Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charlie gives Ben's sound an interesting twist
Charlie Musselwhite has been playing blues harp since the 60s and in that time has developed his own unique style based firmly in the blues but with some really individual quirks and twists that make it really easy to pick out his playing. I must admit I prefer him as an accompanist rather than as a bandleader - as with his playing on records by Bonnie Raitt, the Blind...
Published 17 months ago by G. E. Harrison

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No more than OK.
Three or four nice tracks but nothing to write home about. Good enough to lisen to in the car while driving on the autobahn.
Published 5 months ago by Livy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charlie gives Ben's sound an interesting twist, 4 Feb 2013
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Get Up! (Audio CD)
Charlie Musselwhite has been playing blues harp since the 60s and in that time has developed his own unique style based firmly in the blues but with some really individual quirks and twists that make it really easy to pick out his playing. I must admit I prefer him as an accompanist rather than as a bandleader - as with his playing on records by Bonnie Raitt, the Blind Boys of Alabama and Tom Waits.

Here the songs and singing are provided by Ben Harper with Charlie adding his distinctive melodic flourishes, as on the opening number "Don't look twice" which starts off as a typical Ben Harper slide-based ballad but then Charlie's harmonica playing takes it to a different place, giving it an almost Tom Waits-like feel. Elsewhere "I'm in I'm out I'm gone", "I don't believe a word you say" and "Blood side out" are all tough bluesy songs with Ben's full band and driven by the harp and guitar, while "She got kick" is also very bluesy but has lead guitar up front and very subdued harp. "We can't end this way" is a nice gospel song complete with backup vocals. Two of my favourite tracks are the two slow acoustic ballads "You found another lover" and the closing "All that matters now", both very moving. This is a very loose, relaxed record - it's not the best thing that either artist has done but it is a rewarding listen with both men really gelling and complementing each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ......And stay up., 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Up! (Audio CD)
Charlie Musselwhite is God's own harp player. I enjoy most of what he does and 'Continental Drifter' remains one of my favourite albums. I imagine Charlie's road-worn voice is an acquired taste for some and with Harper on vocal duties throughout Charlie gets to hunker down to some real business on harmonica and probably find a whole new audience for his playing in so doing. This is no harmonica album though. Charlie often seeks new musical landscapes for his blues harp and this is no exception. The ensemble playing is gritty and authentic. There is light and space in the recording, a rare pleasure these days when so much new music seems so heavily compressed. The CD is not overlong either, so we get all the meat and none of the fat. Standout tracks for me are 'We Can't End This Way', 'Blood Side Out' and 'I Ride At Dawn'. Charlie must have been taking a coffee break during the latter, which features an excellent vocal from Harper. Special mention for the bass player who must have had a great time making this music. These boys have kept the faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Partnership, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Up! (Audio CD)
If you like your Blues with meaning and a little bit of soul, this is an album for you. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a classic we must have on vinyl, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Up [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I'm not a fan of Ben Harper but this this is a great Blues Album, a classic we must have on vinyl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great pairing, and the whole ensemble groove along nicely, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Up! (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
this is a really good record, i resisted a 5 star rating because, even though i'm still in the process of ingesting it, it just seems to marginally lack that extra jeu ne sais quoi that merits a fifth star. some stand-out stompers, some laid-back yet soulfully intense medium-pacers, some respectfully-wrought folky/ballady things, but never less than groovesome, intense but not heavy-going both musically and in lyrical sentiment, and finally a success any way you look at it. this is a partnership that will last, and will probably get even better . for now, this is top-notch blues/rock/soul music, without too many equals. you just get the feeling they're warming up.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get up, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Up! (Audio CD)
Great cd two men doing what they do best ,making good music for all to hear. Long may it last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring and traditional, 12 April 2014
By 
Erik The Read "Lollo" (Fredrikstad, Eastfold, Norway) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Up! (Audio CD)
To me this is more of another boring straightforward muzak - blues with no potential. It just rolls on in the same traditional modus and it kind of disappoints me that Ben Harper participates 'cause I've found his productions to be far more elaborate and complicated kind of bluesy folk rock with much more stamina and interesting twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get up does and is in your faces blues/roots, 5 April 2014
This review is from: Get Up! (Audio CD)
Having given up a bit on Ben Harper, this was a pleasant surprise. I have yet to watch the DVD but the music is sound. Charlie Musselwhite and Ben harper mix well. I have always had a fondness for the gob iron and Mr Musselwhite's chops do not disappoint. Dedicated to Solomon Burke and the great John Lee Hooker is apt as their spirit is alive and kicking in this mix. Usual bitter sweet Ben Harper lyrics but good moody mix of blues and shredded up guitar an' squalling harp makes this one for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get Down, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Up! (Audio CD)
Ben Harper is new to me. I was impressed by his voice and range of material. The tracks vary in quality on this disc but the best ones are those which allow Charlie Mussel White to let loose on his harmonica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Blues album Grammy winner 2014, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Up! (Audio CD)
The album won a Grammy for the Best Blues Album this year 2014, beating Joe Bonamassa & Beth Hart's 'Seesaw'. Just listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Get Up! [+digital booklet]
Get Up! [+digital booklet] by Ben Harper and Charlie Musselwhite
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews