Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars61
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 December 2010
Shadows of the Past is a great read; lovely characters and a terrific story that stays with you long after you've reached the final page. There's a touch of Bronte about it, especially in the way the author vividly evokes how the past casts its shadow over the future. Elaine Shelabarger's second book has all the ingredients for whiling away a perfect afternoon; captivating characters, a page-turning plot, a fascinating historical setting and a timeless and universal theme - the redeeming power of love.

Can't wait for the sequel!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 20 April 2013
This is a quick read, a historical romance set in Victorian times. There are no real departures in the plot from the usual historical romance formula, but nevertheless it keeps your interest going right to the end as you keep reading to see if Adeline and Guy can overcome the obstacles that stand in their way. The characters, on the whole, are likeable and behave and speak appropriately for the times the book is set in. An enjoyable read that you don't need to think too hard about.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
If a book is intended for the English market then surely it isn't too much to ask that words are spelt the English way particularly when the storyline is about 19th century English aristocracy. I think phrases like 'your point is' are too up-to-date and words like 'gotten' are not used in England.

The storyline was very static with no substantial content and it could be predicted all the way through what would happen in the end. To me the storyline was not particularly believable given that it was set 200 years ago: things happened that just would not have happened then.

If you just want a not particularly taxing book and don't care that Americanisms scream from every page (although the author is English) then this book could be for you.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
A good easy read with predictable story line format , but enjoyable all the same.The characters where well written it had a good period feel to it nice to have alight read for a change.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
Didn't read past the first couple of chapters as it felt like Jane Eyre in a blender. May have improved if I'd read on, but I'm afraid life is too short.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Good story found myself reading a couple of chapters at a time. Great on Kindle for travelling and waiting for appointments. Will purchase more by this author.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
A good read that kept my attention and interest from beginning to end. I also got quite angry with one of the characters! I recommend this story.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
I have just finished reading this book and found it very good. It was a bit predictable in places but still i wanted to finish it and enjoyed doing so. The characters were good, and i enjoyed disliking the priest (Giles) he was a good villain to choose, i was hoping his sister would find her true love in Bath but alas twas not to be!!!. Write more please!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
I really enjoyed this historical romance featuring the rather dashing Guy Ashleigh and Adeline a young widow hiding from a scandal not of her doing. There are lots of obstacles to them getting together including their respective stations in life, the past, expectations and jealousies. It's how they overcome them which makes this such an interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
I thoroughly loved this book. I rarely find time to read but as I was going on holiday, an easy to read romance was all I desired and Shadows of the Past completely fulfilled this. Beautifully written with great characters I was drawn in and could hardly put it down. Hopefully the next two will be just as difficult to tear myself away from.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.