Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once read, never forgotten...
Thought provoking and brilliantly written “Tender is the Night” etches itself into your brain: once read, never forgotten. Longer, looser but more complex and much darker in its subject matter than “The Great Gatsby”, Scott Fitzgerald similarly transcends time & place to leave you with quite unforgettable images. For example, describing an open-air...
Published on 8 Jan 2004 by nicjaytee

versus
78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT READ THIS PENGUIN VERSION- unless you want the re-ordered chronological version, not Fitzgerald's 1934 original
Penguin make much of the fact that there were seventeen versions of Tender is the Night; this is to justify the fact which they don't tell you- this green-jacketed version is completely different to the 1934 version. That was told in flashbacks; this version was re-ordered chronologically after Fitzgerald's death by friend and critic Malcolm Cowley.

Do not read...
Published on 7 April 2009 by Mr. J. G. Nixon


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really great buy!, 18 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The books were great! I bought the book for my sister's twenty third birthday, and she absolutely loves it. A really great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not keen on clothbound edition, 25 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
foolishly bought 3 in the clothbound series but was disappointed to find that the covers were made of a very delicate embossed paper. They are beautiful but will be ruined within weeks in my lively house. Also print is really tiny. Probably great for someone else with good eyesight and no kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tender Is the Night, 29 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Tender is the Night (Paperback)
I had to read this book in high school. It was a nice change to be able to read something by Fiztgerald because I had to read Macbeth and Twelfth Night which I thought was extremly boring. The characters in Tender Is the Night were real and the story line wasn't like all the rest. It seemed like Dick only married Nichole because she was mentaly disable and he thought his love would "cure" her. And she married him because she felt comfortable and loved, but that's because he was all she knew for so long. Reading this was quite difficult because it would skip from one scene to another. Dick Diver would have flashbacks of when him and Nichole were together, then when he first met Rosemary. It was all jummbled together so I didn't know when it was the past or present. It didn't end the way I thought it was going to, but I guess that's what made it so intresting. I would probably suggest to all readers to read it twice to get a good understanding of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book was SOOOO good!!!, 8 April 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Tender is the Night (Paperback)
I liked F. Scott Fitzgerald's writing because of its metaphors and imagery that enable the reader to get a real sense of what is happening to the characters. The characters that he creates are also fascinating. However, I found parts of the storyline to be confusing. The book jumps around in time which was also a little confusing. On a scale of A to F, I would give this book an A-. It is a really great book and I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book of absolute genius, 1 Oct 2003
By 
Bert Ruiz "author/journalist" (Pleasantville, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first read this masterpiece in college. It impacted me greatly. To that end," Tender is the Night" gets my vote as the all time greatest American novel. Every private library must have this work of absolute genius. The author is gifted and is able to write great prose at an early age, with the publication of his first novel, "This Side of Paradise."
However, upon his return to the United States after spending many years in Paris with "The Lost Generation" F. Scott Fitzgerald finally completes "Tender is the Night." He tells the story of Dick Diver whose life and work tumbles because of his marriage to the wealthy beauty Nicole Warren. This book is heartbraking. Fitzgerald's command of dialogue and masterful understanding of human emotions shakes the soul of the reader.
Bert Ruiz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moving yet Opaque, 1 April 1999
By A Customer
Mr. Fitzgerald, excuse me for this brief criticism of your masterwork, "Tender is the Night." To begin, TITN is a articulate, beautifully detailed work. Fitzgerald brilliantly mantains a languid, imagery and motif-filled text. Dick Diver, Rosemary and Nicole are each real people, in stunning contrast to the superficial emotions and problems of Gatsby, Nick and Daisy. Overall, the book is captivating, the characters intoxicating. Yet it was the poor flow of the book that annoyed me. Gaps in time, unartful character and plot development, and inconsistancy in chapter breaks led me to be shocked at his lack of care for what could have been his most amazing piece. Pehaps the themes struck too close to home or its magnitude became too intense for F. Scott Key. Regardless, this book makes for a great vacation read as it is one infinitely more complex and deep than "Gatsby".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ..., 21 May 2011
I'm not going to review the book here. Just want to say that this anniversary collection by Penguin is so lovely I've bought the all 6 books. I've only read The Great Gatsby for now and will start Tender Is The Night tomorrow but I can say the notes help understanding the novel's references better and the introduction is a very intelligent analysis of Fitzgerald's work.

Highly recommend this collection of Fitzgerald's novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buckworth Browser, 13 Jun 2010
By 
P. C. Cooper (cambs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Good value for money, excellent way for book club members to re-visit a classic title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a trial of strength, 23 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This is pure tragedy. The great hero sinking beneath the waves at the end like a great warlord finally vanquished. The hero with the bright future, ready to conquer the (for him at any rate) new world has ended up as a figure of ridicule. How has this happened? Well i am not sure i know to be honest. He emerges into the book tall, good looking, intelligent and handsome, with charisma and charm. What is his fatal flaw? He's not Gatsby with a terrible secret, he just refuses to allow himself to achieve his potential. The man who tries to solve problems in a logical way ends up brawling with taxi drivers and ends up in the Nick.
Essentially it is the story of the journey he takes through a stage of his life, a journey of infinitely more interest and human understanding than "real" road or journey books (has anyone ever managed to read On the Road without the aid of strong stimulants to sustain themselves through the barren prose?). Fitzgerald is a master of the suddenly comic yet pathetic scene. We see little of Dick's work as a psychiatrist, but what we do see is enough perhaps to realise that fulfillment will not be derived from speaking to Chileans about their homosexual sons. It appears to be futile existence, he can no longer help his wife, she no longer needs the sort of help he can give. They can no longer communicate at all. At an early lunch party he tries to communicate with her through a megaphone despite her standing only a few yards below him. They have lost contact and that shared basis of understanding. What is left is the shell of a man.
One curious aspect is the use by Fitzgerald of the car crash as allegory. In Gatsby it signifies the end of the party, of the happy go lucky days of endless parties, but it is described with a light touch and no harm is done. Indeed the driver's attempted explanations as to what might have caused the accident are hysterically funny as well as being true. Pointing out that he cannot control the car as it is in a ditch and the wheels no longer respond to his turning of the steering wheel is starkly contrasted in Tender is the Night. Here we have a sad scene. The children have to run for help, Nicole and Dick are stranded on the hill side in a foreign country, Dick's attempts to tell the children how to ask for help in French speak volumes for his alienation from his surroundings and his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the masterpiece it was supposed to be, 7 May 2008
Fitzgerald's attempt to write the ultimate American novel was a worthy effort, but unfortunately the, by this time deeply troubled, author was unable to pull it off, or to top his earlier masterpiece The Great Gatsby. Worth reading, essential for fans of Fitzgerald, and good solid stuff despite its flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TENDER IS THE NIGHT
TENDER IS THE NIGHT by F. Scott Fitzgerald
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews