Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun but difficult
if you're looking for a hack and slash game this isn't it i can't stress that enough. this game is about tactics and patience you can't just run in blindly and expect to be fine. i see some of the reviews on here complaining about its difficulty but that's what the game was made for not to be a simple stroll in the park. what i will say is if you get stuck there are...
Published 2 months ago by Sam Cross

versus
2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too difficult and dull
Maybe I am just not a good enough player, but I get to a couple of boss battles that I just can not win. I intend to explore a bit more to try to get powerful and then have another go at them. The problem with that is that you have to play the same parts over 10-12 times (until the enemies no longer respawn) to build up your skills. Graphics are good but NPC...
Published 2 months ago by Wrant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun but difficult, 26 May 2014
This review is from: Dark Souls II (PC) (DVD-ROM)
if you're looking for a hack and slash game this isn't it i can't stress that enough. this game is about tactics and patience you can't just run in blindly and expect to be fine. i see some of the reviews on here complaining about its difficulty but that's what the game was made for not to be a simple stroll in the park. what i will say is if you get stuck there are plenty of guides and help on the internet as well as being able to summon people to help you.

when you buy this game prepare for frustration but also a great deal of satisfaction when you kill a boss which has taken you like 20 tries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sequal to darksouls, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls II (PC) (DVD-ROM)
good game but not in the earth shattering league yet a bit of a rehash to be honest so only four stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Again, 23 Jun 2014
By 
J. Clarke "Alright Sally" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Souls II (PC) (DVD-ROM)
LIFE
The Dark Souls series returns with a meatier, deadlier, tougher offering of punishing gameplay, that attempts to rival the difficulty of previous installments, Demon's Souls (PS3 Exclusive) and Dark Souls (Multiple Platforms). A promise of Bigger environments, Better graphics, Beastly adversaries - this is a sequel worthy of the name. So say all the official reviews and gaming sites.. Question is: Have FromSoftware played it safe and churned out a second, similar reckoning? Or genuinely attempted to make a better, tougher game?

RECKONING
As you can tell from the title, I went with the former. The developers would be mad to deviate from the original winning formula of dungeon crawling/grind rpg... something or other.. What with the extreme success of their second incarnation of the souls series. That being said, when you stick to your guns instead of going all out, you better seriously deliver, again. Dying is no longer the trial and error 'Oh well, better luck next time' slap on the wrist but now a full on slap in the face as your feeble attempts will now be far more costly - depleting your health bar upon each death. No more cheap farming of souls from the weakest opponents - enemies no longer respawn in the same way, when they do, they are likened to a new game+. Your only saving grace is that of the new feature that allows stat management.

RESURRECTION
The Good - At first, the battle system is slightly alien compared to the first game, but in time becomes a quicker more stable reinvigoration. Weapons aren't insanely difficult to improve anymore and you're guided a little better in general improvement and boss soul use. The amount of bosses is staggering. The areas are still almost all connected. Weapons and Armour - all look better - new and old. Classy little touches like the plaque commemorating the number of deaths worldwide, the additional 2 slots to equipable rings and finally a real revamping of the dreaded 'New Game+' which pits previously unseen enemies against you amongst the originals.

The Bad - You are gifted the 'warp' ability from the beginning (something well earned in the 1st). Your humanity is restored at any time you wish (makes it too easy to summon help). As with every DS game, the PVP invasions are rarely as advertised - instead of being matched against true advicery within 10 levels of your own, you get pitted against someone who's blatantly completed the game, donning unknown armour sets and practically killing you in one hit - that or that just circle you in the vein attempt at trying to backstab you or wait for hours so they can parry you - BORING - easily the most vapid aspect of the game. There are also parts which require luck rather then skill, the 'memories of giants' come to mind... Recycled bosses - there's one who is an exact replica from the last game and another which is the same size and uses the same move set - CHEAP.

ETERNAL
Light is finally shed on the lore and story line - enter the land of Drangleic where the torrid curse is back and this time, taking your memories along with your humanity and sanity. The initial and only FMV of the whole game is long and well made, setting you up for the somewhat-story to follow. A chinsy tutorial area does not bode well to be honest and neither does the addition of elderly women in red robes cackling at your optimism. For me, someone who has spare weekends and the odd hour after work to seriously play a game, it took me near to the 50 hour mark to get through this one which is a satisfactory amount of time these days.

DEATH
I'll say now, - I prefer the first Dark Souls - it's environments were linked in a far more interesting fashion, the bosses were much more unique and it's general experience was far more other worldly - attributes of a proper escapist video game.
Expect even more frustratingly implausible bosses and patience pushing locations to delve into as FromSoftware take you down an all to familiar path of pain and suffering. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls II (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Very fun. Requires Windows or Wine. Requires Steam. Steam tends to go down sometimes. Other than DRM, very good product. There is a piece of hand armor that should force your hands together, but does not. Instead it's simply only on one of the arms. Even when manually placing your arms together, the armor piece clips through your arm. Also, the terrain that is 'out of bounds' or otherwise not part of the critical path will often not have collision, resulting in falling through the floor when exploring new areas. That part where you have to set fire to the metal part of the wooden windmill doesn't make sense. Item durability is frame-rate dependent, which is silly. Very fluid and good combat. Game structure and setting is very similar to The Legend of Zelda series. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too difficult and dull, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Souls II (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Maybe I am just not a good enough player, but I get to a couple of boss battles that I just can not win. I intend to explore a bit more to try to get powerful and then have another go at them. The problem with that is that you have to play the same parts over 10-12 times (until the enemies no longer respawn) to build up your skills. Graphics are good but NPC interaction is poor. Also it is not an open world just a well camoflaged corridor with a some well decorated larger rooms if you do not fight the enemy in front of you can not continue on the game.

Some will disagree but i think it needs a way of reducing difficulty at some points, Even if it just helps you after the three sentinals have killed you for the 20th time.

In the end this is promises a lot but is a boring, no plot, no story, just killing the same enemies at the same place with the same 3 moves over and over again, it did not give me anything, its no skyrim or even far cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simple and Straight Talk, 26 May 2014
This review is from: Dark Souls II (PC) (DVD-ROM)
The worst game i have ever played (the second is dark souls 1)
COMBINED WITH:
The second worst PC port i have ever played (the first was dark souls 1)

DON'T BUY: PIRATE INSTEAD. The people who made this do not deserve to be paid and should go bankrupt
From Software has set YET ANOTHER new low in gaming.

Multiple Dark Souls fanboys will find this unhelpful, even though they already own the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Souls II (PC)
Dark Souls II (PC) by Namco Bandai (Windows 2000 / 7 / Vista / XP)
25.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews