Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars16
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2013
This is an accessible read but falls down a little as the writer focuses on their budget and keeping costs down and this thread runs through their trip - seemingly parsimonious rather than just mindful of expense. The writer also focuses more on the destinations and less so on the actual journey and the travelling experience, this is a shame in the latter part where there are two riders and a pillion from whom input could have been drawn.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is just the time of year when you want to read about good bike journeys, anticipating better weather and what motorcycling offers in a sense of freedom and adventure. This book is interesting and holds the attention; basically, a light read, completed in a few hours. On my Kindle, (not the latest version), the photographs are wasted, but the travel details provide a sense of what it is like to travel to Germany and later Italy by road - a journey I did as a teenager and can still recognise, albeit much changed, more than 40 years later. While it is not great literature, I enjoyed reading it on a cold, Easter Bank Holiday Monday: mind you, some of the weather described in the book was not much better. A goodish, short read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
I would recomend this book to someone who is thinking of enbarking on a journey of this kind it was most informative.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Being a biker for many years I've read tons of books about bikers travels and some have been brilliant.
Apart from numerous spelling mistakes this book is okay,Nothing more, just okay. It took less than 4 hours to read the whole book. The photos are good but the book lacks the humour you usually get when a bloke writes a bikers travel book. Sorry dawn it's okay but lacks blokishness....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Oh dear... dull, dull & dull.. save £1.53.. can be summed up as "caught a ferry to the continent, got lost a bit, camped a bit, drank some beer, rained a bit.. & did it again to Italy".. an average day of a London bike courier would be much more entertaining!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
A most enjoyable read and good value, it is an honest, realistic and witty view of motorbiking through Europe. For those of us who are at home with kids unable to go on adventures this gives a real insite to a non- hardcore biking holiday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
I would've given this 5 stars, however spelling mistakes and grammar let it down in places. Saying that, I appreciate that Dawn isn't a professional and I thoroughly enjoyed the subject matter written about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
I am a biker myself and have been to many of these places with friends on our motorcycles, and laughed at the same things good winter read makes you look forward to the next summer ,, very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
An enjoyable little read about true travelling around Europe, a collection of mini stories that anyone who has travelled in mainland Europe will instantly feel at home with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
Not so much
a good read as an interesting one especially for someone like myself who intends to do a European bike tour soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)