Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars53
3.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2003
'One Eyed Jacks' is one of my all time favourite movies and I was delighted when I heard it was to get a long overdue DVD release. I was disappointed when I saw it was a Waterfall release. I have purchased two of their previous items, 'To Kill A Mockingbird' and 'The Stranger' and both were very poor in picture quality, especially 'To Kill..'. I was not surprised then to sit down to watch a third poor quality DVD from them. The picture is grainy and has lots of distortion during the action sequences and the sound is uite 'tinny'. A real shame because this a a fabtastic movie, ful of great character actors doing their very best and a bizarre lead performance from Brando that is mesmerising to watch. He wasn't a bad director too. The film looks great and deserves a 'special edition' release. Are you listening Paramount? I see another low price edition is due out in October, I hope this version will be better.
11 comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
If this were a standard DVD the image quality would be a rip-off. As a "high definition' blu-ray it should be illegal to sell it, & it does Amazon harm to be associated with peddling it. The film is in the public domain, that's the problem: any chiselling little hustler can put it out without licence without taking any efforts at all in even a moderate image transfer. The company that put this disc out couldn't give a stuff about the customer.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2009
This was Marlon Brando's only foray into directing and one of his rare Westerns, so it's an unusual film from the start.

Be warned though, the transfer of this film looks like it was taken from VHS. It looks blurry, slightly grainy and muddy-coloured at times. The black cinemascope bars on the top and bottom of the screen are nearly white (this film is desperately in need of restoration and digital remastering). It's a shame as cinematographer Charles Lang's lighting and compositions are ravishingly beautiful and he was deservedly Oscar-nominated for his work. You don't get to appreciate the majesty of Lang's work with this DVD.

There are sound problems too. In the scene with Brando and Karl Malden on the ridge, there is a distracting loud crackling on the soundtrack. Later, inexcusably, the sound actually goes out of sync with the actor's mouths for a minute or two. These problems could have easily been corrected and the fact that they didn't bother just shows the carelessness behind this release.

The story and performances are so good that you don't notice the picture and sound flaws after a while (even though it's hard to avoid them sometimes). I guess the less-than-great picture and sound quality is reflected in the very low price.

Until the studio shells out the money to give us a definitive special edition of this picture, this is all we have (Martin Scorsese is a fan of this film, he should be given control of its restoration). A good film to settle down with on a weekend afternoon.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2011
I already own a very poor copy of this film on DVD and wanted to replace it with what I thought might be a much more worthwhile viewing experience. I was extremely disappointed when I discovered that the picture quality of this disc does not even match or approach the picture quality of most of my DVD collection. The only way one would know that it is a blu-ray release is the fact that it is recorded on a blu-ray disc. I am giving it two stars as the picture quality is somewhat better than on my DVD copy. I am not recommending that anyone purchase this product.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2007
A very good western. Simple, not outdone itself into many characters or effects. Beatiful colors,landscapes of nostalgia, clear sound. Brando in the prime of his 30's and peaceful state of his life, gave an intensity troughout all the film that only he could. A musthave on any true 20th century movie fan shelf.

jorge broa /Portugal
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2007
Certainly not Brando's best film, but the only one he directed, with some great acting from both Brando and the under-rated Carl Malden. This edition however, is so badly transferred - juddering pans, pixellated to the point that you can't even read the opening credits, terrible sound quality, compressed to hell - as to be intolerable. Avoid or you'll be disappointed and frustrated.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2011
Do not even think of buying this very very bad blu ray dvd as it is no better than a poor video transfer and the opening credits are in a German, the film is washed out and when I put it on I was shocked at how anybody could have had the cheek to even think of doing this. AMAZON should remove this forth with. Look at the revues on AMAZON.COM
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 April 2009
From this copy of the movie, it's extremely difficult to believe that the film was actually nominated for Best Cinematography in the 1962 Oscars! Both sound and picture are severely compromised in this relatively dire transfer to DVD.

At times in its troubled production both Rod Serling and Sam Peckinpah had a hand in the writing of the screenplay, and Stanley Kubrick was the original director. However, studio politics meant that none of them survived, and Marlon Brando ended up directing for the first, and last, time.

All available DVD versions seem to be Public Domain, and, unfortunately, it shows. We can only hope that this film, which is of considerable historic interest, is eventually restored appropriately, including a return to the original widescreen 1.85:1 VistaVision ratio.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 June 2007
This DVD transfer is not very good. It seems to be a copy of an poorly edited version of the film. The image is very soft with a lot of scratches and jumps. The sound is pretty poor too.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 July 2014
Five EXCELLENT Stars for the movie; Three and a half Stars for the remastering. Four Stars Overall. One of the best westerns of all time. A marvelous tale of robbers, betrayal, love, and revenge. In the world of Western Movies, there are those which fall into the categories of 'the good, the bad, and the ugly' (to quote a famous Clint Eastwood `spaghetti western' title), but a favorite movie of many is the sole combined directorial and acting effort of one of our greatest actors, Marlon Brando, who seized directorial control after the screenplay went through the hands of Rod Serling, Stanley Kubrick, Sam Peckinpah, and others. Based loosely on the book, "The Authentic Death of Hendry Jones" by Charles Neider, the film has tremendous acting, cinematography, writing, and music. Brando's execution of scenes in authentic-looking towns, deserts (the `hot on their heels' chase through the dusty canyon is a cinematic feat that many directors miss out on), and the Monterey California scenery is mesmerizing. The acting of Brando, and an all-star cast that included Karl Malden, Katy Jurado, Ben Johnson, Slim Pickens, an upcoming star-crossed actress named Pina Pellicer who generates sparks in her scenes with Brando and Katy Jurado, Larry Duran, and others is stupendous and intense. The director's cut was over 4 hours, cut down to 2 hours and 22 minutes for theatrical release.

Following a successful bank robbery in Sonora Mexico in 1880, "Kid Rio", "Doc" and "Dad" Longworth are hunted down by the relentless Mexican `Rurales' police force. Dad and Rio are cornered in a canyon. Longworth goes for additional horses but never returns, leaving Rio to be captured and spend years in a Mexican prison. These opening scenes are riveting but the best is yet to come. Watching Rio tracking Longworth's location for his revenge, the fascinating complex interrelations that result, and the climatic showdown scenes are all part of a marvelous feat of movie-making that Brando would only do once in his long career, since it took about 4 over-budgeted years to get it to the screen in final form. This movie also has a lovely haunting musical theme and supporting music by Oscar-winning composer Hugo Friedhofer. The main theme became a minor hit by pianists Ferrente and Teicher. Remastering quality notwithstanding, it is a marvelous film that gets My Highest Recommendation. Five BLAZING Stars for the movie. Four REMASTERED Stars overall. (Amazon Prime Video, Paramount, VistaVision, Color, Time- 2:22.)
33 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)