Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Backbeats CDs, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Crossover To Soul - More Crossover Soul From The 60's and 70's (Audio CD)
Just a short history first.Not having an e.mail address of my own I am using my friends. My name is John Gravett and I was born in1945. In1960 I fell in love with soul music and still feel the same way about it to this day.Love all Motown, Stax, Atlantic, Chi-Town, Curtom etc, etc.Favourite act of all time The Dells. No Arguments. I tell you this so that you know where I'm coming from. Having bought 10 previous Backbeat CDs this one appealed to me purely from the title.Having discovered the track listing ( go to Backbeats own website) and found that this contained quite a few tracks I had forgotten about I ordered it. It arrived perfectly the following day and I have been in heaven ever since. Modern Crossover Two Steppers call it whatever you want,IT'S SUPERB. Stand out tracks? To hard to say! How about Barrino brothers Trapped In A Love, Johnnie Taylor You're The Best In The World, Winfield Parker Will There Be Another Love For Me, Will Hatcher Who Am I Without You Baby. Plus many other fantastic tracks from amongst others Willie Hutch, Syl Johnson, Lou Courtney and Ike Lovely. Special mention also to the distaff side especially Maxine Brown Its Gonna BeAlright and Queen Aretha with a stunner called One Step Beyond. Special praise should be given to Sean Hampsey who put this all together and Backbeat who released it. Buy it now and Keep The Faith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars soul CD, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Crossover To Soul - More Crossover Soul From The 60's and 70's (Audio CD)
Thankyou for the CD!!!! worth the wait, glad to get it. , much appreciated, good value for money and great music, thanks ange
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Crossover To Soul - More Crossover Soul From The 60's and 70's (Audio CD)
A fantastic mix of Crossover gems with liner notes by Sean Hampsey who knows a thing or two about rare soul music.
I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High standards maintained, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Crossover To Soul - More Crossover Soul From The 60's and 70's (Audio CD)
Excellent selection of 60s and 70s Crossover Soul. Backbeats continue to deliver music of the highest quality at a most reasonable price. Too many standout tracks, but I particularly love Maxine Brown's "It's Gonna Be Alright" and Aretha Franklin's "One Step Ahead".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Crossover stuff., 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Crossover To Soul - More Crossover Soul From The 60's and 70's (Audio CD)
This is a great CD - Ujima - had to buy the single. Aretha Franklin (all day long). Another great selection form the Backbeat collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars These backbeats compilations are the best value bar none, 28 Sep 2014
This review is from: Backbeats: Crossover To Soul - More Crossover Soul From The 60's and 70's (Audio CD)
These backbeats compilations are the best value bar none,this one keeps up the high standard hard to pick out individual tracks but for me the soul children with midnight sunshine is just ace (don't think they ever made a bad record) other standout for me laura lee with the sublime remember me 100 proof I've come to save you also tracks by johnny Taylor the barrino brothers but really not a bad track on show,if you like soul music this is essential purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Collection, 13 April 2013
By 
Dean Davies "Dean Davies" (Liverpool, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Crossover To Soul - More Crossover Soul From The 60's and 70's (Audio CD)
A steal at this price for many rare soul gems. Well edited and mastered. Essential purchase for the collector. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great cd, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Crossover To Soul - More Crossover Soul From The 60's and 70's (Audio CD)
Another great value for money cd from the backbeats collection now got a dozen of these and will continue to collect them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 60/70's crossover to soul, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some great previously unheard tracks here. Good value for all old soul lovers. Not great but very good and worth the addition in any soul collection. Reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SURPRISE, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Crossover To Soul - More Crossover Soul From The 60's and 70's (Audio CD)
ONLY GOT THIS FOR ONE TRACK, SO IT WAS NICE TO FIND SEVERAL TRACKS THAT I HAD'NT HEARD IN A WHILE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews