Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, vast amounts of detail and first hand experiences
Really enjoyed this. There's a lot of technical detail which I found fascinating along with vivid accounts from the pilots. The stories were new to me despite having quite a few books on the subject already. Brian Carroll's memories of getting a Lightning F53 so high he was doing Mach 2 but still only just above stall speed is a great tale for instance...
Published on 28 Oct. 2008 by S. Millband

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lightning story
The book tells the Lightning story from the Pilot's view. I am not sure what I was expecting but I found it bland. The book did cover most of the RAF Lightning versions although it did spend a lot of time on the Mk 1/1a. A lot of the book was views or observations from various Lightning pilots. The comments were all valid. However, there were not as many photos as I...
Published 12 months ago by RayB


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, vast amounts of detail and first hand experiences, 28 Oct. 2008
By 
S. Millband (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this. There's a lot of technical detail which I found fascinating along with vivid accounts from the pilots. The stories were new to me despite having quite a few books on the subject already. Brian Carroll's memories of getting a Lightning F53 so high he was doing Mach 2 but still only just above stall speed is a great tale for instance!

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything you want to know about the Lightning, 31 Oct. 2009
By 
Malc Jeffries (North Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a book for those who expect chapters of 'derring do' from past pilots of this aircraft.
The book is indeed full of facts, performance figures, development history and also narrative from the brave guys who sat in the cockpit, but for me, the Title was a slight embellishment of the books content. This is not to detract from the amount of time and effort the author obviously put into the production of this book, but there are many chapters of aircraft research and performance data which left me skipping some of those pages.
A more obvious title would have been similar to the heading of this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating....., 1 Mar. 2009
By 
J. Camwell "iggie" (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fascinating in-sight into the science behind the design & production of a brilliant example of British engineering at it's best; some highly technical bits to keep the 'techies' enthralled, and some amazing first hand descriptions of flying, operating & maintaining what was a fantastic aircraft, then and now.
If you love Lightnings, then this is for you; snd please support the LPG too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A present, 23 Aug. 2013
By 
B. Laver - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was bought as an eightieth birthday present for an Aeroplane mad friend .He loved it, so a fortunate choice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grade as high as the Lightning can fly, 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a short but highly informative book. Just 180 pages, but it will tell you (almost) anything you'd like to know about the technical aspects of operating the English Electric/BAC Lightning. Personally, I found the most interesting chapter to be 'Lightning versus U-2', which describes high-altitude interception training conducted with this iconic recon jet. And you will find a lot more of such trivia within the book. It also features three highly valuable appendices.

Do take note, however, that the book is very technical in terms of language and facts described. If you have little expertise in the field, reading might become tedious in certain points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For those aviation fans with an analytical slant, 3 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning from the Cockpit: Flying the Supersonic Legend (Kindle Edition)
Excellent reading for those that enjoy more technical material; plenty of test and operational pilot analysis of this greatest fighter of the Cold War era. Some interesting comparisons with NATO and other contemporary fighters of the period. What is clearly evident is the high regard with which all who had the privilege of flying this magnificent fighter held it. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lightning story, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning from the Cockpit: Flying the Supersonic Legend (Kindle Edition)
The book tells the Lightning story from the Pilot's view. I am not sure what I was expecting but I found it bland. The book did cover most of the RAF Lightning versions although it did spend a lot of time on the Mk 1/1a. A lot of the book was views or observations from various Lightning pilots. The comments were all valid. However, there were not as many photos as I was expecting. Neither did it cover the views of anyone other than Pilots. I have read previously RAF Units of the Cold War and the Aerofax series on the V Aircraft and I suppose I was using my previous reading as a benchmark. I found this book gently interesting but it would not become a reference book for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK ish, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning from the Cockpit: Flying the Supersonic Legend (Kindle Edition)
thought there might be more experiences of flying the Lightning rather than so much technical background. that's all folks bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Account of the Lightning - warts and all., 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning from the Cockpit: Flying the Supersonic Legend (Kindle Edition)
Peter Caygill had a wonderful career in the RAF and was fortunate to fly and operate Britain's front line fighters of the 1950's and 60's. This is one of the best books of the period I have ever read, as the author balances the mind blowing performance of the Lightning with operational issues such as reliability and performing it's operational role of interception when it carried such little fuel.

Well written and a great read. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Disappointing, 9 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning from the Cockpit: Flying the Supersonic Legend (Kindle Edition)
As mentioned previously this would be better titled "Everything that I found out about the Lightning". Whilst there's plenty of stuff of interest to the Lightning enthusiast, there's also a lot of fairly dry, and at times repetitive, information especially where the flying characteristics of each mark are covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews