Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sounds of the Wheel....greatest club ever!!!!!!!!!!!
The Wheel.....what can I say....it was a way of life....the great Roger Eagle....an inspiration to Wheelgoers in the best musical era we've known..this CD is a
Treat ....ok I have a lot of the tracks already but some eluded me over the years...one or two I'd even forgotten...so thanks guys for helping top up my
Collection....for all you similar minded guys out...
Published 9 months ago by Skipton OAP

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Wheel
Lawrence Jordan is spot on, he should be, as he was in the Wheel nearly every night !! I really could do with him contacting me ASAP !!! Dave Chalmers
Published 11 months ago by D. Chalmers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sounds of the Wheel....greatest club ever!!!!!!!!!!!, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Twisted Wheel: Brazennose & Whitworth Street. Manchester 1963-1971 (Audio CD)
The Wheel.....what can I say....it was a way of life....the great Roger Eagle....an inspiration to Wheelgoers in the best musical era we've known..this CD is a
Treat ....ok I have a lot of the tracks already but some eluded me over the years...one or two I'd even forgotten...so thanks guys for helping top up my
Collection....for all you similar minded guys out there....buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection of Northern Sounds, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Twisted Wheel: Brazennose & Whitworth Street. Manchester 1963-1971 (Audio CD)
many that I didn't know but are good choice for this compilation. Will satisfy most Northern fans. Particullarly enjoyed the "bonus Tommy Hunt album with his interview after his 1st Casino appearance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Northern r&b, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Tony Martin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Twisted Wheel: Brazennose & Whitworth Street. Manchester 1963-1971 (Audio CD)
One of a series - five (?) to date - of comps about clubs oop t'North. Not my usual bill of fare, but this Wheel set has a particular resonance for me.

Already by the early 60's I was bored with pop music, too bland or sterile for my taste. I found refuge in American blues and r'n'b and old r'n'r, scarfing up as much as I could find or, pointedly, afford. Somehow, I came in contact with Roger Eagle, possibly thru his R'NB (sic) Scene mag. He invited me up to Manchester, to stay with him, in my own rented room. So some time in '64/'65 (?), I entrained for the rainy city. I imagined non-stop music and chat, with no regard as to how I was going to fund this imagined idyll. Roger was the house DJ at the Wheel, then in Brazennose Street, and I sure had fun raking thru records that were played there. I can only recall one visit to the Wheel, a gloomy basement, cant even recall muisc being played. I met St Louis Union, had The Paramounts (then backing Sandie Shaw on tour) spread around my bedroom for a night and I remember one night in particular when Jimmy Powell (of "Sugar Babe/Baby" fame) spent a while trying to make out on Roger's bed with a local lovely, while we, including the then current Five Dimensions, looked on, chatting the while. But reality soon caught up, I ran out of money, used my return ticket, back home to regular meals and baths. But this is about the music...

Generally, excellent stuff, that kind of slightly more sophisticated r&b, still with an edge, moving on to proto/early soul, before it became TOO sophisticated for my taste. All the tracks here would've blessed the deck on a regular basis at the Wheel, to the delight and enthusiasm of the patrons. I mean, Bobby Bland, Little Richard, Bo Diddley, Mitch Ryder, Benny Spellman, Ernie K Doe, Alvin Robinson (I'd've preferred "Something You Got"), Solomon Burke (a great personal fave), The Ad Libs ("Boy FROM NEw York City"!), Fats...what's not to like? But I can't get of with The Dells' "It's Not Unusual", their cover of the Tom Jones hit. I know most of the other artists by name and reputation, it was nice putting on the mid-60s mindset to lend an ear to those that were new to me. An eclectic mix in a fairly confined area, Roger's audience should be congratulated on their fine, supportive taste.

Great notes from compiler Joe Boy, backed up with loads of pix, label shots, release details and posters, a nice dedication on the last page to the late Roger Eagle. Yeah, I can live with this, can do no better than quote from the sticker on the shrink wrap: "During the mid-late 1960s, The Twisted Wheel, Manchester, reigned supreme as the North's centre of American black music...", a fair summation I would suggest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Wheel, 21 Nov 2013
By 
D. Chalmers "City 1477" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Twisted Wheel: Brazennose & Whitworth Street. Manchester 1963-1971 (Audio CD)
Lawrence Jordan is spot on, he should be, as he was in the Wheel nearly every night !! I really could do with him contacting me ASAP !!! Dave Chalmers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Northern, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Twisted Wheel: Brazennose & Whitworth Street. Manchester 1963-1971 (Audio CD)
Excellent CD, brought back lot's of memories. Strange but you just want to get up & do a "Back Flip"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dave Godin - Northern Soul quote, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Lawrence Johnson (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Twisted Wheel: Brazennose & Whitworth Street. Manchester 1963-1971 (Audio CD)
It's claimed that an employee of Godin , working at Soul city in London, coined the term. Godin appears to have 'identified' the 'theme' (i.e. older records bought by "Northern " punters...but the term was coined by a member of staff.Godin then used the term in Blues & Soul after the Wheel visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews