Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars GQ
Just as good as reading the hard copy of the magazine

I would reccomend this app to read on the go.
Published 6 months ago by davidd

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply terrible.
This used to be an extremely detailed app tailor made for tablets. Now it seems nothing more than a simple copy paste of the actual magazine.

Which would be fine, but when using a 7 inch Kindle Fire HD one almost has to squint to read what lies on each page. There doesn't seem to be anyway to zoom in, I'm sure it's fine for people with large tablets but with...
Published 1 day ago by Jeremy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Simply terrible., 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GQ Magazine UK (Kindle Fire Edition) (App)
This used to be an extremely detailed app tailor made for tablets. Now it seems nothing more than a simple copy paste of the actual magazine.

Which would be fine, but when using a 7 inch Kindle Fire HD one almost has to squint to read what lies on each page. There doesn't seem to be anyway to zoom in, I'm sure it's fine for people with large tablets but with the large amount of small types on the market now there are sure to be hundreds more disgruntled by this lazy, I mean 'simplified' application.

As well as it being tiny there is the issue that the app does not save your last read page. Sneaky tactic to make us look through the horrendous amounts of advertisements again? Perhaps, I however feel it far more likely that whoever took over the digital version design did it with minimal enthusiasm and even less interest in basic ergonomics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GQ Magazine UK (Kindle Fire Edition) (App)
You are merely downloading a preview copy. You will have to pay for a subscription if you want the full magazine, which is incredibly pricey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good app but..., 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GQ Magazine UK (Kindle Fire Edition) (App)
Excellent app however. Despite the advertising stating free access to the on line version on the kindle fire for existing subscribers, this stopped working when my subscription was renewed 2 months ago . Despite an email stating that Conde Nast are sorting it it still doesn't work. Very frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GQ Magazine UK (Kindle Fire Edition) (App)
Don't know how this got here I've been trying to delete it Maybe at 86 I'm too old to understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Used to be Excellent, Update Has Made it Poor, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GQ Magazine UK (Kindle Fire Edition) (App)
First of, as others have said, you still need to pay for any issues you want to view, the app is only a way to view and buy them.

The app used to be excellent, the magazine's were interactive, adding to what was already in the print version with other types of media like videos or sound clips. Certain articles had more information when clicking on them, or various other features not possible in print. Articles were also laid out for use in the app, so there was no need to zoom in or scroll around a page to read info. One of the reasons I kept my subscription was because the experience was so good.

That version was easily worth 5 stars , as it ran very smoothly and had lots of features whilst looking great the whole time.

They have recently 'upgraded' the app to remove most of these features. The download versions now seem to be exact copies of the print version with no extra features. Basically an exact scan of every page. The new app is very slow on my Kindle Fire HDX, although I've downloaded an.issue, flicking through the pages isn't smooth, and frequently you get to a page which hasn't downloaded and only begins to download when you open it. Sometimes when I'm reading a page, the magazine will flick back to the previous page, which is obviously very annoying. As the layout isn't designed for the screen, you're now required to zoom and scroll just to read the article.

I've given 2 stars as I like the magazine content, but the new presentation is a massive downgrade. The experience detracts from the magazine content now, were previously it had enhanced it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GQ Magazine UK (Kindle Fire Edition) (App)
You don't really get anything from this as the main option of it is to get you buy the subscription was a little disappointed with and have now deleted it from my kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Convenient way to read my magazine, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. P. Mex - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GQ Magazine UK (Kindle Fire Edition) (App)
This is a great convenient way to read GQ on the run.
The app is good and after getting used to, becomes second nature.
I've only awarded 3 stars because one has to go around the houses a bit to get to the issue one was last reading (although it remembers your page) each time the app is launched (although I appreciate this might be something stupid I am doing - but I haven't found an obvious way round it yet).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GQ, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GQ Magazine UK (Kindle Fire Edition) (App)
Just as good as reading the hard copy of the magazine

I would reccomend this app to read on the go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfactory, 25 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GQ Magazine UK (Kindle Fire Edition) (App)
Do not know why I dislike it but I do. Online differences? Could be! It seems more importance is placed on the ads, and I understand that, but could they be done less obtrusively?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sign in, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GQ Magazine UK (Kindle Fire Edition) (App)
The magazine is great on the Fire. It's getting it in the first place that's the problem. Every time have to sign in, why cannot it remember me? Then takes an age to download 700mb file and if you click out of the app during download you have to start all over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GQ Magazine UK (Kindle Fire Edition)
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews