well built tripod that lives up to it's quoted specification. Needs a small amount of running in to get everything to operate smoothly but will, I'm sure, give me many years of satisfactory service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, Great features for the price., 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
Great value, Great features for the price. I was looking for a a lightweight tripod with a spirit level included in it's features. For me this tripod hit the nail on the head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product - No fuss, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
This looks a bit too bulky - but surprisingly very light! It looks strong and quite sturdy with my Canon 650D on. Allows for both portrait and landscape, sweeping as well as quick latch attachment. Great buy for 20 quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice item, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
Quick delivery, well packaged. Nice tripod, robust and stable, lighter and easeir to use than my old Velbon SGL-4(Which I would still be using if had not lost part of tilt head) . Good quality for the price paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent product, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
Although lightweight, this tripod is rock-solid. Even with the legs fully extended, there's none of the twisting and bending that reviewers describe with some other inexpensive models. The head pans smoothly and quietly. Silence is important for my camcorder, which I use to film classical concerts in which my son performs. One Amazon reviewer says this tripod is useable only with lightweight point-and-shoot cameras because his 300-gram camcorder falls backwards. My camcorder weighs 700 grams and doesn't budge. Unless the reviewer received a defective unit, my guess is that he didn't realize you need to screw the handle tightly to prevent tilting. If you do that, the camera can't possibly fall forward or back, even if you want it to. If you want to tilt up or down, you loosen the handle, move the camera, and then tighten the handle again when you're finished. The reviewer can be excused for not knowing that, because the tripod comes without a word of instructions. (But that's the only issue that's not obvious.) The one thing that's not to my taste is that the handle is placed on the left. The manufacturer promotes this as a clever design, letting you operate camera controls more easily with your right hand. That may be true for a still camera, but not for a camcorder. Mine has right-hand controls for on/off and zoom, but the touch-screen, which you must use for everything else, opens on the left. Suggestion for Velbon: put the handle in the middle. But I don't find this to be a serious problem. As others have said, a carrying bag would be nice. All in all, this was definitely a good purchase. The tripod is even aesthetically pleasing: Its black finish matches the camcorder, and adds a note of discretion. I , . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
Was worried it may be a bit cheap quality, but read some reviews and went for it! Really pleased with the tripod. Seems very good quality and as described. Would definitely recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY user friendly, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
I enjoy going out doing outdoor photography, landscapes etc... but I am not a professional so I needed a tripod which was not too expensive and user friendly. I already had a Camlink tripod but wasn't getting on with it, was spending more time fiddling with it then taking photos. This one is great, really easy to set up, sturdy and not too heavy to carry. I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 2 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
Nice looking tripod. Easy to use and feels sturdy. Bought this for my spotting scope and have ordered an additional quick release mount to use with my telescope or my camera.All black construction looks a lot nicer than those with silver/aluminium parts. Quick delivery too.
For a spare quick release plate you will need to order Velbon QB-5W Quick Shoe as sold on Amazon.Its exactly the same part number as on the tripod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great budget tripod, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
Lets be clear - this is not a professional tripod. The legs are thick and sturdy, but all the other components are plastic so they are unlikely to stand up to professional wear and tear. That said it is sturdy and easy to use. Accommodates a lightweight video camera or a small DSLR with no problem at all. Stability is good and the head functions smoothly and easily. Velbon has always been a quality budget brand, which is why I chose this tripod over others. If the head components had been metal it would have got 5 stars. But for this price it is extremely good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews