Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 2nd album
They've moved on a little from Beachcomber's Windowsill but not so far as to lose the charm that they have. Once again lyrics and vocals are sublime.
I have one gripe in that you can't hear the lyrics of all the tracks clearly, something that was a big plus on 'Beachcomber's'. I want give it 4.5 but based on that and the fact that after 50 years of music listening...
Published 18 months ago by Buster Blister

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The lull before the storm.......
We're all here because the debut Stornoway album was nothing short of extraordinary and sublime. So, we move on to the "difficult second album" stage of their career.

I'm a big Stornoway fan and I was very excited to hear the album, especially after seeing them live recently and hearing a few of the new songs. The band are superb musician's and are great live...
Published 18 months ago by Team McLaren


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Firma Terratoria Needed........, 20 Mar 2013
This review is from: Tales from Terra Firma (Audio CD)
It's that difficult second album time. I saw Stornoway live in Sheffield recently and they were superb, particularly when they went acoustic. I've listened to the album for about a week and it's more difficult than the first album which has a superb immediacy about it. You have to wait until track 3, The Bigger Picture before it gets interesting. The Great Procrastinator stands out too. Another reviewer said it, possibly this album is too complicated. I like it but it is not as strong as Beachcombers Windowsill which I would recommend to anyone as a great album. They'll be back with stronger material on the next album because the songwriter has a gift for melody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second album a case of more is less,not as fresh or immediate, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from Terra Firma (Audio CD)
Their stunning debut was like a breath of fresh air and was probably my favourite album of that year. I had been so looking forward to this follow up but after listening to it for a couple of weeks it is good and interesting , but also in places has denser production, for me losing some of the beautiful clarity and simple freshness of the first album. Brian Briggs has a fine distinctive singing voice, but on this second album it is sometimes overwhelmed or cluttered by more fussy arrangements and fancy production techniques. The lyrics are still memorable with some lovely poetic images conjured up, but they are sometimes a bit muddied and lost in some of the more elaborate production. Don't get me wrong, this is still a great album. The images of nature, birds and landscape come across strongly,and the self deprecating humour of The Great Procrastinator is one of the best tracks for me. Within the CD package the images relating a snippet of lyric from most of the songs to a comic book strip image is a nice touch. However, it would have also been desirable to have had a separate lyric sheet included as well. The tunes are not as strong and singalong as the debut, and the album is not as immediate, but there are some fascinating lyrics and great ideas.I think this will be a slow grower, and overall it is maybe a case of more ( like violins and woodwind and odd time signature changes within a song)are less effective and enjoyable, so perhaps try and keep it simpler for the next album. Despite my mild criticism, this album is still a lot more varied and interesting than much else that is around at the moment, and I hope that Stornoway will be around for a long time to come with their different slant on life which is far more inspired by science and nature than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of these songs made me cry!, 15 Mar 2013
The richness of emotion, and musical depth took my breath away! Maturing as a band or what!!! This album has been worth waiting for,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average but they are young, 9 Sep 2014
By 
3turn (Rayleigh Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best I've ever heard but ok wallpaper music if you it to drift around the place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Second album, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful follow-up to Beachcomber's Windowsill, great vocals and instrumentals, the stand out track for me is Farewell Appalachia, gives me the same chills as The Coldharbour Road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from Terra Firma (Audio CD)
They are a fab fab and this is a great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better every time you listen, 3 May 2013
By 
Mr. R. Marsh "bob marsh" (loughborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales from Terra Firma (Audio CD)
A great second album moving on from an excellent debut. I found the album more polished and confident with great lyrics and harmonies. At the moment Stornoway are a well hidden gem but must surely break through to a wider audience soon. Best new indie band for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great new album, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is something a bit different, it has a nice variety of new songs still with the distinctive Stornoway style, excellent vocals, haunting melodies, a real pleasure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from Terra Firma (Audio CD)
I loved the first album and this is just as good. Have seen them live a couple of times now and they get better each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 2 April 2013
By 
Mr. T. Long (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm a great Stornaway fan , loved the first album , thought they were brilliant live. But this album has to be seen as a poor second album . Gone are the catchy sing-along tunes, replaced by dreary tuneless tracks. Come on you can do better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales from Terra Firma
Tales from Terra Firma by Stornoway (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews