Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value
This is a value tripod no doubt and does the job well. there is a lot of plastic which is fine, only with the neck extended right out is there any perceivable wobble. Tripod on a budget ? cant go wrong with this.
Published 13 months ago by Tony L

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A purchase to replace an old tri-pod
Velbon DF -61 was purchased to replace a Miranda model, the Velbon resembled my existing tri-pod, however, it proved to be a little heavier, but works in a similar manner.
I have no complaints on the erection process, although I have noticed it "whistles" when used in the wind. The operation handle is hollow and attracts this sound, it can be avoided by...
Published 10 months ago by stan the man


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
This is a value tripod no doubt and does the job well. there is a lot of plastic which is fine, only with the neck extended right out is there any perceivable wobble. Tripod on a budget ? cant go wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as my old Slik 88, 2 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
My 30+ year old Slik 88 tripod, although still giving outstanding service, is sometimes a bit heavy for lugging about. I started looking for a lighter option that would allow me to use both an Olympus DSLR with a long lens fitted and a lightweight Panasonic video camera.
A friend had purchased a Hama tripod and, to be honest, I wasn't too impressed with it so I went for another well known name in tripods, Velbon.
After a day of testing and evaluating (playing about) I find that it's nearly as good as my old Slik, just lighter and much cheaper. The build quality is excellent and the tripod is very stable, even at full extension. The video pin is spring loaded and retracts when mounting a still camera while preventing any sideways movement when panning with a video camera.
My heaviest lens is a Zuiko 300mm f2.8 which mounted perfectly via its own tripod fitting with the DSLR attached and was well balanced on the tripod with no signs of the tripod or mounting plate being stressed at all.
Dug out my old Mamiya 645 medium format and it fitted a treat, just as though the tripod was made for it, think I'll dust it off, get some 120 roll film and start enjoying some old fashioned non-automated photography again.
Some of the head movements were a little sticky to start off with but, after less than a day's use, are smoothing out nicely.
I would have liked a hook or other attachment at the bottom of the column for hanging a camera bag to increase stability but, at this price, you can't have everything.
Overall a five star performance from a well built tripod that lives up to it's quoted specification. Needs a small amount of running in to get everything to operate smoothly but will, I'm sure, give me many years of satisfactory service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, Great features for the price., 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
Great value, Great features for the price. I was looking for a a lightweight tripod with a spirit level included in it's features. For me this tripod hit the nail on the head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product - No fuss, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
This looks a bit too bulky - but surprisingly very light! It looks strong and quite sturdy with my Canon 650D on. Allows for both portrait and landscape, sweeping as well as quick latch attachment. Great buy for 20 quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice item, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
Quick delivery, well packaged. Nice tripod, robust and stable, lighter and easeir to use than my old Velbon SGL-4(Which I would still be using if had not lost part of tilt head) . Good quality for the price paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
Was worried it may be a bit cheap quality, but read some reviews and went for it! Really pleased with the tripod. Seems very good quality and as described. Would definitely recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY user friendly, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
I enjoy going out doing outdoor photography, landscapes etc... but I am not a professional so I needed a tripod which was not too expensive and user friendly. I already had a Camlink tripod but wasn't getting on with it, was spending more time fiddling with it then taking photos. This one is great, really easy to set up, sturdy and not too heavy to carry. I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
I was dubious about this at the price but the Amazon reviews seemed genuine and Velbon do seem to have some good write ups in other forums.

No, it is not pro quality. But for this price you can;t expect that. It is a lot better than one I bought for same price years ago for stills work. I needed something new for video work and this about fits the bill. You can get extra shoes for quick changes if you have more than one body/camera. And these can be used on other Velbon tripods if you decide to upgrade.

More than adequate for still camera. Just about good enough for a video. Controls are easy and smooth in operation, a must for video. May 'degrade' over time - time will tell. Build quality seems good and it is robust.

I'm happy with the product. I perhaps would have been advised to go for something more expensive and probably will do now I know they are good value for money. I give it 4 stars only because I don't want people to think it will solve all their (photographic) problems, but if you're on a budget this may be for you, especially if you want something robust that is still not excessively heavy.

Oh, and the packing is not over the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 2 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
Nice looking tripod. Easy to use and feels sturdy. Bought this for my spotting scope and have ordered an additional quick release mount to use with my telescope or my camera.All black construction looks a lot nicer than those with silver/aluminium parts. Quick delivery too.
For a spare quick release plate you will need to order Velbon QB-5W Quick Shoe as sold on Amazon.Its exactly the same part number as on the tripod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great budget tripod, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon DF-61 Heavy Duty Aluminium Photo/Video Tripod (Accessory)
Lets be clear - this is not a professional tripod. The legs are thick and sturdy, but all the other components are plastic so they are unlikely to stand up to professional wear and tear. That said it is sturdy and easy to use. Accommodates a lightweight video camera or a small DSLR with no problem at all. Stability is good and the head functions smoothly and easily. Velbon has always been a quality budget brand, which is why I chose this tripod over others. If the head components had been metal it would have got 5 stars. But for this price it is extremely good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews