Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars656
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.09
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2008
Reviewing a best-selling, immensely popular album over 30 years after it was released is a bit like trying to evaluate Marmite. It's been around for ages, you know that people will always buy it, but everyone either loves it or hates it already, and there's little point trying to change their minds.

For me, Rumours is just about the best album ever made, and 'Go Your Own Way' is my favourite song, my desert island disc, the one that still sends a shiver up my spine and makes me smile and / or cry (or both) every time I hear it. Part of that is down to memories of earlier times evoked by the music (it just sounds like it came from better days, whether it really did or not); part of it is down to a knowledge of the intricate human relationships within the band and the messages these songs were sending from one member to another; but largely it's just down to the sheer quality of the music. The 'classic' Fleetwood Mac line-up really was just that - Mick Fleetwood the 'Daddy'; John McVie the quiet, morose, no-nonsense bass player, together forming a tight, world-class, instantly recognisable rhythm section; Christine McVie the stalwart keyboardist; Lindsey Buckingham the brash, neurotic Californian with a talent for guitar-playing that is sorely underrated, an ego the size of the Hollywood hills and a perfectionist's drive to push the musical envelope; and Stevie Nicks, slim and fair, every 70s schoolboy's fantasy star-child, all black lace, high boots and flounces, with a voice that rasps and soothes in equal measure.

If you doubt the quality of the music, and the work that went into it, spare a hour or so to watch the Classic Albums DVD that is devoted to Rumours, in which studio techies Richard Dashut and Ken Caillat deconstruct and rebuild the tracks, fading in and out individual elements of sound to illustrate the craftsmanship involved. At the end of the day, if you've been around since 1977 you'll know most of the songs already. If you haven't, you might be put off by labels like Californian AOR, soft rock, country rock, MOR. Rumours is probably all of that, with a few elements of folk thrown in for good measure. What makes it stand out in its entirety is the songwriting, the attention to musical detail, the wonderful harmonies and musicianship that is tight as a drum. Dross often sells by the bucketload, but Rumours is that rare artefact: something with sound artistic merit AND populist appeal. For the committed post-hippy late seventies sensitive teen with West Coast aspirations, Rumours was THE album to be seen with. For those teens, now in their 40's and 50's, it still is.

So, to the music. The quality of the remastering is first class, delivering a ringing clarity and separation that was missing from the original version. The second CD in this expanded package is an irrelevance really, demonstrating no more than work in progress. Of the songs, 'Dreams', 'The Chain', 'Don't Stop', 'Never Going Back Again', 'Go Your Own Way' and others need no introduction. Omitted from the original album for reasons of length and limitations of the LP capacity, 'Silver Springs' is a superb Stevie Nicks song that regains its rightful place. Nicks was blossoming as a songwriter, never better than on the trilogy of Fleetwood Mac albums beginning with Fleetwood Mac in 1975 and ending with Tusk in 1979. Her voice has dropped an octave or two since then; here she still sounds fresh and focused. 'Oh Daddy' and 'Songbird' represent two of Christine McVie's finest moments. Lindsey Buckingham's songs have indications of the greater experimentation he would go on to develop on Tusk, and later on his solo albums. But in 'Go Your Own Way', he wrote a lament to his ex-lover, Nicks, their relationship crashing around them during the making of the album. On the surface it's the classic top-down, sunny summer Californian driving rock song, all ringing guitars and shining harmonies. But it's much more than that too; it's full of sadness and longing, loneliness and regret, bitterness and anger. The fact that Buckingham addressed it to the person who stood only feet away from him singing harmonies on it, gives it an extra twist of irony, just like life itself. You either love it or you hate it. You either get it or you don't.
99 comments|204 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2006
I have owned Rumours before, both in the LP format and the original CD format. Obviously this album has been a favourite of mine for a long time, with a slight more understanding of the tension involved in making it as the years have passed by.

What struck me, however, by hearing this new re-mastered version was the immense sound quality. Listening to Dreams the bass becomes so vibrant and alive with Stevie Nick's voice backed up with incredible harmonies with the addition of crisp guitar sounds and thumping drumming. On the next track, Never Going Back Again the guitar is spread in the mix giving the listener a feeling of actually being involved with the playing. Much of the same can be described by most of the other songs on the album, making me for my part re-discovering it again. Never before had I noticed how great the production was, not only in regards of the sound quality but also how it was mixed, both simple but yet innovative.

I took my old CD to compare the two versions, the hypothesis being that maybe this great sound had simply eluded me some years ago. The difference was, however, similar to hearing a worn cassette tape and a regular CD. The separation of instruments was not to be heard, a lack of depth was evident and the mix was muffled as if one were listening to a worn LP.

There is also added material. Silver Springs, a single not included on the original version, has been tacked between what before was side A and B. A fine song and its odd inclusion actually does keep the flow of the album intact (I believe having it at the end would spoil the fine ending of the original). There is also a bonus disk consisting of demos of the songs. It is interesting hearing these demos, one can hear how good the simple versions are but yet how delicately Fleetwood Mac improved them in the studio. Of particular note is Brushes which is only the guitar playing of what became Never Going Back Again. One must, however, make sure to press the stop button before some jam session at the end of the disc begin, those are only for the most devoted.

Thus from the standpoint of sound quality, this re-mastered version of Rumours is in my view a great buy. The bonus CD is a welcome addition and the artwork accompanying this version does this great album justice.

Addition 26.3.2013

This album has again been re-released. This addition relates to the 3 CD version of the 2013 edition, which I bought being such as fan of this album. The original recording is as far as I can hear the same sound-wise, meaning that this may be the same re-mastering used on the previous 2004 edition. This I consider good news since it was very smooth with a deep bass and solid drums. The only difference is that Silver Springs has now been put at the end as opposed to be set in the middle of the sequence. I preferred the former set of flow of the tracks but that is a minor issue.

There are now two extra disks. One is a live recording from their Rumours tour, although a few songs are from their previous album. Most of the songs are in a faster tempo and I must admit I find them merely interesting. Their live recordings from the Tusk tour sound for example better. This live CD is also rather short. The third CD is, like the 2004 edition, demos. The demos presented here are, I believe, taken from more initial stages of the recording process. These I find very interesting, The Chain for example in very initial stages and at times barely recognizable to the final result. Never Going Back Again with Stevie Nicks sharing vocals is also worth listening to. The price of this edition is low and despite not being a fan of the live CD (something many will differ in opinion about) I do truly recommend this edition. For most of those who own, however, the 2004 edition, there is no need to 'upgrade' to this version. Those like me who really cannot get enough of Rumours, I recommend their Classic Albums DVD (I think also available via other sources) that chronicles the making of Rumours.
99 comments|142 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
This is a very nice expansion of Rumours.

You get 3 CDs: the original album with an additional track not on the LP release from the `70s; a CD of live versions of many of the songs + some from the earlier self-titled album; a CD of out-takes and alternative versions (which are different to the out-takes etc. realised with the 2004 Rumours 2 disc set).

The first CD is the same version of Rumours as the2 CD 2004 remaster - so it sounds nice, if a little metallic/tinny. If you have that disc, this new release is still worth having for the 2 other discs.

The packaging looks ok, though cardboard sleeves inevitably scratch discs. The leaflet is pretty cool too.

HOWEVER....the packaging and quality control on this release is appalling. Hearing from other reviews here and on other sites that their discs arrived very scratched, I bought my copy from a high street retailer to avoid it getting jiggled in the post. I needn't have bothered (plus it was dearer than Amazon). It was factory sealed, though the booklet was horribly creased as if a baby had pushed it into the sleeve. Also, 2 of the discs were badly scratched. One had scuffs visible in any light, but played OK. The other had a single small but deep scratch that couldn't possibly have come from the sleeve and was so deep that the extras disc concerned won't play beyond track 12. Given the number of people who seem to have these problems with this set, it is as if some sort of accident has befallen a whole batch of these discs and no one is checking them before sealing them up.

So, if you order this, check the discs as soon as possible because honestly, I don't feel alone in saying that the scratches are hard to believe till you see them for yourself....Don't blame Amazon or the postie either because whether you get a clean set or not will be pot luck.

This is my favourite album, but 3 stars not 5 partly for the poor physical quality and partly because the main album is still a little too bright/brittle sounding for me.
33 comments|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
Brilliant collection at a great price. No need to review Rumours, we all know it's a classic. The one point I would make is that if you order this, then expect it to arrive unprotected. That's right. The despatch label was stuck right on to the clear factory shrink-wrap, and that was it. That it arrived unscathed is a miracle. If you're buying this as a gift for someone who may be at home when it arrives, then watch out - it won't be much of a surprise!
review image
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 January 2015
This review is of the 3CD 35th anniversary edition.

One of the 1970's most popular albums, this monster is given a work over with an extra track tacked on, a live disc and a generous helping of demos and rarities from the Rumours sessions. As one of the biggest selling albums ever at 40 million copies and counting and regular rotation on radio playlists many will already be familiar with the original album, here spruced up for its 35th anniversary to sparkle even more than ever. Hit after hit, FM radio staples, all the tracks here are as comfortable as a favourite pair of slippers with songs that still resonate and sound as fresh as they ever did. Tacked on is the B side, Silver Springs, which could easily have fit onto the album itself back in the day and doesn't for a moment sound like a drop in quality bonus track, far from it.

Moving on to disc 2 and it's a compilation of live tracks from the supporting tour, all well performed with the band proving they can cut it live in giant stadiums. Not all the tracks are from Rumours however, three are from the previous eponymous release, with Rhiannon a particular standout. The quality is clear, and it's great to hear familiar tracks working and appreciated by an audience.

The 3rd disc is full of outtakes that didn't make the final cut and early demos of the album tracks. It's of interest to anyone who has the album buried in their subconscious to listen to how differently some of these early attempts sound compared to the polished product as the group search for an arrangement, as interesting as, say, The Beatles Anthology discs.

A lovely rerelease giving new insight into a bona fide classic.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
There's been enough said regarding this album so I'll be brief in saying it is the pinaccle of Fleetwood Mac's career (by a long way). An album made pretty much entirely of number one singles and classic tunes. As most already know it was recorded in the midst of four members of the band divorcing/splitting from long term relationships. The result is an album that plays out like a modern Opera, one moment angry and bitter, the next hopeful then even joyful.
This deluxe version is a fantastic tribute to the album. Including:
+ Rumours album remastered CD
+ Rumours Vinyl LP
+ Fleetwood Mac Live, Rumours Tour, 1977 CD Audio
+ Two Discs of Previously Unreleased Demos/Alternate Takes and Rarities.
+ 30minute DVD of Previously unreleased 'Rosebud' documentary (regarding the making of Rumours, and featuring several live performances (Rhiannon, World Turning, Go Your Own Way, You Make Loving Fun) and interviews with the band from the year of the albums release.
+ Beautiful presentation booklet featuring a run down of each track by Stevie Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham.

The Box Set is presented beautifully, and is undoubtedly a great purchase for fans of the band. The Bonus Discs of unreleased material contain some fascinating looks at the album in progress (a duet version of 'Oh Daddy' with Stevie harmonising with Christine is a standout, as is the original demo of The Chain).

Buy it you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Pitched at the public as a '35th Anniversary Edition' (they were a year late) - you could argue that this 2013 'Expanded Edition' of Fleetwood Mac's love/hate opus "Rumours" is just another excuse to extract hard-earned readies from fans. And with Disc 1 sporting the same remaster as the last Anniversary issue in 2004 - then why bother? The two answers are a 65-minute slew of staggeringly raw and revealing outtakes on Disc 3 (all previously unreleased) and a frankly better than expected live fest on Disc 2 recorded on the "Rumours" World Tour in 1977. Here are the chains that can't be broken, dreams of oh daddy and the ways you should go (as long you go on your own)...

Released January 2013 - "Rumours" 'Expanded Edition' on Warner Brothers 8122-79709-4 (Barcode 081227970949) is a 3CD reissue and breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (44:54 minutes):
1. Second Hand News
2. Dreams
3. Never Going Back Again
4. Don't Stop
5. Go Your Own Way
6. Songbird
7. The Chain [Side 2]
8. You Make Loving Fun
9. I Don't Want To Know
10. Oh Daddy
11. Gold Dust Woman
Tracks 1 to 11 are the album "Rumours" - released February 1977 in the UK on Warner Brothers K 56344 and Warner Brothers BSK 3010. It reached Number 1 on both the UK and USA charts and is one the biggest selling albums of all time.

Track 12 is "Silver Springs" - the non-album B-side to "Go Your Own Way" - released as a 7" single January 1977 in the UK on Warner Brothers K 16872 and Warner Brothers 8304 in the USA

Disc 2 "Live, 1977 "Rumours" World Tour (55:39 minutes):
1. Intro
2. Monday Morning
3. Dreams
4. Don't Stop
5. The Chain
6. Oh Daddy
7. Rhiannon
8. Never Going Back Again
9. Gold Dust Woman
10. World Turning
11. Go Your Own Way
12. Songbird

Disc 3 "More From The Rumours Sessions" (65:00 minutes):
1. Second Hand News (Early Take)
2. Dreams (Take 2)
3. Never Going Back Again (Acoustic Duet)
4. Go Your Own Way (Early Take)
5. Songbird (Demo)
6. Songbird (Instrumental, Take 10)
7. I Don't Want To Know (Early Take)
8. Keep Me There (Instrumental)
9. The Chain (Demo)
10. Keep Me There (With Vocal)
11. Gold Dust Woman (Early Take)
12. Oh Daddy (Early Take)
13. Silver Springs (Early Take)
14. Planets Of The Universe (Demo)
15. Doesn't Anything Last (Acoustic Duet)
16. Never Going Back Again (Instrumental)

It's presented in a three-way foldout card digipak - the four inner flaps have outtake photos from that famous shot of the band playing about in front of the camera - while the other flaps sport live shots from some vast American football stadium. Each of the three CDs has different photos - "Rumours" a cropped version of the cover, the other two with outtake photos. The 20-page booklet has an essay called "The Truth About Rumours" by DAVID WILD, reproductions of the albums insert with the photo spread and lyrics as well as detailed reissue credits. It's all very tastefully done.

The album itself was remastered for the March 2004 reissue to perfection by long-standing Rhino tape engineers BILL INGLOT and DAN HERSCH who have had their hands on more important master tapes than we've had hot dinners. Their remastering credits probably run into thousands between them - and the sound on Disc 1 is truly gorgeous - amazing clarity and power. Unfortunately fans will notice that the 9 bonus tracks on the 2004 reissue aren't here - neither are the Alternate Mixes of "The Chain" and "Dreams" that turned up on "The Chain" 4CD Box Set in 1992 - so don't sell those just yet. However what you do get as bonuses are excellent...

Hersch and Inglot did the vault research and transfers for Disc 2 and 3 too - and the results are heavily dependent on the source material. The live disc sounds huge and has warmth ("Dreams" sounds fab with the crowd loving it) and even live "Never Going Back Again" is delightful with Buckingham going solo on the vocals. Nicks lets it rip on "Gold Dust Woman" that a fantastic slow power to it live. Buckingham gets the crowd going with two guitar rippers - "World Turning" from 1975's "Fleetwood Mac" and the ass-kicking "Go Your Own Way".The live set is far better than I had expected - the band tight and playing tremendous new material.

The demos and outtakes on Disc 3 are a mixture of polish versus rough and ready - but they are all a revelation in a way Mac fans haven't heard before. The band's inner dynamics and toxic love affairs are well documented and many have said its 'the' reason why the album is so good - flitting from love highs to relationship lows and the rage that often follows. Never is this more obvious than on these 'demos' - the Stevie Nicks stuff in particular having an 'edge' to it that is almost like an open wound. It imbibes these early takes with a sense of truth that was hidden under all that production-polish the final album mix received.

Disc 3 opens badly with a ramshackle short early take of "Second Hand News" where Buckingham hasn't even got the lyrics down and he just mumbles through - easy to see why it's been left in the can until now. Far better is Take 2 of "Dreams" which even at this rough stage has magic written all over it - although the lyrics are there verbatim - the looseness of the keys and the guitars in the background are in direct contrast to the hugely polished finished take. And Nicks sounds so young - and truth be told - so emotionally raw - a feature that will crop up again and again in this deeply personal outtakes. The truly gorgeous "Never Going Back Again" gets a rougher `duet' vocal and a different guitar refrain as a solo. It's a fascinating insight into Buckingham's fantastic and stylistic type of guitar playing - others would have kept the clever runs - but he dropped them (less is more). Then the meanness comes with a counted-in "Go Your Own Way" - it has that menace pending - but while the band rock - his vocal is awful. Even at this early stage you see it's going to be a barnstormer when its finished (and it is).

You then get a very hissy and delicate "Songbird" - lovely and aching at the same time. McVie also plays some gorgeous piano runs that aren't in the album version on the Instrumental Take 10 where she's feeling out how the song should go - it may not be audiophile standard (you can tape clicking) but it's bare in a real way and moving because of it. "Keep Me There" turns out to be an early working on "The Chain" but as a different song. That famous bass run in "The Chain" turns up here and is electrifying. The "Planets Of The Universe" demo is simply Stevie Nicks at the piano. "I will never love again the way I loved you...you will never rule again the way you ruled..." - the words are painfully honest and perhaps the reason it was kept in the can all these years is precisely because its so revealing. The short duet "Doesn't Anything Last" sounds like Fleetwood Mac does The Everlys (only lasts a minute) and it finishes on something akin to "Brushes" - the "Never Going Back Again" outtake that turned up on the bonus tracks on the 2004 CD. I've been playing this disc a lot more than the album...

"Roll the tape...we'll just see what happens..." Christine McVie says at the beginning of "Oh Daddy". I for one am glad someone in the control room kept those boxes for posterity...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2005
Okay, like many of my generation (forties) I am replacing my old LP's with CD's. Rumours has always been a much loved album, so what is the second disk adding? Is it a gimick to sell more?
In my opinion it is a lot more than that, the accoustic versions (especially of 'Gold dust woman) are a delight to hear. There is a charm the second disk that to me makes an old favorite a bit more personal and yes, Stevie's vocals still leave a shiver down my spine.
In short if you loved the original, I beleave you will get a kick out of this.
0Comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
I like the CD a lot. I like the tracks too. What I didn't like so much was the volume. I find I have to turn up the stereo a quite high and this can be a pain if you forget to turn it back down! This is my first Fleetwood Mac CD. I had heard a few of their tracks previously and thought it would be good to try one of their CDs. Rumours was the CD that caught my eye and I was not disappointed. If you are a fan of Fleetwood Mac then this CD is worth your time. If you are new to Fleetwood Mac this should be your first CD. I like the tune and I like the lyrics, so maybe my recommendation is a little biased because this is what I like, but its pretty obvious that you won't pick up the CD if you don't like Fleetwood Mac anyway. As far as last CDs go, this one is pretty good. This is the kind of CD I can listen to over and over again and not get bored and if I were to get bored I would be able to listen to it again a couple of weeks later. I definitely don't regret this buy.

Track-list;
Second Hand News - 4*
Dreams - 5* - My favourite Fleetwood Mac track.
Never Going Back Again - 4*
Don't Stop - 3.75*
Go Your Own Way - 4.25*
Songbird - 4.5*
The Chain - 4*
You Make Loving Fun - 3.75*
I Don't Want To Know - 4*
Oh Daddy - 4.25*
Gold Dust Woman - 4.25*
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2011
This is a brilliant album for the music and is made even better in this SACD surround sound version. This is how all good albums of this genre should be released in my view. You hear so much more of the music and it allows for a more involved listening experience though the enhanced creativity that surround sound brings to music. It is great to see Warner releasing this on hybrid multichannel SACD as the SACD is much more versatile and backward compatible that DVDs which seem to be used now by the major record companies for surround sound release. However I wish Warner were adopting this as a global release and not just a Warner Japan release which makes the price quite crazy and in the current financial climate not one which means you would buy these albums on a regular basis. The majors such as EMI and UMG have shown they can release affordable hybrid multichannel SACDs in the past and should review their policies I feel. This is a genuine reissue of a disc that is worth having as it is so different, I sigh with despair when I see the number of times stereo cps are remastered time after time and the majors think we will keep buying them. This release shows imagination and a bold decision to produce something that is really different and well worth buying, but as I say, I wish it were a lot cheaper than this.
44 comments|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)