Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, a few minor faults
I have been looking for a compact video camera for a while. I have a great DSLR that will take HD video, but it's a bit bulky and, of course, I am usually using it to take pictures when I want a video camera! When I saw the Panasonic HC-V210 I decided that it looked the part and ordered it.

First thing's first - it's tiny! This really is a fit-in-your-palm...
Published 12 months ago by A. S. Garton

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable camera for the price - no filter thread
Be aware that this camera does not have a filter thread on the front. You can't put a close-up lens, wide angle adaptor, UV/skylight protection filter, or hood, or anything on the front of this. So you need to take really good care of that front element to keep dust and sticky fingers off. In the end I machined my own filter adaptor to add a standard 49mm thread to the...
Published 2 months ago by M. Jenkins


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, a few minor faults, 8 April 2013
By 
A. S. Garton "age garton" (milton keynes, england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Panasonic V210 Full HD Camcorder - Black (10 MP, 1920 x 1080P, 1MOS Sensor, 72x Intelligent Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have been looking for a compact video camera for a while. I have a great DSLR that will take HD video, but it's a bit bulky and, of course, I am usually using it to take pictures when I want a video camera! When I saw the Panasonic HC-V210 I decided that it looked the part and ordered it.

First thing's first - it's tiny! This really is a fit-in-your-palm camera at just over 4.5 inches long, and it is very lightweight too so you're not going to get tired holding it for long periods of video action. The camera comes ready with battery, charger, and just about every cable you will need for connecting to TVs, etc. However, a couple of omissions were disappointing: there is no case of any sort, just a flick switch for a flimsy plastic lens cover, which I felt was a little bit short sighted of Panasonic. The lens is slightly recessed into the unit (as is the cover when activated), so it is less likely to get scratched or dirty. I also wasn't impressed with the lack of any storage option - this is a real niggle of mine. If you are buying, you need to buy a good quality memory card (an SD card) or the camera won't work. Given the low cost of memory cards these days, I'm at a loss as to why Panasonic haven't bundled one with the camera. Another option is to upgrade to the HC-V210M which has 16GB of built-in memory, but good luck finding one of those!

While I'm complaining, there are a couple of other matters that you should know. The device feels a little plasticky, especially the buttons on and around the flip-out screen. Finally, I don't like how the battery slots onto the back - it just looks and feels a bit like a design after-thought. But I am being picky here.

Whinging over......

The good news does, in many ways, outweigh the bad. For such a small, compact and - let's face it - low priced device, you get a lot for your money. The optical zoom is very powerful and thankfully works at multiple speeds depending on how much pressure you apply to the zoom button - a very nice touch. You also get the ability to take HD video and passable stills, although you can't capture stills while recording video. Output is via HDMI, AV or USB, or simply take out the SD card - lots of options for a device this small. The view screen is almost unbelievably clear, perhaps the biggest surprise in the this little package, and it swivels to be front or rear facing. It also has good playback features and a pretty fair set of menu-driven options (but venturing past simple time, date and location settings might only be for the more technically savvy). The camera has a good quality adjustable hand strap so you can keep it secure in your palm as you record, and as you would expect from a manufacturer like Panasonic, all the buttons are easy to reach and in logical places.

Video quality is very good - again, for the size and price it was surprising. HD quality for sure and image stabilisation was remarkably good. Sound quality doesn't quite match up to the video, but it is better than most cameras I have tried around this price range and just as good as many more expensive options. I guess the only possible downside of the low weight of the camera is that it is easy to find yourself fidgeting more than with a heavier device, but that really is a pretty minor gripe. The battery should give you between 1 and 2 hours of HD recording time depending of use of zoom, etc. You might get a little more - the max will be about 2 hours and 15 minutes. Spare batteries are easy enough to buy and they're not overly expensive, so this seemed fine to me.

Overall, I was impressed by the Panasonic HC-V210. It is an inexpensive HD camera that captures family occasions (etc..) very well and without breaking the bank. Portability, cost and video quality are more than enough to balance out some of the minor faults, none of which are serious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really cute camcorder that's a joy to use. Video quality is OK, but I wish it was better, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Panasonic V210 Full HD Camcorder - Black (10 MP, 1920 x 1080P, 1MOS Sensor, 72x Intelligent Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS bridge camera that offers 1080 pixel 24fps HD video seemingly negating the need for a camcorder such as this Panasonic. However while archiving our old MiniDV video tapes to disks I couldn't help notice how decent the video quality was compared to the still cameras video. In particular a dedicated camcorder is more elegant at zoom (as a stills camera needs to zoom quickly to get the shot, which appears very jerky in video), the Canon can get into difficulty focussing as you pan the shot, and the camcorder generally offers noticeably better sound. So I thought I'd get a cheap hi-def 16:9 camcorder to replace our families old Sony 4:3 MiniDV tape camcorder, as my three nephews are aged 3 to 12 and my 17 & 18 year old kids are growing out of teenage camera shyness and like shooting video. I chose this Panasonic HC-V210 for them, as although Which didn't test this model they rated the cheaper Panasonic V100 model fairly highly for video quality at its price point.

This Panasonic V210 has no inbuilt memory, so I used a 16Gb Sandisk class 10 SD-HC. The card gives around 2 hours 30 minutes of video depending on video quality. A slower class4 SD-HC card is the minimum spec, and the camcorder can handle SD HC/XC cards up to 64Gb, and works with Eye-Fi cards. Video record modes are GA (high quality), HG (normal), HE (lowest, unsuitable for sports) in 1080/50i and there's a 1080/50p progressive mode. The camcorder comes with one VW-VBT190 battery (charges in 3h and lasts around 2.5h in GA mode). There's also HD Writer LE software for a PC, the full manual as pdf, the printed basic operating instructions, a mini-HDMI TV cable, a mini-USB2 PC cable and a power transformer with a 13A UK mains plug. HD Writer can import, edit, upload, write to DVD and archive video, and although I use Nero 12, Adobe Premiere Elements 11 and Serif Movieplus X5 for video editing and burning, HD Writer proved easier for simple camcorder to Windows-7 PC transfers (without it my the video transfers often froze).

The battery only charges in the camcorder, so buying a cheap 12v/13A battery charger set and a spare battery will be useful. The camcorder can work running off the mains, although the battery only charges when the camcorder's off. The lack of viewfinder on the camcorder was no problem, although being longsighted it means I need glasses to read the small 2.7inch flip-out & tilt LCD screen. I prefer this models non-touch LCD screen that's operated by a 4-way selector and menu/enter buttons to the touch screens on my old camcorders that required a stylus to prevent finger prints mucking up the screen. There's an inbuilt stereo microphone at the front, which works well for group shots, but no option for an external mic. The front camera lens protector flips up easily when the camera is off, and the lens is recessed to give some protection. There's no thread for accessory lenses, and the lens aperture is F1.8 to f4.2. The tripod mount is metal, and the camera really feels well-made, light and holds nicely in the hand. Option wise there's some useful scene modes, backlighting compensation, adjustable record settings and a manual mode (but we mostly use Ai auto as it works well). The record, photo and the zoom buttons are well placed for my medium size male hands. The camcorder can replay video and sound on its LCD screen, which works fine in sunlight.

Video picture quality is fairly good in high quality GA mode, but I was a bit disappointed in the resolution, it really isn't any better than my old Sony MiniDV camcorder - although it's bigger in frame size being full 16:9 not 4:3. It's slightly worse than my Canon SX50 HS's attempts as well, although the Canon's video is oversaturated and has slightly less detail in shadows. However the Panasonic's video quality improved a bit with auto contrast on, and it does have better sound, focus lock and reduced movement blur. Plus the Canon camera's video has a very jerky zoom if used. This camcorder's sound quality is more limited than that found on expensive camcorders, but it's fine for family shots when everyone is standing in front of the camera. The mic is quite omnidirectional so you will pick up TV sounds behind you, and there's a 'wind-cut' processing option for external shooting to reduce wind noise. The camcorder can take 10MP Stills, although image quality is poor indoors with a lot of noise, as there's no flash. Although the f1.8 lens should help get more light onto the detector, my Canon SX50 HS photos in the gloom are in another league for photo quality. Feature-wise, going upmarket to the 1cm larger and 110g heavier 500 Panasonic V720 camcorder adds in things like WiFi and NFC streaming to multimedia devices/tablets, Hybrid lens stabilisation, external mic jack, only 21x zoom, 16Gb onboard memory, LCD touchscreen, 5.1 sound, 4.1MP sensor and audio zoom mic, all of which this 2.2MP sensor model lacks (the new V720 and the cheaper Panasonic V520 are both Which best buys, so also check them out as they may be on special offer). This V210 camcorder is 53 x 60 x 114 mm and weighs just 184g without battery.

In use indoors or out, the video image and sound quality is adequate though for family events, holidays and Youtube uploads, provided I don't pan too fast or look at it too close on a 24" PC monitor. As would be expected, the V210's image quality is worse indoors in low light and improves when shooting outdoors in brighter conditions. The camcorder's anti-shake works OK, as when it's off the little camcorder shakes a lot more. The smooth optical zoom is usable hand held right up to 37x, although naturally a tripod is needed to eliminate all the wobbles at maximum enlargement. All in all this small Panasonic is a desirable camcorder, and an improvement on my old MiniDv tape camcorder for widescreen TVs and fast PC transfers. If you have a new baby on the way or your old tape camcorder needs replacing, this Panasonic this is a relatively cheap way of producing noticeably better video than a budget digital stills camera or smartphone, although granted its video resolution isn't great and is no better than my Canon SX50 HS. So you might want to pay more, as you will get more features and more importantly sound/video quality will improve, but it will cost quite a bit more and the camcorder will probably be larger & heavier - I also have the Canon LEGRIA HF G25 which is excellent for indoor shots, but as it's three times the weight and price so it should be (and even its FXP video isn't quite commercial DVD movie quality, let alone Blu-ray, plus it only has a 10x zoom). Still this bijou Panasonic V210 camcorder is so cute and the results pleasing enough for the money spent, I find I can forgive the flaws and I'm happy to use it when out and about. So 3.5* for video quality and 5* for value at the street price of 200.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars panasonic hd camcorder V210, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V210 Full HD Camcorder - Black (10 MP, 1920 x 1080P, 1MOS Sensor, 72x Intelligent Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
bought it for my husband and he was very impressed with how easy it was to use and the quality of the pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant camera for the price, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V210 Full HD Camcorder - Black (10 MP, 1920 x 1080P, 1MOS Sensor, 72x Intelligent Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
I have only 'played' with the features so far. The telephoto range is great but you do need a tripod for the long range. Optical image stability is superb unless you are trying to take video of the moon. The macro facility is great. I took a video of a bee inside a flower and when the video was played back on the HD TV via HDMI, with the flower filling the screen, you could see every hair on the bee's body and the pollen stuck to it in sharp detail.

The camera is plastic but very lightweight. Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable camera for the price - no filter thread, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V210 Full HD Camcorder - Black (10 MP, 1920 x 1080P, 1MOS Sensor, 72x Intelligent Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
Be aware that this camera does not have a filter thread on the front. You can't put a close-up lens, wide angle adaptor, UV/skylight protection filter, or hood, or anything on the front of this. So you need to take really good care of that front element to keep dust and sticky fingers off. In the end I machined my own filter adaptor to add a standard 49mm thread to the front - which is not going to be an option for 99.9% of potential buyers.

Otherwise, the picture quality is fine for what I use it for (mostly interviews and indoor documentary). The image stabilisation is OK but not state of the art. The mechanical parts (screen hinge, 4-way toggle switch) feel flimsy - it will almost certainly last the few years that it will be used before being obsoleted by some other new doohickey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical and good-value camera that performs well, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V210 Full HD Camcorder - Black (10 MP, 1920 x 1080P, 1MOS Sensor, 72x Intelligent Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
Feels a bit flimsy and plasticky and is very light, but does a good job as a camcorder. The resolution is excellent on the AVCHD and MPEG4 settings and the image stabiliser is one of the best I have come across. The ridiculously long zoom also works surprisingly well, and is very useful for filming wildlife, but at anything near the full 75 times extension (largely digital) you do need a tripod. The focus seems to cope well as you zoom or pan with little evidence of 'hunting'. There is also virtually no motor noise as you use the zoom. The only slight negative I noticed on the picture side was some difficulty in coping with a large dynamic range of brightness. Highlights can become 'burned out' on some bright subjects. On the other hand low light performance is very good. The setting for Internet upload is extremely useful, giving a format that YouTube likes and that uploads very quickly. Results aren't quite as good as if you use the MPEG4 setting, but file sizes are then many times bigger and upload speeds correspondingly slower. The MTS format in which the camera records in the AVCHD mode works well for directly feeding a digital TV, but few editing suites will accept it, so for editing, making DVDs and the like MPEG4 is the setting to use. The three supported formats are well chosen for most people's needs. The sound is stereo and (at least to my uncritical ear) seems fine.

My only real gripe is that the camera comes without a carrying-case or an SD card. It's almost certain that you'll need both, so you have little alternative but to buy them separately. A purpose-designed case is available from Amazon, and I also bought a Sandisk 'Ultra' 32 GB SD card which works very well with the camera and gives about four-and-a-half hours filming at the top resolution setting. Battery life is in the region of one-and-a-half hours, so if you're using the camera all day you'll probably need to carry a fully-charged spare.

This is not a sophisticated camcorder with lots of settings and gimmicks that most of us never use, but it does an excellent job under most circumstances in 'intelligent auto' mode and is very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fits in your pocket zooms to the moon, 25 April 2013
By 
Chris Hoare "Chris" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Panasonic V210 Full HD Camcorder - Black (10 MP, 1920 x 1080P, 1MOS Sensor, 72x Intelligent Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When the box from amazon containing the Panasonic V210 arrived I couldn't believe how small it was. Opening the box; you find the camcorder itself is yet smaller still. It truly is tiny; its about the size of a can of coke and weighs less. This low weight does point to one downside; its all plastic everywhere so don't bash it as you move about. Besides the v210 camera in the box is everything you need to get started except for the film - the V210 uses faster type 4 or higher SD Card's. These are very cheap these days and widely available as you travel.

Charging the battery is done on Camera with the bulky external charger plugging into the camera. Once charged up the battery lasts about 2 and 1/2 hours which is more than enough for a family day out; but if you are taking it on holiday or filming your opus you will want to take the charger (and maybe a spare battery too.)

Once you take it out; its very simple to use; the bright and clear screen pops (and rotates around so you can have a good view or show the person your are filming the image) out so you can see what you are filming; and if you use the hand loop on the right hand side (sorry lefties) the zoom, photo and video buttons all fall close to your thumb. I must admit i did wish the screen was touch enabled; which is a stretch at the price; but the menu buttons and video playback buttons are a little small and fiddly.

Out and about shooting video the small size makes the camera discreet. Shooting video the camera works fine with internal and daylight and the V210 makes a concerted effort to record in low light - its a bit noisy but you can see whats going on. The internal microphone suffers from wind noise whistle if you are filming outside. As with digital cameras the first reason to look at the V210 is the zoom; there is an enormous 38x optical range and an option in the menus to extend this to 72x using some digital trickery. The digital zoom definitely loses some quality but if you are at the back of the concert you can certainly zoom in to the watch the drummers facial expressions using the digital zoom. The zoom is backed up with a good image stabilisation system - though if you are going to 72x you really need a tripod or the worlds steadiest hand. Use the zoom button sparingly whilst recording though as it zooms in and out at high speed which might make your audience feel sick. You can also use the V210 as a 10 megapixel camera; but the picture quality is pretty terrible.

When you have all the footage on your SD Card you have two options to play it back; you can play the video back on your television using the included the HDMI cable (well done panasonic.) The video quality is acceptable - under slow movement and good light its fine - especially given the budget price.

The V210 records full HD in the AVCHD format which if you are a Mac user isn't a native format so you can't copy the files off the memory card and just play them back without a suitable driver. On your mac you can get the video off with a recent copy of iMovie. This will import and convert the video in an easy step. Bringing it into iMove will let you edit it through.

If you are on a PC the v210 does come with some video management software in the form of HD Writer LE 2.0 which will help you import the files to your PC - its very basic though and if you want to edit the video down you are best investing in another tool. I set up the HD Writer LE 2.0 on my PC and found it easy to import the video; and get out to youtube to share it with others.

The v210 is a light weight truly pocketable camcorder. Its stand out feature is an excellent optical zoom and image stabilisation that let you zoom into the action. The video isn't the best you can achieve; but at the price its nothing to complain about. 4*s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic V210 Full HD Camcorder, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V210 Full HD Camcorder - Black (10 MP, 1920 x 1080P, 1MOS Sensor, 72x Intelligent Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
Good fast delivery.
Easy to use camcorder with great picture. Light and compact. Great for taking on holiday as to size. Recommend to all who is interested in buying same type of camcorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than just the highlights, 8 Jan 2014
By 
R. J. Brooker "pix" (Accrington, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V210 Full HD Camcorder - Black (10 MP, 1920 x 1080P, 1MOS Sensor, 72x Intelligent Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
I've been a stills photographer most of my life but when trying to describe your local environment to friends around the world still pictures can only show items in isolation - and generally you choose the highlights. Now I need a mobility scooter to get about and this camera can be used to show my friends the routes familiar to me - including the grand and not so grand. It puts the buildings of my home town into their context.

Many modern stills cameras have the ability to shoot video but their optical image stabilizers (IOS) are tuned to reduce camera shake for the fraction of a second that the shutter is open and not for continuous imagery. I chose this by looking at reviews on here and those on review websites. So far (after about 10 hours of video) I haven't been disappointed. It is by no means perfect but offers great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great camera Panasonic HC-V210, 30 Dec 2013
By 
M. B. Corrigan (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V210 Full HD Camcorder - Black (10 MP, 1920 x 1080P, 1MOS Sensor, 72x Intelligent Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
Great little camcorder lightweight and easy to pocket, still pictures are good with the ten megpix much better overall than my old Panasonic cassette tape recorder!
As others have mentioned it has a slightly plastic feel about it which is no problem, and adds to the lightness, the lens cover was manually operated, which seems strange in this day and age when all digital cameras are worked automatically when switched on
But you do get a warning if you fail to operate the cover lever, unlike my old movie camera, which led to a few embarrassing moments!
The zoom on this camera is amazing but you do really need a tripod when zooming something up very close, as every heartbeat is exaggerated in the movie outcome, jerking up and down way too much.
All in all a brilliant little camcorder for the money it costs, so anyone thinking of getting a movie camera you won't go far wrong with this Panasonic HC-V210
Maxc London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabf12a20)

This product

Only search this product's reviews