Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man: Rise of Technovore (DVD)(2013)
More great stuff!
Avengers working and fighting together
A rare glimps of the Punisher. Super!!
Good price well worth the money
Published 4 months ago by Patrick G

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More like Tin Man
Rise of the Technovore is the story of the launch of Stark's all-seeing satellite called Howard. During the launch, the site is attacked by the Raiders under the control of the Technovore. With the satellite launched the Technovore plans to take over all systems and erase humanity, which he sees as inferior, from the face of the planet. Only one man has the technology to...
Published 15 months ago by J. Morris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars re, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really liked it, but the start menu is a pain because it wouldn't let me skip straight to the movie menu. But other than, I'd recommend to any one who is a fan of Tony Stark, Iron Man or Marvel in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anime Anime Anime, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: Rise Of Technovore (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
First and foremost this should have a different rating other than the stated PG. It's more suited to those 12A 15 18 category.
Second of all this IS an Anime. If like me you like all the good stuff Anime is then you'll enjoy watching it but most of all understand this Iron Man movie. To those that don't like Anime and are very much into the original Iron man, well lets just say you may struggle to enjoy the movie.

The creators certainly brought their own mix into the well known classic that is Iron man. I would have though liked to had seen more of the technovore's do a alot more theatrical anime stuff than what was given to the character, which might have brought it's rating to a much more appropiate level.

All in all I enjoyed it, Iron man was still being Iron man but with an Anime style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: Rise Of Technovore (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
Great DVD of iron man I got this for the uv copy so I could watch it eney time great value for money good DVD not just for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man: Rise of Technorve (DVD + UV Copy), 20 April 2013
This review is from: Iron Man: Rise Of Technovore (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
Billionaire Tony Stark, in his Iron Man armour, prevents an attack from a mysterious new foe, but innocent bystanders are killed, including his best friend War Machine, Lt. Colonel James Rhodes. Detained for questioning by S.H.I.E.L.D., Iron Man escapes, determined to find the mastermind behind the attack. Pursued by Black Widow and Hawkeye, Iron Man enlists the help of the ruthless vigilante The Punisher. But can the Armoured Avenger handle what he finds when he catches the person responsible and is forced to face his deadliest weapon, a biotechnology called Technovore that could wipe out all life on the planet?

Special Features:

* "Tale of Technovore"
* "S.H.I.E.L.D.: Protecting the Marvel Universe"

The DVD comes equipped with two behind-the-scenes featurettes: "Tale of Technovore," explores the animation, story and the adaptation of Marvel characters for the anime film; and "S.H.I.E.L.D.: Protecting the Marvel Universe," gives viewers an all-access look and brief history into the organization as portrayed in the comics and adapted in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvel Fan, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: Rise Of Technovore (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
I'm a Marvel fan through & through, so anything Marvel I can appreciate. Looking forward to more Iron Man instalments. Affordable price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not good.Not good at all., 19 May 2013
This review is from: Iron Man: Rise Of Technovore (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
I will do my best to make this very brief.

The story focuses on Tony Stark who comes face to face with Obadiah Stane's technology-infused revenge driven son.

I gave this a one star because of the following:

1.) The anime style animation is extremely discouraging. This ain't the 80's!!!
2.) Voice acting is just....dull (except the Punisher's brief one-liners).
3.) The story is a bit complicated, too boring and lacked any form of excitement.

Verdict: AVOID!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 6 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: Rise Of Technovore (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
A bit of a departure from the comics, and very much an anime take on Iron Man, which is good if you like anime films. The only problem is that it makes me want to see the Iron Man anime series, which is currently only available in Region 1. Marvel (and DC) need to wake up and realise that there are more places than America that would enjoy these animated films/tv shows. They don't need to distribute them on DVD/Blu-ray either, (although that would help because they are usually cheaper), they could put them out on iTunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but Not Great, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: Rise Of Technovore (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
To start off by stating the obvious this film is an anime not a traditional western style superhero animation the likes off which marvel and DC have been releasing over the last few years, so if your not an anime fan or hate the genre i'd advise you to not get your hopes up but if you are like myself fairly indifferent to anime and have an open mind I would advise you to give this a try, if you are an anime fan already then you probably don't need my advise.

Firstly positives it's not hughly expensive always a bonus, it's action packed with hordes of flying robots, man-droids and shield agents all running up ineptly to be blasted by Stark or Technovore, the punisher is a welcome presence bringing both brooding menace and an icy sense of humour the few minutes in which Caslte appears are easily the best of the film, the art style is well presented, although you do get the odd car moving oddly but that appart it's well put together.

And now the negatives the voice acting and dialogue is poor, think original thundercats but with more flirting and less preaching, it is not helped by the script which is confusing and often pretensious to the extreme this leaves to clunky dialogue and wooden voical performances that really detract from the overall effort of the film, the actor suppling the voice of Nick Fury is especially bad in all regards, the storyline overall after a positive beginning just seems to get lost towards the end the villian has no obvious motive and the whole link to the villians father is just so badly presented that they could have cut it out made him generic and just saved a lot of time, it's just needlessly confusing at points you just finding yourself wondering what the hell is going on rather then enjoying the film.

So overall if you are a fan of Iron Man or just superhero animation give this a try it's has it's faults but it also has it's good ponts I just wished they had put more Punisher in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why japanese animation?, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Neal (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Man: Rise Of Technovore (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
Marvel and Ironman are American. Why is this wholly Japanese production? if I want Japanese anime, I can find it in abundance but Marvel comics are Superman (defender of the American dream), Batman (from Gotham City, ahem NYC), and Captain America!?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant suprise., 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man: Rise Of Technovore (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
I'm not a fan of anime or manga, so it was with a litte trepidation that I even purchased this DVD. With that in mind then I pleased to say that it exceeded my expectations.

The story seems to be broadly based on the Marvel movie universe (Nick Fury is of the back variety, Black Widow and Hawkeye are SHIELD agents, Tony and Pepper are in a relationship etc), and the premise is that as Stark is about to launch a new satellite that will accurately predict disasters, terrorist attacks and other world threats, the launch faciity is attacked by a mysterious new armoured villain using a previously unseen form of technology.

The villain stops the launch, kills all of the base staff, and apparantly kills Starks best friend James Rhodes (War Machine). Nick Fury and SHIELD, believing that Stark may have had something to do with the attack, intend to take him into custody pending an investigation, but Stark goes rogue. What follows is a cat-and-mouse chase between Stark and SHIELD as he attempts to elude them whist simultaniously avenging Rhodes and stopping this new enemy, which includes an impromptu team up with Frank Castle (The Punisher).

I wasnt really a fan of the art, which was quite typical of the anime genre, however that said I have to admit that it was very well animated indeed, and the action sequences were fast, dynamic and exciting. As appears to be the norm for an anime movie, this film is full of big mech's, an enemy who is almost entirely composed of tenticles, and many of the characters look broadly similar to each other.

Whilst the film appears to have been predominantly created for the Japanese audience, and its default setting presents it in the Japanese language with English subtites, a full English translation is avalible through the language menu, and the film does translate quite well to English dialogue. There is also some recognisible voice talent used, including Norman Reedus (Daryl of TV's 'The Walking Dead').

I would agree with those who criticise the standard of the script. It is somewhat hackneyed, and the characters do occasionally seem to speak in parables or otherwise in a manner that does not seem natural. I can only assume that a little has been lost between the Japanese and English translations.

I would agree with what another reviewer stated about how this film would probably slot neatly between the Ironman 2 and 3 movies, and would add that it also provides a plausable way to insert the Punisher (who Marvel have repeatedly struggled to make a movie success) into the current Marvel movie-verse now that the fim rights to the character have reverted to Marvel.

So its not groundbreaking, its not brilliant, but it is entertaining and very well animated, availible for a very reasonable price and should provide any fan of anime, Marvel, or Ironman with a couple of hours of easy entertainment.

Final score 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Man: Rise Of Technovore (DVD + UV Copy) [2013]
2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews