Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best
At their peak there really was no other 'Rock' band to match Van Halen, I still have all my VH vinyl, and having also seen them live on a number of occasions including their first visit to the UK when they supported Black Sabbath and blew Sabbath away - yes, hard to imagine or believe - But they did (mind you Sabbath were in the last throws of the classic line up - with...
Published 12 months ago by Yanto

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated Pop
I have in the past liked some of the song released by Van Halen and although never brought anything I thought this would be a good way to get some songs on the cheap. As far as that goes this succeeds but does IMO sound very dated , not a surprise as these are quite old albums . A fair body of work and if your a fan good value for money but i'm not sure i'll be playing...
Published 13 months ago by A. J. Harknett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best, 30 July 2013
This review is from: Studio Albums 1978-1984 (Audio CD)
At their peak there really was no other 'Rock' band to match Van Halen, I still have all my VH vinyl, and having also seen them live on a number of occasions including their first visit to the UK when they supported Black Sabbath and blew Sabbath away - yes, hard to imagine or believe - But they did (mind you Sabbath were in the last throws of the classic line up - with Never Say Die).

Also Eddie had such a huge impact on guitar playing and guitarists, setting a whole new landscape to explore, the only one to come close being Randy Rhoads RIP :O(

I bought this purely so I can have all (Classic Line-up) VH albums to hand in my car for some serious driving music, buy it and get rocked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Times Rock and Roll, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Albums 1978-1984 (Audio CD)
This is quite possibly the best set of rock albumns I have ever purchased from amazon. Good value for money,space saving packaging.The music itself reminds me of brilliant nights out and good times.A must for any ageing rocker who remembers the old times,and if you are new to the scene a great way to start a collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class Act!, 24 Jan 2014
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Albums 1978-1984 (Audio CD)
I was playing my vinyl version of the Van Halen debut album for the first time in quite a whiles and found that it was not in the best of shape, with lots of crackles, pops and whistles and, when at volume, was quite unacceptable. So, a little later that day, I was looking at the cost of a CD replacement and came across this box set covering six albums, no less, for under twenty quid...well, yes, I do already have all six (in vinyl format) but just decided, what the hell and put my order in.
So, now that I've revisited the lot, it's certainly put a grin on this old man's face. To listen to the albums in pristine condition (as they were when I first heard them all those years ago) has been great and all I can say is that if you like late 70's / early 80's rock or, especially, you like the Van Halen boys then this really is a package that's VFM, particularly if like me, you've played your vinyl versions to the point of (almost) destruction.
Great music, cheap price - what's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only Giving This 5 Stars For The Music, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Albums 1978-1984 (Audio CD)
Bought this after reading the details about it on the Van Halen News Desk. Info on the official add states that all original art work is included that was with all the original vinyl releases unlike the last set of remastered Cd's.
Although the quality of the sleves are very good, THAT IS ALL YOU GET. YOU DO NOT GET ANY EXTRA ART WORK. The last set of remasters contained everything from outersleve artwork to innersleve artwork, if you have the original remasters I would just stick with them as this is a right con apart from the great music which sounds exctly the same as the last set of remasters. Good for minimising space though on your CD shelf, but that's about it. All you are paying for is a box with the already avilable remastered CD's but without the extra artwork. Always thought this band was just after money, couldn't care less about the fans, BUT STILL GREAT MUSIC. Sorry all of that sounds negative but I was really dissapointed once I opened the pack to find even less than the original remasters that I already own, feel a bit of a mug ha. Ideal though as an intro to the band, but not for the die hards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have you seen juniors grades ?, 12 July 2014
By 
Dave Ormston (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Albums 1978-1984 (Audio CD)
Van Halen just about reinvented rock n roll back in '78. Incredible virtuosity without pomposity, anthems without po-facedness, tunes to whistle and timeless production.
Sure some of the cover songs are sloppy, and , well, Roth is no Steve Perry but that matters not a jot.

These tracks don't just take you back to 1980, they drag that fearless party attitude into whatever situation the listener is in.

Freewheeling guitar virtuosity, punk attitude, Roth Van Halen are still unmatched - even by VH with Sammy Hagar.

We shall not see their like again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Van Halen(DLR), 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Albums 1978-1984 (Audio CD)
All the albums Van Halen did with David Lee Roth which are the only ones that count. Nice sound and packaging in mini lp sleeves. Good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Albums 1978-1984 (Audio CD)
Lost some CD's when my car was stolen, Fair Warning and Van Halen included...
This killed 2 birds with one stone.... fantastic collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Van Halen, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Cossy (West Cumbria) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Albums 1978-1984 (Audio CD)
Great American Rock with Eddie Van Halen at his peak. Apart from the slightly weaker Diver Down album this package is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Come on, Dave, gimme a break..." "One break comin' up!!", 11 Jan 2014
By 
Phil Cresswell (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Studio Albums 1978-1984 (Audio CD)
The definitive five albums from America's premiere party 'whole greater than the sum of their parts' rock band in one box set. Ferocious on Van Halen & Van Halen 2, Women & Children First & Fair Warning. Bit hit & miss with Diver Down (but great fun nontheless) and back to form, albeit a more shiny polished form, with 1984. Forget anything post 1983, this is a five part time capsule of everything great about late 70's / early 80's American hard rock. And then some. Indispensible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something to make you jump., 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Albums 1978-1984 (Audio CD)
All the classic albums in one set, taking me back to my older days, for someone getting into this music it will help you get into it fully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Studio Albums 1978-1984
Studio Albums 1978-1984 by Van Halen (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews