Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Requires attention
I'm a long time fan of The Knife, I think they're two of the most inspiring, intelligent, and talented musicians around, and i've enjoyed their side projects Fever Ray, Oni Ayhun, and the Darwin opera Tomorrow in a Year, which in many ways seems to be a precursor to this.

Shaking the Habitual can almost be split into two albums, first the more traditional Knife...
Published 9 months ago by ADAM

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure - micro review
I have enjoyed previous Knife and Fever Ray stuff but this album only hints at how good it could be. There are a few standout tracks but im bored of the sort of drone ambient noise fillers - heard it all before (do younger fans find this exciting and new?) the odd one or two like this is fine.

Generally It sounds a bit like the Knife are taking the p*ss a bit...
Published 22 months ago by Brad


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 30 Jan. 2015
By 
S. Holmes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaking The Habitual (Audio CD)
Have been a loyal fan but this is garbage. pains me to say it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased John Rock, 5 Feb. 2015
By 
john rock (HOPEWELL, NEW JERSEY, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaking The Habitual (Audio CD)
Very pleased
John Rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What happened!, 7 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaking The Habitual (Audio CD)
I love The Knife, and Silent Shout is one of my all time favourite albums. I was really looking forward to the new album, which was a long time in the making. How very disappointing. It appears no effort has gone into making this. It is just a collection of electronic sounds, which have no melody at all.. A huge let down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars changed band for the worst, 10 Aug. 2014
By 
Paul Knipe (Cumbria England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaking The Habitual (Audio CD)
Complete self indulgence from what I thought was a great act, I love the first two albums this should have been great, this is just noise and the art work/middle class socialist rubbish cover on the cd is what I'd expect by a school band. Unadventurous and boring really sorry to say that, what happened to the knife that were in mix mag 10 years ago running through the snow wearing beak masks? This is not them, the vocals are still fantastic just poor material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shaking the Habitual, 19 Dec. 2013
By 
suzypink (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaking The Habitual (Audio CD)
Another wonderful, unique work from the very talented The Knife. I cannot find a fault with any track, hence my 5 star rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The knife have moved on, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaking The Habitual (Audio CD)
I'm still getting to grips with this one - a good sign! It's not Silent Shout, The Knife have moved on in the 7 years since their last offering; whilst I love Silent Shout, a lot, it would have been disappointing to have continued where they left off in all that time.

It's a more progressive and involved album which requires a bit more commitment from the listener. My hope is that it will grow and have longevity that more accessible material might not offer; we'll see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so great., 11 May 2013
This review is from: Shaking The Habitual (Audio CD)
By now it seems The Knife can do no wrong, and if they released an album of engine sounds they'd probably still get 5-star reviews (the Emperor without clothes syndrome).

Sadly this album was a huge disappointment to me. I have been a fan and a follower of The Knife since their first album, and have come to expect something innovative and different from Karin and Olof Dreijer whenever they create something new. I have also come to expect that The Knife often require a few good listens to grow on you. The first time I heard Silent Shout I was less than impressed, but after a while I came to love it at least as much as I loved Deep Cuts. There is absolutely no doubt that Karin and Olof are brilliant and hugely innovative artists.

That said, Shaking The Habitual is a rather far cry from their other albums. In fact, most of the album isn't really music at all, but rather pure deconstruction of sound and noisy experiments with dissonance that borderlines sound torture. And for that reason alone, I hardly understand how Shaking The Habitual can garner so many rave reviews, when it's difficult to even classify it as a music album at all. Sure, if you like the sound of a fork being dragged across a metal plate, or loud shrieks and long dragged out monotonous tones and endless messing around with electronic instruments - this may be just what you are looking for. I can recommend Julia Holter's "Tragedy: 2013 Bonus Edition" album, if that's your thing.

But for those of us hoping for a Knife album (meaning an album that actually resembles The Knife from their previous releases), it's hard to see how Shaking The Habitual can be anything but a let down. Because it is really not a Knife album at all. It is a recording of the members of The Knife mainly experimenting with sounds instead of melodies, and rumors would have it that Shaking The Habitual represents some kind of protest against commercialism and consumerism (judging from interviews and hearsay, they despise their own success - and especially the commercial success of Heartbeats). So it may be that Shaking The Habitual was intended as a sort of scorched earth tactics to alienate fans (like myself), and to break with their own sound or reinvent themselves or whatever. I honestly don't really care. The product speaks for itself.

I'll continue to love and listen to their previous albums, but if Shaking The Habitual with all it's droning and ambient sound fetishism is the future direction of The Knife, consider this particular fan permanently alienated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shaking the Cryptic Tree, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaking The Habitual (Audio CD)
After a cursory listen to the new offering by Sweden's finest, The Knife present an uncompromising listen which pushes way beyond the wonders of Silent Shout. Curiously I received the new album by The Residents, Mush-Room, at the same time. The parallels between the two bands are thus all the clearer. The Residents were the pioneers of anonymity and the Knife have embraced it as their career has rocketed. Its musically however where the real similarities manifest themselves. I don't think there is an intentional mimicry at play, simply a similar mining of a particular sonic texture and delight in surreal weirdness. Not everyones cup of tea, but an album that confirms their place in the Premier League of best Bands for me. This is an album that will be staying on my play list for a long, long time........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaking The Habitual (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars to knife or not to knife, 26 May 2013
By 
N. Cruz (Zurich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaking The Habitual (Audio CD)
The Knife have left this release of this Lp for to long now there is a large gap in the sound between the last Lp and this one for the fans to catch up .it would be better suited to be a side project .

They changed their sound from a melody based to a rhythm , tribal sound laced with industrial influences . The songs are to long and become irratating . and this album is hard work.
If you give 5 stars this means that you like all the tracks 100% and that is rare for any one to achieve.
Listen before you buy . you might like it .
My disappoitment of the year so far .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shaking The Habitual
Shaking The Habitual by The Knife (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews