Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mission accomplished - and it was a hard one!
Let's begin by saying that it is really not a piece of cake to write a good AND interesting book on the battle like this one. The battle of Caen was basically an excruciating pushing and shoving match, an attrition battle that lasted months, which in principle is not something very glamorous to write about. Well, Ken Ford did it and he did it REALLY well. I was myself...
Published on 6 Jun. 2007 by Darth Maciek

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A quck read
Was at the D Day memorial in Caen and wanted a quick read about what happened after 6 June. wanted to understand my father's war. Good info from many perspectives.
Published 10 months ago by ANnette


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mission accomplished - and it was a hard one!, 6 Jun. 2007
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Let's begin by saying that it is really not a piece of cake to write a good AND interesting book on the battle like this one. The battle of Caen was basically an excruciating pushing and shoving match, an attrition battle that lasted months, which in principle is not something very glamorous to write about. Well, Ken Ford did it and he did it REALLY well. I was myself surprised that this book actually wouldn't let me go before I finished it.

The description of the battle is very well structured, clear and precise, with every next development and the reasons behind it very well explained. The maps and illustrations are good, the color plates are gorgeous!

One minor remark, to the Osprey editing team - according to the text the picture on the page 35 is supposed showing a Forward Artillery Observer guiding the fire of HMS "Exeter"! Well, that is hardly possible, ladies and gentlemen, because in June 1944 she was laying on the bottom of Pacific since more than two years! And that is not a little error, considering the immortal fame of this ship acquired at the Battle of Plata in 1939 and its tragic and heroic fate during the Java battle in 1942. SHAME on you guys for putting a black spot on an otherwise extraordinary book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monty's Meatgrinder, 23 Dec. 2008
By 
Gisli Jokull Gislason "Jokull" (Iceland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Ken Ford has done an excellent job with Caen and Osprey now has a series of books that give a clear big picture of the allied landings in France 1944 up to the fall of Paris. Among those books Caen stands out as one of the best and I felt I got to know quite a bit about the struggle and sacrifice. Caen had been the main British D-day objective but one that would take more than a month to complete. In part it was overambitious to expect the landing forces to capture Caen and then British leadership failed by being cautious. Tactical retreats would later lead to huge sacrifices as objectives needed to be recaptured. The Birtish and Canadian forces were well trained and equipped with great air and naval support but most were inexperienced. They faced fanantical SS troops and in a series of costly and failed offensives the armies ground each other down, at a cost in men that neither could afford. Sveral battalions suffered 80% losses and were almost wiped out. The terrain was hard on the attacker and there was little room for maneuvers and limited offensives failed time and time again. It would need a concentrated large scale offensive to break the Germans. The book goes down to personal detail and is very easy to read. The maps are good and the colour plates add to the story. All in all a very good book and fascinating read. I recommend you read "Falaise, 1944: Death of an Army" also by Ford after Caen, it follows the events right after Caen and the victory of the allied forces in Normandy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attrition in Normandy, 16 Feb. 2010
By 
N. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the third of Ken Ford's quartet of titles covering the British and Commonwealth part of Operation Overlord and the battle for Normandy. This is certainly one of the strongest of Osprey's Campaign series although the limitations of space often mean that the books, however good, tend to fall a little short of 5 star rankings in my opinion.

The book picks up the fighting from the mid June, with Operation Epsom and ends with the capture of Caen at the close of Operation Goodwood. By concentrating solely on this part of the Normandy campaign, Ken Ford is able to bring a clear focus to events and the narrative is not distracted by events over in the US sector. It avoids the usual Osprey failing of trying to do too much in the limited space available. However, despite that, there are still some omissions such as a 3D battle view of Operation Goodwood (I assume that the editors thought that readers would already own the earlier `Normandy' Campaign book) and the truncated coverage of the Canadian efforts at Carpiquet Airfield (Operation Windsor). The book also tries to steer clear of the controversies surrounding Monty's conduct of these battles, although that is no bad thing in my opinion as these are well covered elsewhere.

As with all Osprey books in this series there is no space for personal testimonies, however readers looking for this should try `Caen : Anvil of Victory by Alexander McKee' which you might be able to pick up second hand from one of Amazons partners.

Overall, definitely one of the best in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Caen 1944, 2 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would say exactly the same as I said in my review of Falaise 1944 in the same series by the same author.

Well enough written. More detail on this part of the battle than you get in the standard books on the Normandy Campaign by Max Hastings, Anthony Beevor et al.

Well illustrated with excellent pictures and maps of actions that help you understand the narrative. Superior to the standards in that way.

A bit of a pain that as the maps are 2 pages vital information is buried deep in the folds.

Would recommend for anyone really interested in the Normandy Campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A quck read, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caen 1944 - Montgomery's break-out attempt: Montgomery's Breakout Attempt (Campaign 143) (Kindle Edition)
Was at the D Day memorial in Caen and wanted a quick read about what happened after 6 June. wanted to understand my father's war. Good info from many perspectives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cancel this asap., 21 Aug. 2014
By 
Kindle Customer (Dover, Kent, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caen 1944 - Montgomery's break-out attempt: Montgomery's Breakout Attempt (Campaign 143) (Kindle Edition)
I did not order this item please cancel it and refund the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews