Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare - but good
I was a little dubious buying this as I have bought some Backbeats before, and some had such obscure, specialist tracks I wasn't that keen. However after reading the reviews, and as its ridiculously cheap I got it (the CD is cheaper than the MP3, and with Autorip you get both for the CD!).
Great tunes had me foot tapping and chair dancing (eh?) in no time. Some very...
Published 12 months ago by Julian Guffogg

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There are better Backbeats
Having bought a few of this series this one has been the only real disappointment. Its okay but no more than that, with a few tracks that are actually a bit rubbish. At the price its not a disaster, but if I were you I'd choose another.
Published 9 months ago by Worldweary


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare - but good, 17 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Digger's Delight - More Rare-Groove Gems (Audio CD)
I was a little dubious buying this as I have bought some Backbeats before, and some had such obscure, specialist tracks I wasn't that keen. However after reading the reviews, and as its ridiculously cheap I got it (the CD is cheaper than the MP3, and with Autorip you get both for the CD!).
Great tunes had me foot tapping and chair dancing (eh?) in no time. Some very funky tracks.
I did recognise "Sneaking up Behind You" from the Brecker Bros, and quite a few tunes used as samples, thinking "Ah that's where its from!".
Well done Backbeats.
By the way, the CD will arrive in a day or two - I love Autorip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare Funk, Soul & Jazz grooves, 5 Jun 2013
By 
OMG! It's got a plug! (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Digger's Delight - More Rare-Groove Gems (Audio CD)
This is another top drawer release from the latest batch of CDs in the now legendary Backbeats series. Most of the featured tracks are from the mid and second half of the Seventies and there's an abundance of funk, soul and jazz vibes.

Hubert Laws' 'Family' features some cool bass grooves and a flute break and Debra Laws sings the lyrics with the passion they deserve. Lalo Schifrin's 'Theme from Hong Kong is 4 minutes & 13 seconds of frantic robotic funk featuring an overload of horns and woodwind. Shuggie Otis is bissfully out of his head on the laid back 'Aht Uh Mi Hed' and Linda "Tequila" Logan's cute vocals on Larry Young's Fuel's 'Turn Off The Lights' have gotta be heard to be believed - she sings like a woman possessed who knows exactly what she wants and she's determined to get it! 'Troglodyte' by the Jimmy Castor Bunch is an isane story of caveman lust. The lyrics and vocals put it in the novelty category but it's rescued by a killer funk beat. The Modulations round out the album with the social commentary of 'It's Rough Out Here' that sounds more Blaxplotation than the Philly Soul they're normally associated with.

Clocking in at a generous 75:42 minutes, this is a welcome addition to the series and, considering the near give away price, it's a no-brainer purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great funk, some classics, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Digger's Delight - More Rare-Groove Gems (Audio CD)
I'm not funk expert but I like this. Plenty of tracks to dance to, with some real classics that even I have heard, or heard samples of in other tracks. Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digger's Delight, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Digger's Delight - More Rare-Groove Gems (Audio CD)
This album is packed with gems from back in the day - never ageless or timeless and a great way to reminisce
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars they keep on doing it, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Digger's Delight - More Rare-Groove Gems (Audio CD)
yes another good compo with a good cross section of tracks couple of items i did not remember so nice to hear again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great CD, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Digger's Delight - More Rare-Groove Gems (Audio CD)
Great compilations of tracts with a mix of funk, soul and jazz . Good price for some very good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic CD, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Digger's Delight - More Rare-Groove Gems (Audio CD)
This cd will get you doing the bugaloo. Solid hard funk. Every track is a tune. It will grace my collection for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, Very Tasty, 22 May 2013
By 
Mr. A. I. N. Jefferson "ally j" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Digger's Delight - More Rare-Groove Gems (Audio CD)
I just knew that this was going to be something special.The release date kept being chopped and changed causing much unwanted anxiety but yes, it's finally here and represents all that is great about a Backbeats compilation - top notch tunes for a very affordable price.

Stand out tracks for me Bernard Wright's Hobglobatrobin, Shuggie Otis Aht Uh Mi Head...just endless...tunes that take me back to the vibes of London's Rare Groove scene of the late 80's.

This release comes highly recommended, especially for those who may be into collecting compilations by DJ's like Norman Jay and Gilles Peterson. I think this particular album is an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best finds ever, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Digger's Delight - More Rare-Groove Gems (Audio CD)
Backbeats, what can I say, thank you for restoring my faith in the indie music industry, all of this for just 3pounds.

Its a deal, it's a steal, it's sale of the f*@≠ing century
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funky, 18 May 2014
By 
Peter Ainger (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: Digger's Delight - More Rare-Groove Gems (Audio CD)
good funky good time , great tunes on here for such a small amount of money , paid more for just one single years ago , buy it recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Backbeats: Digger's Delight - More Rare-Groove Gems
Backbeats: Digger's Delight - More Rare-Groove Gems by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews