Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars39
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2014
The definitive five albums from America's premiere party 'whole greater than the sum of their parts' rock band in one box set. Ferocious on Van Halen & Van Halen 2, Women & Children First & Fair Warning. Bit hit & miss with Diver Down (but great fun nontheless) and back to form, albeit a more shiny polished form, with 1984. Forget anything post 1983, this is a five part time capsule of everything great about late 70's / early 80's American hard rock. And then some. Indispensible.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Seriously if you love, like have a passing interest in VH this is a no brainier. These are the albums that not only defined the band but they defined a new era in guitar heroes. Forget criticisms of sleeves etc at this price it makes pirates look silly and legal downloading out of touch. I already had 2 of the albums and it's still a bargain to get the rest.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
I have always loved the original Van Halen, a guitar god who inspired generations and quite possibly the greatest frontman ever (notice I did not say vocalist, much more than that) plus a tight rhythm section with great harmonies. Innovative, unique and with top production. Six albums that defined an era and spawned multitudes of wannabe's. Ice cold beer, kick back, play LOUD and enjoy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
This is quite possibly the best set of rock albumns I have ever purchased from amazon. Good value for money,space saving packaging.The music itself reminds me of brilliant nights out and good times.A must for any ageing rocker who remembers the old times,and if you are new to the scene a great way to start a collection.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
A wonderful, top value collection of a perfect career. Van Halen did and said all they could on these wonderful LPs then called it a day. Why can't more bands do that? You only have to listen to any of the Hagar stuff to know that the well of ideas had run dry. Even their 'lesser' work , Diver Down, is an uproarious party LP. 1984 is perfect pop metal. Women and Children First is one of the great true metal albums. The debut's influence was as great as anything ever recorded - it gave birth to hair metal (a double edged sword if ever there was one!!!).
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Best box set ever !!
If you are a fan or just want to hear the band and discover the magic of their heyday before they were totally destroyed by their inflated lead guitarists ego , then this boxset is for you.

Please , Please whatever you do ,DO NOT waste your money on the Tokyo Dome Live album ..it is just dreadful and is in no way in the same league let alone even the same ballpark as this collection ...

Rock On !!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Great American Rock with Eddie Van Halen at his peak. Apart from the slightly weaker Diver Down album this package is well worth the money.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Bought this after reading the details about it on the Van Halen News Desk. Info on the official add states that all original art work is included that was with all the original vinyl releases unlike the last set of remastered Cd's.
Although the quality of the sleves are very good, THAT IS ALL YOU GET. YOU DO NOT GET ANY EXTRA ART WORK. The last set of remasters contained everything from outersleve artwork to innersleve artwork, if you have the original remasters I would just stick with them as this is a right con apart from the great music which sounds exctly the same as the last set of remasters. Good for minimising space though on your CD shelf, but that's about it. All you are paying for is a box with the already avilable remastered CD's but without the extra artwork. Always thought this band was just after money, couldn't care less about the fans, BUT STILL GREAT MUSIC. Sorry all of that sounds negative but I was really dissapointed once I opened the pack to find even less than the original remasters that I already own, feel a bit of a mug ha. Ideal though as an intro to the band, but not for the die hards.
44 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
One word Excellent. A really good box set for the money, I recommend to anyone who wants to add some classic rock to their cd collection. The only downfall is you don't get any of the inlay booklets as they are all cardboard sleeves but don't let this put you off it makes it easier to store.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 January 2014
I was playing my vinyl version of the Van Halen debut album for the first time in quite a whiles and found that it was not in the best of shape, with lots of crackles, pops and whistles and, when at volume, was quite unacceptable. So, a little later that day, I was looking at the cost of a CD replacement and came across this box set covering six albums, no less, for under twenty quid...well, yes, I do already have all six (in vinyl format) but just decided, what the hell and put my order in.
So, now that I've revisited the lot, it's certainly put a grin on this old man's face. To listen to the albums in pristine condition (as they were when I first heard them all those years ago) has been great and all I can say is that if you like late 70's / early 80's rock or, especially, you like the Van Halen boys then this really is a package that's VFM, particularly if like me, you've played your vinyl versions to the point of (almost) destruction.
Great music, cheap price - what's not to like?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)